Another Pti Government achievement's Pakistan Added on Amazon Sellers List

Oppostion Is Mafia

Pakistan to be added to Amazon sellers list ‘within few days’ — PM’s aide
349082_3214998_updates.jpg

ISLAMABAD/KARACHI: Pakistani exporters will be able to register themselves with international e-commerce giant Amazon “within a few days,” the Pakistani commerce chief said on Thursday.

The announcement comes as Amazon works to take advantage of the boost the COVID-19 pandemic has given to e-commerce in South Asian economies.

Pakistani sellers were previously not allowed to register on the global online marketplace and had to create shadow accounts registered in other countries.

“Amazon will be adding Pakistan [to] its sellers list within a few days,” Abdul Razak Dawood, who advises Prime Minister Imran Khan on commerce and industry, said on Twitter.

Approaching Amazon was a major part of the country’s first ever e-commerce policy, approved in October 2019. Once Pakistani sellers are registered, they may consider opening warehouses abroad to ensure speedy delivery to consumers.

“It [is] an excellent opportunity for our youth, SMEs [small and medium sized enterprises], and women entrepreneurs,” Dawood said. “An important milestone of the e-commerce policy has been achieved through teamwork by many people across the globe.”

Pakistan’s e-commerce industry stood at approximately Rs99 billion in FY18 as compared to Rs51.8 billion in FY17, according to the State Bank of Pakistan.

However, Internet retail in Pakistan is still at its nascent stage despite more than 177 million cellular subscribers, 90.5 million 3G/4G users, 100 million broadband customers, and total tele-density of over 84 percent.

“All companies and exporters fulfilling the registration criteria will be allowed to list themselves with Amazon to sell their products,” Aisha Humera Moriani, a joint secretary at the commerce ministry, told Arab News.

She said Pakistan had successfully completed a pilot project with Amazon in which 38 exporters had participated who were now eligible to fully utilize the platform.

“Amazon is completing some technical formalities and will be open for us within a couple of days,” she said.

It is not clear at this stage if the global online marketplace will be opening an office in Pakistan.

The country’s exporters welcomed the initiative, urging the government to devise a smooth payment mechanism and facilitate them with a hassle-free remittance mechanism.

“It’s a great opportunity for Pakistani entrepreneurs,” Khurram Mukhtar, patron-in-chief of the Pakistan Textile Exporters Association, told Arab News. “However, it will be difficult for us to fully benefit from it without an international payment gateway. We will also have to invest in our logistics to compete with the rest of the world.”

Zeeshan Tariq, chairman of the Surgical Instruments Manufacturers Association of Pakistan, concurred.

“Amazon or PayPal should open their offices in Pakistan because if our customers won’t be able to make direct payments for their purchases, we won’t be able to sell them our goods as well,” Tariq said.

However, he said this was a positive development for Pakistani exporters as it would allow them to directly interact with global customers and develop their brand identity in the international market.

“The challenge now,” Tariq said, “is to exploit this opportunity to our advantage as much as we can.”
Source

Abdullah9

Oh khuda ka waasta yaar, do not excite the Pakistani folks like this. Amazon is a buyers market, sellers are treated like slaves and prostitutes by amazon. If you cant provide the product that you promised or you misbehave with the buyer on his/her bad review then you are pissed off. And I learned from local online sellers that they do not know the selling ethics and etiquette. If this bunch of people find there way to amazon then some good Pakistanis who have already made a good reputation on this platform will suffer badly. Though it is good milestoned achieved but kindly do not make it like "DUBAI CHALO".

Hate_Nooras

It has NOTHING to do with PTI government of jokers....amazon was COMPELLED to list PAkistani sellers....I want to know where is the OIL form the kekra oil field discovered 2 years ago...which was supposed to be larger than Kuwait and IRaq's oil COMBINED?
So dickhead, why wasnt it done under your thugs. And is your chacha going to compel them to list. Idiot

Hate_Nooras

Oh khuda ka waasta yaar, do not excite the Pakistani folks like this. Amazon is a buyers market, sellers are treated like slaves and prostitutes by amazon. If you cant provide the product that you promised or you misbehave with the buyer on his/her bad review then you are pissed off. And I learned from local online sellers that they do not know the selling ethics and etiquette. If this bunch of people find there way to amazon then some good Pakistanis who have already made a good reputation on this platform will suffer badly. Though it is good milestoned achieved but kindly do not make it like "DUBAI CHALO".
Maybe but it will give companies a chance to find new markets. Its a multi trillion market and if we pick a small percentage then its a big step forward. We need to have training for entrepreneurs and weed out the haraamis that will look to defraud customers.

Ahmad2015

Maybe but it will give companies a chance to find new markets. Its a multi trillion market and if we pick a small percentage then its a big step forward. We need to have training for entrepreneurs and weed the haraamis that will look to defraud customers.
Plus its not like get rich quick scheme, amazon will take away about 60% of your sale.

Oppostion Is Mafia

It has NOTHING to do with PTI government of jokers....amazon was COMPELLED to list PAkistani sellers....I want to know where is the OIL form the kekra oil field discovered 2 years ago...which was supposed to be larger than Kuwait and IRaq's oil COMBINED?
What a stupid corrupt haraam kors you are. If its bad thing you patwaris blame it on government, if its good things you haraam kors give credit to your haraam kor corrupt fathers Zardari and Nawaz

چھومنتر

تیرے جیسے کیڑے اگر قیام پاکستان کے وقت ہوتے تو قائد اعظم کے بارے میں بھی یہی کہہ رہے ہوتے
کہ
پاکستان بنانے میں قائد کا کوئی لینا دینا نہیں

HSiddiqui

It has to do very much with a country's reputation my friend, all these multinational or foreign companies will never dare coming to a country where they see no security, Pakistan sure has come into their attention as progressing country and they chose to have their business in Pakistan, no company in this world is compelled to do their business any where, I hope people in Pakistan will enjoy the facilities of Amezon without abusing, so the company keep serving them.

Ahmad2015

i dont think so, amazon charges around 15% in uk market including delivery,
how can they take 60%?
selling fee, fba fees, storage fees, shipment fees, advertising fees, ...hahahah these are just few. How did Jeff Bezo got billions?

Tit4Tat

selling fee, fba fees, storage fees, shipment fees, advertising fees, ...hahahah these are just few. How did Jeff Bezo got billions?
yes those fee are there but they are definitely not 60% of your sales value, if this was the case, no one would have been able to survive to sell on amazon. Yes its also correct that amazon is very customer centric and will always side with customer but that keeps sellers on their toes to provide quality service and product. Amazon is also very strict on counterfeit products, it suspends sellers accounts on these things

15% includes FBA, storage fee is very minimal, advertising fee is optional

to conclude, yes amazon is a shark but it does give sellers access to its millions of customers.