پاکستان کی تاریخ کی سب سے زیادہ فارن ریمٹنس - نچو جی نچو - نچو

Rafique Ahmed

چند ہی دن پہلے ایک قدرے سمجھدار عمرانی سے گفتگو میں عمرانی نے پھڑ ماری کہ پاکستان کی تاریخ کی سب سے زیادہ فارن ریمٹنس آ رہی ہیں اس لئے ٹریڈ بیلینس اور سٹیٹ بینک کے زخائر میں اضافہ ہو رہا ہے - تو میں نے بیچارے سے پوچھا کہ تمہاری ننی سی مغزالی میں فارن ریمٹنس بڑھنے کی کیا وجہ آتی ہے --- تو پتا چلا کہ مغزالی میرے اندازے سے زیادہ چھوٹی تھی - اس میں کوئی وجہ سماء نہیں سکی - تو میں نے اسے کہا تھا کہ کوئی اور وجہ نہیں ہو سکتی سواۓ بیرون ملک پاکستانیوں کے اس خوف کے کہ کہیں ہمارا پیسہ یہاں پھنس نہ جاۓ - میں نے بیچارے سے کہا تھے کہ دو تین مہینوں کے اندر ہی اس کی وجہ کہیں نہ کہیں سے نکل آے گی
تو لو جناب دو تین مہینے تو بہت دور کی بات ہے - اور کہیں سے نہیں خود سٹیٹ بینک نے ہی گھنٹی بجا دی --- ہماری بہترین حکومت کی بہترین خارجہ پالیسی جمع معاشی پالیسی بڑی تیزی سے رنگ لے کر آ رہی ہے --- اب "آے گا عمران" والے گانے پر ناچنے والے اور زیادہ ہونے والے ہیں

SBP warns of forced repatriation of overseas Pakistani workers

KARACHI: The State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) has warned over possible forced repatriation of overseas workers that could create grave problems for the economy urging the government to evolve a comprehensive strategy to deal with the situation.

“While the short-to-medium-term focus seems appropriate given the abruptness of the Covid-19 crisis, the government must also frame a long-term view and adopt a comprehensive national migration policy,” the central bank noted in its recently released State of Pakistan’s Economy 2019-20.

The existing framework does not share any comprehensive action plan to address the problems of migrant workers in case of forced repatriation, it added.

The annual report provided a comprehensive account on overseas Pakistanis and possible grave situation emerging from forced repatriation of workers particularly in the Gulf region.

Over 100,000 overseas jobs for which the recruitment process was going on in the country was disrupted due to Covid-19 and is not going to recover unless the recruiting projects are revived.

“Around 50,000 Pakistani migrants faced layoffs in different countries. These jobs may not be recovered in the short term and are thus extremely vulnerable,” it added.

Using data compiled by the Bureau of Emigration and Overseas Employment (BEOE), the report said that around 60,000 Pakistanis were recruited for overseas work, but could not proceed abroad due to travel restrictions and suspension of flight operations. The BEOE also categorises these jobs as extremely vulnerable.

In addition to these, 50,000 emigrants (Azaad Visa excluded) returned on paid or unpaid leaves as of June 20. These workers have not been laid off, but their job continuation entails risk, said the report.

In case of forced dismissals, workers also did not receive compensation, and other dues and therefore found it difficult to arrange travel expenses on their own. The recent figure of stranded Pakistanis in different destinations is highly skewed towards the Gulf region with more than 91 per cent in only two countries, i.e., Saudi Arabia and the UAE, said the report.

During April-June, the national airline flew 490 special flights and repatriated 90,308 citizens during April-June, said the report.

Even before the Covid-19, important migrant destinations, including Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and others, had started internal reform processes and took comprehensive measures to encourage recruitment of local workers.

“Now, with the Covid-19 crisis, the demand contraction and a dull crude oil market has further weakened the economic outlook of oil-exporting economies. Under such circumstances, a complete return to pre-Covid migrant employment levels does not appear in sight, at least over the next two years,” said the report.

A number of countries, including Indonesia, Philippines, Cambodia, Mexico and Sri Lanka, have been following national frameworks for the reintegration of returning workers under national migration legislation and policy frameworks.

In coming months, thousands of repatriated Pakistanis will require similar reintegration assistance in the form of financial support, entrepreneurship facilitation, skill up-gradation and job resumption, said the report.

“A well-planned and coordinated strategy is needed at provincial and federal level to address social and economic consequences of mass repatriation and cater to the basic needs of the returned migrants,” said the report.

The government must improve governance framework in migration-related operations to improve policy effectiveness, the SBP advised.

“As per the International Labour Organization (ILO) assessment, such operations in Pakistan currently face multiple challenges, such as the absence of properly designed systems, weak standard operating procedures, inadequately trained assigned staff and coordination weaknesses among different departments,” said the report.

Published in Dawn, November 21st, 2020

Increased foreign remittances are not something to take some solace from especially if foreign remittances are in the form of money being sent to Pakistanis from those living abroad. The reason I say that it is not something to take solace from is the Pakistanis living abroad are forced to send more money than before to their relatives living in Pakistan because poverty in Pakistan has increased by manifolds over the last couple of years and it becomes quite difficult to meet both ends. Similarly, the government shouldn't also boast about the surplus current account. The current account surplus is because of the fact that there are hardly any imports into Pakistan preventing cash outflows as there are no major developmental projects being rolled out. The construction sector activity which is most talked about these days is also greatly exxaggerated.

Rafique Ahmed

So what has Imran done to anger ME rulers???
What Imran Khan did to irk Middle East rulers includes;
Unnecessarily developing closeness with Turkey, whose interests clearly clash with Middle Eastern countries. Turkey can't provide any financial assistance to Pakistan whereas KSA and UAE have helped Pakistan several times by aids in the form of cash and kind both. You might argue that Turkey's stance against the West is right and KSA and UAE are slaves of the West. This might be prudent in case Pakistan was not dependent on KSA and UAE for assistance.
Imran Khan criticized the UAE's recognition of Isreal openly, which infuriated UAE. Was this criticism needed and even if it was done for the sake of Pakistan's principled stand on Palestine and Isreal still then what purpose did it serve. Such diplomatic stances only suit those countries that are not dependent on foreign assistance.

AWAITED

چند ہی دن پہلے ایک قدرے سمجھدار عمرانی سے گفتگو میں عمرانی نے پھڑ ماری کہ پاکستان کی تاریخ کی سب سے زیادہ فارن ریمٹنس آ رہی ہیں اس لئے ٹریڈ بیلینس اور سٹیٹ بینک کے زخائر میں اضافہ ہو رہا ہے - تو میں نے بیچارے سے پوچھا کہ تمہاری ننی سی مغزالی میں فارن ریمٹنس بڑھنے کی کیا وجہ آتی ہے --- تو پتا چلا کہ مغزالی میرے اندازے سے زیادہ چھوٹی تھی - اس میں کوئی وجہ سماء نہیں سکی - تو میں نے اسے کہا تھا کہ کوئی اور وجہ نہیں ہو سکتی سواۓ بیرون ملک پاکستانیوں کے اس خوف کے کہ کہیں ہمارا پیسہ یہاں پھنس نہ جاۓ - میں نے بیچارے سے کہا تھے کہ دو تین مہینوں کے اندر ہی اس کی وجہ کہیں نہ کہیں سے نکل آے گی
تو لو جناب دو تین مہینے تو بہت دور کی بات ہے - اور کہیں سے نہیں خود سٹیٹ بینک نے ہی گھنٹی بجا دی --- ہماری بہترین حکومت کی بہترین خارجہ پالیسی جمع معاشی پالیسی بڑی تیزی سے رنگ لے کر آ رہی ہے --- اب "آے گا عمران" والے گانے پر ناچنے والے اور زیادہ ہونے والے ہیں

SBP warns of forced repatriation of overseas Pakistani workers

KARACHI: The State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) has warned over possible forced repatriation of overseas workers that could create grave problems for the economy urging the government to evolve a comprehensive strategy to deal with the situation.

“While the short-to-medium-term focus seems appropriate given the abruptness of the Covid-19 crisis, the government must also frame a long-term view and adopt a comprehensive national migration policy,” the central bank noted in its recently released State of Pakistan’s Economy 2019-20.

The existing framework does not share any comprehensive action plan to address the problems of migrant workers in case of forced repatriation, it added.

The annual report provided a comprehensive account on overseas Pakistanis and possible grave situation emerging from forced repatriation of workers particularly in the Gulf region.

Over 100,000 overseas jobs for which the recruitment process was going on in the country was disrupted due to Covid-19 and is not going to recover unless the recruiting projects are revived.

“Around 50,000 Pakistani migrants faced layoffs in different countries. These jobs may not be recovered in the short term and are thus extremely vulnerable,” it added.

Using data compiled by the Bureau of Emigration and Overseas Employment (BEOE), the report said that around 60,000 Pakistanis were recruited for overseas work, but could not proceed abroad due to travel restrictions and suspension of flight operations. The BEOE also categorises these jobs as extremely vulnerable.

In addition to these, 50,000 emigrants (Azaad Visa excluded) returned on paid or unpaid leaves as of June 20. These workers have not been laid off, but their job continuation entails risk, said the report.

In case of forced dismissals, workers also did not receive compensation, and other dues and therefore found it difficult to arrange travel expenses on their own. The recent figure of stranded Pakistanis in different destinations is highly skewed towards the Gulf region with more than 91 per cent in only two countries, i.e., Saudi Arabia and the UAE, said the report.

During April-June, the national airline flew 490 special flights and repatriated 90,308 citizens during April-June, said the report.

Even before the Covid-19, important migrant destinations, including Saudi Arabia, Kuwait and others, had started internal reform processes and took comprehensive measures to encourage recruitment of local workers.

“Now, with the Covid-19 crisis, the demand contraction and a dull crude oil market has further weakened the economic outlook of oil-exporting economies. Under such circumstances, a complete return to pre-Covid migrant employment levels does not appear in sight, at least over the next two years,” said the report.

A number of countries, including Indonesia, Philippines, Cambodia, Mexico and Sri Lanka, have been following national frameworks for the reintegration of returning workers under national migration legislation and policy frameworks.

In coming months, thousands of repatriated Pakistanis will require similar reintegration assistance in the form of financial support, entrepreneurship facilitation, skill up-gradation and job resumption, said the report.

“A well-planned and coordinated strategy is needed at provincial and federal level to address social and economic consequences of mass repatriation and cater to the basic needs of the returned migrants,” said the report.

The government must improve governance framework in migration-related operations to improve policy effectiveness, the SBP advised.

“As per the International Labour Organization (ILO) assessment, such operations in Pakistan currently face multiple challenges, such as the absence of properly designed systems, weak standard operating procedures, inadequately trained assigned staff and coordination weaknesses among different departments,” said the report.

Published in Dawn, November 21st, 2020

تم جیسے لوگ ہوتے ہیں جو ماں کے تھپڑ کا پر نصیحت حاصل کرنے کی بجائے اسپر ظلم ہوتا دیکھ کر خوش ہوتے ہیں کہ کسی نے میرا بدلہ لے لیا! بغض عمران نے تم لوگوں کی وطن سے وفاداری کا پردہ چاک کر دیا ہے. ہوس کے مارے تم لوگ انسانیت اور پاکستان پر بوجھ ہو

Man some times I really puzzled on your Monkey Mujraa. Why the heck was Pakistan an example for corona wins and now what the heck we are again crying over it. Stop making things up --- at least you know better than your IK I am dead sure on this.

You also understand what the heck is happening with this surplus shit. You very much know that we are holding up our liabilities and making it look swollen. It just feels like you have actually hired Munshi Dar. --- For once please set aside your verbal hypocracy. Your donkey runs on the social media trends. Better put him on right track --- please.
Why the heck is your lack of common sense not just plain stamped on your forehead?

Pakistan was an example for the world on Corona. Still is. But does that mean we become irresponsible and stupid, and start holding smelly, sweaty jalsas where the leaders sit 6 feet apart, and the masses huddle up, rubbing agianst each other, in a tight space? You either have no common sense, or no compassion for the common folk.

Whatever is happening with the surplus, point is, it is happening. And no, it is not because of deferred payments alone. At least half of Pakistans next external loans were rolled over because of Corona. So no, they dont add additional liability. Short term needs were filled with commercial loans, which are short term to begin with. Most of them have been paid off. Nothing problematic there either. Manufacturing sector is reviving, exports are growing...textile sector is at full capacity after many years.

Indicators are there, and are real. That is why the group of clowns you call PDM are insisting on parading their sorry asses in peshawar......noone other than paid media is giving them a rats fuck. The only thing people look for whether the amount of botox in maryams face is equal to the amount of lard in fazlurehmans belly, or bilawals belly.

Shahid Abassi

Ijust want to point out one thing,in last one year pakistani people has become more poorer and the oversease pakistani has become more richer because of cronna virus cash payments,so they send more money to relieve the burden of Pakistani people.
Despite cash payments, no one abroad got richer. The bulk of the money is sent by Pakistanis in the Gulf where there were no cash payments as I know. As far as Europe and the USA are concerned, nearly half of them are taxi drivers or run small businesses, and most of them are on the verge of bankruptcy.

Remittances increased only due to better controls on hawala, hundi, and money laundering. State bank is right in saying that forced repatriations could start if the Corona epidemic gets worse in the coming days where all big projects get stalled or if our political relations with the Gulf states go into a deterioration. These two scenarios have nothing to do with each other. Had it been the case of fear as Mr. Raja describes it, then remittances from the USA, UK, EU, Norway, Japan, Canada, and Australia would not have increased similarly. Last October remittances from the above countries amounted to 594 million but in October 2020 are 762 million, an increase of 28%. We all know that Pakistanis in these countries are on permanent stays or even have nationalities of these countries and that there are no chances of their funds being stuck there.
Shahid sahib can you please share the percentage of increase in remittance from these non arab countries and arab countries. I would be very interested in getting your openion validated.
I think without this breakdown your openion will remain incomplete.

تم جیسے لوگ ہوتے ہیں جو ماں کے تھپڑ کا پر نصیحت حاصل کرنے کی بجائے اسپر ظلم ہوتا دیکھ کر خوش ہوتے ہیں کہ کسی نے میرا بدلہ لے لیا! بغض عمران نے تم لوگوں کی وطن سے وفاداری کا پردہ چاک کر دیا ہے. ہوس کے مارے تم لوگ انسانیت اور پاکستان پر بوجھ ہو
Kya fazool bakwas kurtey ho yaar tum ghutiya zehineyat waaley.
Laanut he tumharey khotey pur. Meri maan dhurti ko tbaah kur diya is ne or men us se bughz na rakhon?

Why the heck is your lack of common sense not just plain stamped on your forehead?

Pakistan was an example for the world on Corona. Still is. But does that mean we become irresponsible and stupid, and start holding smelly, sweaty jalsas where the leaders sit 6 feet apart, and the masses huddle up, rubbing agianst each other, in a tight space? You either have no common sense, or no compassion for the common folk.

Whatever is happening with the surplus, point is, it is happening. And no, it is not because of deferred payments alone. At least half of Pakistans next external loans were rolled over because of Corona. So no, they dont add additional liability. Short term needs were filled with commercial loans, which are short term to begin with. Most of them have been paid off. Nothing problematic there either. Manufacturing sector is reviving, exports are growing...textile sector is at full capacity after many years.

Indicators are there, and are real. That is why the group of clowns you call PDM are insisting on parading their sorry asses in peshawar......noone other than paid media is giving them a rats fuck. The only thing people look for whether the amount of botox in maryams face is equal to the amount of lard in fazlurehmans belly, or bilawals belly.
You just wait for three months man. You will see what happens to your surplus. You know about it but your only intent is to put your feet on my head.
You know why Hafeez sheikh is blowing in front of IMF again in just two weeks after giving impression that we might not restart IMF program.

You just wait for three months man. You will see what happens to your surplus. You know about it but your only intent is to put your feet on my head.
You know why Hafeez sheikh is blowing in front of IMF again in just two weeks after giving impression that we might not restart IMF program.

I have been hearing this 'just wait x months man' for x times 4 months already.

No one ever said we are not going back to IMF. Pakistan wants to resume IMF. The remaining fund facility was already factored into our projections. If the program is suspended, it will likely be from IMF's side, because they want certain conditions implemented which PMIK is not willing to give in on, regardless of what Hafeez Sheikh recommends.

Good this is, despite corona, despite lower production, despite a weaker currency, and despite IMFs delay, we have survived, and have survived reasonably well.

Do we have tough tests ahead? Yes. We are not out of the woods by any means. The mess we had, thanks to the 2008-2018 black era, will take time to recover and fix. But our export sector is kicking into high gear now. As I said, textile sector is at full capacity after a long time. They have benefitted from good govt policies, plus down time in Bangladesh and India. It is up to the industrialists now to keep up the pace and retain these customers by upping their quality and service.

Baqi, kabhi Pakistan kay liye achi dua bhi kar diya karein.

I have been hearing this 'just wait x months man' for x times 4 months already.

No one ever said we are not going back to IMF. Pakistan wants to resume IMF. The remaining fund facility was already factored into our projections. If the program is suspended, it will likely be from IMF's side, because they want certain conditions implemented which PMIK is not willing to give in on, regardless of what Hafeez Sheikh recommends.

Good this is, despite corona, despite lower production, despite a weaker currency, and despite IMFs delay, we have survived, and have survived reasonably well.

Do we have tough tests ahead? Yes. We are not out of the woods by any means. The mess we had, thanks to the 2008-2018 black era, will take time to recover and fix. But our export sector is kicking into high gear now. As I said, textile sector is at full capacity after a long time. They have benefitted from good govt policies, plus down time in Bangladesh and India. It is up to the industrialists now to keep up the pace and retain these customers by upping their quality and service.

Baqi, kabhi Pakistan kay liye achi dua bhi kar diya karein.
Give me some room to breath man. Men achi duaa Kyoon nheen karoon ga Pakistan ke liyey - when my life depends on it. I am not like you who does not really depend on it. For you it is a leisure trip and fun time. So dont question my connection to my maan dhurti please.
So far as IK and IMF is concerned it will be the subsidy that he just announced on power bills. Which we already talked about couple of weeks ago.
Faisalabad industry slowed down due to power and gas shortage. Thanks to chor Nawaz Shareef, they provided the blood in veins of industry (the needed power). I wish it to stay like this but you have already found room to escape by putting it on industrialists to keep up the pace.
But i am pritty sure that you have read reports on how cotton production has became a shame for us just in tenure of your donkey. You are also reading the cries over shortage of raw material which is about to hit textile industry in matters of 2 weeks.
With down to the earth rupee, i don't know when that raw material is imported would we still be competitive with India and Bangladesh. You know about that much more than me.

Shahid Abassi

Shahid sahib can you please share the percentage of increase in remittance from these non arab countries and arab countries. I would be very interested in getting your openion validated.
I think without this breakdown your openion will remain incomplete.
Remittances from Arab countries increased by about 8% in October 2020 as compared to October 2019, i.e 1411,70 million USD vs 1308,50 million USD.
Remittances from ALL other countries increased by 26% October vs October i.e 871,70 million vs 691,80 million USD.

The remittances may start a downward trend in the coming months as the second COVID wave gets worse in the Arabic countries, oil prices dip further down and a mass lay off starts sending our workers home but it would never mean that the government efforts to crack down on the Hawala, Hundi, and money laundering, in general, should not be praised. The political situation, where Saudi and UAE anger at our relations with Turkey and their wish to run our country from Riad may make things look even worse at some time in the future but despite our domestic political differences, we must stand together to resist Arabs on this point. Luckily, Donald Trump is no more the president, and the Arabs are coming back to their senses as is evident when the King, Salman phones Erdogan and wishes to sort out the differences through talks. A move that would not have been expected had Trump won the elections.
Talking about remittances, it is a remarkable achievement in times where incomes all over the world have gone down and economies are stumbling in the wake of COVID.

Remittances from Arab countries increased by about 8% in October 2020 as compared to October 2019, i.e 1411,70 million USD vs 1308,50 million USD.
Remittances from ALL other countries increased by 26% October vs October i.e 871,70 million vs 691,80 million USD.
Your figures would definitely be correct Shahid sahib.
So do you mean this difference of (about 1.8 billion) was all haval and hundi?

Give me some room to breath man. Men achi duaa Kyoon nheen karoon ga Pakistan ke liyey - when my life depends on it. I am not like you who does not really depend on it. For you it is a leisure trip and fun time. So dont question my connection to my maan dhurti please.
So far as IK and IMF is concerned it will be the subsidy that he just announced on power bills. Which we already talked about couple of weeks ago.
Faisalabad industry slowed down due to power and gas shortage. Thanks to chor Nawaz Shareef, they provided the blood in veins of industry (the needed power). I wish it to stay like this but you have already found room to escape by putting it on industrialists to keep up the pace.
But i am pritty sure that you have read reports on how cotton production has became a shame for us just in tenure of your donkey. You are also reading the cries over shortage of raw material which is about to hit textile industry in matters of 2 weeks.
With down to the earth rupee, i don't know when that raw material is imported would we still be competitive with India and Bangladesh. You know about that much more than me.

Do you really want to compare who needs Pakistan more than the other? I send much of my income there, and probably pay far more in exchange rate loss, taxes and charges than your entire income tax for the year.
As an expat, I could also chide you for the fact that a NY cabbie contributes more to our forex reserves than you ever will....the same reserves you use to buy imported stuff.is this a debate worth having?

PS. Your analogy is that Anything that is wrong with the country happened in the last 2 years, and anything good happened in The 5 years before that. Doesn't work that way. We are all patriots here. Just need to call a spade a spade when you see one.

Shahid Abassi

Pakistan will not only need to restart IMF engagements but would surely need another IMF plan when this three-year program is done with. It has nothing to do with the performance of the government. For a long time to come, we will need to borrow money to pay our loans. It is after more than a decade, that now we may be able to meet our import obligations through our own earnings but asking for more than that would be too early and unreasonable for now.

Shahid Abassi

Raja sb. these figures are from the state bank page.

I am positively sure that these changes are due to better control and policies. I would like to reemphasize that due to political or COVID-related reasons, the monthly remittances may go down in the coming months but it would still not mean that government policies and controls have not contributed positively.

Shahid Abassi

Increased foreign remittances are not something to take some solace from especially if foreign remittances are in the form of money being sent to Pakistanis from those living abroad. The reason I say that it is not something to take solace from is the Pakistanis living abroad are forced to send more money than before to their relatives living in Pakistan because poverty in Pakistan has increased by manifolds over the last couple of years and it becomes quite difficult to meet both ends. Similarly, the government shouldn't also boast about the surplus current account. The current account surplus is because of the fact that there are hardly any imports into Pakistan preventing cash outflows as there are no major developmental projects being rolled out. The construction sector activity which is most talked about these days is also greatly exxaggerated.
Rafique sb. I will like to disagree. If poverty has increased in the last two years, then so have exchange rates too. Someone used to send a thousand USD for one lakh rupees monthly covering, would only need to send 625 USD now for the same amount in rupees. Or that he can still send a thousand dollars and the family can be supported by 160.000 a month.

Lol....raja Ji....how would havala figures be officially quantifiable? Your argument always takes the cake !

Another way of looking at it is that this increase is despite the govt putting the kibosh on the millions in 'remittances' that used to come in Sharif family accounts.

Lol....raja Ji....how would havala figures be officially quantifiable? Your argument always takes the cake !

Another way of looking at it is that this increase is despite the govt putting the kibosh on the millions in 'remittances' that used to come in Sharif family accounts.
Well you better stop being stupid. It was said that increased remittances was because of elimination of hundi. So the difference should be quantifiable if it is claimed to be the definite reason.

how the heck is a grey market quantifiable? maybe in sharif era, where they themselves were the kingpins of the said market, but to an idiot like you, that is business coming in. Enough of your bullshit.

You are trying to be idiot just for nothing. That is exactly i am saying that how could it ne such a big number. And if it is how the heck it can disappear all of the sudden.