PM should not have reacted publicly against EU, says Finance Ministe Tarin

Resilient

Finance Minister Shaukat Tarin on Wednesday said Prime Minister Imran Khan should not have reacted "publicly" against the European Union in his recent speech where he lashed out at the bloc's ambassadors for their "undiplomatic" statement asking Pakistan to condemn Russia for its invasion of Ukraine.
Speaking during a public rally in Vehari last week, the prime minister had questioned if the EU had called out India for its actions in occupied Kashmir, which went against international law.
“Has anyone of you severed trade relations with India or objected to its unlawful actions,” the PM asked EU representatives, adding, “are we slaves and act according to your wishes.”
The premier was referring to a letter penned by 23 EU envoys last week, urging Pakistan “to join them in condemning Russia’s actions [in Ukraine] and to voice support for upholding the UN Charter and the founding principles of international law”.
Objecting to that press release, the Foreign Office had said: “We took note of that and in a subsequent meeting with a group of ambassadors, we expressed our concern about that because it was not the way diplomacy should be practised”.
Read more: "Are we your slaves that we would do anything you say," PM says in scathing attack to EU
During a press conference in Islamabad today, in response to a question by a journalist who asked if the PM's comments could have a negative impact on Pakistan's trade with the bloc, the finance minister said, "I don't think we should worry about what they [EU] will do."
Tarin recalled that the EU representatives had sent a letter to Pakistan, asking it to vote against Russia, adding that "our prime minister just shared his sentiments on it".
He recalled that the EU had remained silent on India's violations of UN resolutions and international law and that "Pakistan had just abstained from voting [in the UNGA session on Russia]."
Defending the premier for his remarks, Tarin said they [the EU] should not tell Pakistan what to do and that it was the right of the prime minister to protect his country and its prestige.
"He just reacted publicly, which may be, he should not have done," the minister added.
He maintained that Pakistan had an independent foreign policy which stipulated that no country should violate the other's sovereignty and that disputes be settled peacefully.

'IMF should not have problems with relief package'​

To another question, the finance minister said the government also held discussions with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) over a recent relief package that was announced by the PM.
Also read: PM Imran slashes petrol prices by Rs10, power tariff by Rs5 as part of relief measures for public
"We conversed only about what was necessary," Tarin said.
He added that Pakistan was neither increasing its fiscal deficit nor taking any loans to provide relief to the people. He said the government had announced subsidies due to improvement in revenues of late.
The finance minister explained that for the package, the government extracted some amount from Ehsaas Programme allocations and the Covid-19 budget, adding that "we also had dividends from state-owned enterprises". He said there were multiple areas from where the government gathered finances to formulate the relief package.
"I do not think they [IMF] should have any problem with that," the minister insisted.
He said it was not a concern of the IMF but "it is the responsibility of the government to apprise them of such decisions including the looming political instability as well."
He also dispelled an impression that the relief package was announced for "political reasons," saying the government was cognisant of burgeoning prices and hence it decided to formulate a plan to provide relief to the masses.
The minister said the government also discussed with China their investment plans and future roadmap for Pakistan.
"We sought their support in sectors including industries, agriculture, IT sector and trade."
He underlined that the government had also asked China to commence projects built under the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor. "It will help us economically."
He maintained that Pakistan could not move forward without undertaking industrialisation.
The minister reiterated that Pakistan's economy was moving in the right direction. "Inflation in January had reached 13pc and it has now dropped to 12.2pc last month."
Tarin was of the view that the government had controlled inflation "very well" if disturbances caused by international inflationary pressure were kept aside.
He also said the foreign investors were considerably satisfied with measures taken by the government for facilitation of businesses, however, "they have sought a little more improvement as well, which we are working on."

Aslan

The EU ambassadors should not have written an open letter either.They could have discussed the matter with the foreign office as per diplomatic norms.The intent was to exert pressure on Pakistan.They are still living in the past.Pakistan is not a football to Bebe kicked around.

wasiqjaved

Finance Minister Shaukat Tarin on Wednesday said Prime Minister Imran Khan should not have reacted "publicly" against the European Union in his recent speech where he lashed out at the bloc's ambassadors for their "undiplomatic" statement asking Pakistan to condemn Russia for its invasion of Ukraine.
Speaking during a public rally in Vehari last week, the prime minister had questioned if the EU had called out India for its actions in occupied Kashmir, which went against international law.
“Has anyone of you severed trade relations with India or objected to its unlawful actions,” the PM asked EU representatives, adding, “are we slaves and act according to your wishes.”
The premier was referring to a letter penned by 23 EU envoys last week, urging Pakistan “to join them in condemning Russia’s actions [in Ukraine] and to voice support for upholding the UN Charter and the founding principles of international law”.
Objecting to that press release, the Foreign Office had said: “We took note of that and in a subsequent meeting with a group of ambassadors, we expressed our concern about that because it was not the way diplomacy should be practised”.
Read more: "Are we your slaves that we would do anything you say," PM says in scathing attack to EU
During a press conference in Islamabad today, in response to a question by a journalist who asked if the PM's comments could have a negative impact on Pakistan's trade with the bloc, the finance minister said, "I don't think we should worry about what they [EU] will do."
Tarin recalled that the EU representatives had sent a letter to Pakistan, asking it to vote against Russia, adding that "our prime minister just shared his sentiments on it".
He recalled that the EU had remained silent on India's violations of UN resolutions and international law and that "Pakistan had just abstained from voting [in the UNGA session on Russia]."
Defending the premier for his remarks, Tarin said they [the EU] should not tell Pakistan what to do and that it was the right of the prime minister to protect his country and its prestige.
"He just reacted publicly, which may be, he should not have done," the minister added.
He maintained that Pakistan had an independent foreign policy which stipulated that no country should violate the other's sovereignty and that disputes be settled peacefully.

To another question, the finance minister said the government also held discussions with the International Monetary Fund (IMF) over a recent relief package that was announced by the PM.
Also read: PM Imran slashes petrol prices by Rs10, power tariff by Rs5 as part of relief measures for public
He added that Pakistan was neither increasing its fiscal deficit nor taking any loans to provide relief to the people. He said the government had announced subsidies due to improvement in revenues of late.
The finance minister explained that for the package, the government extracted some amount from Ehsaas Programme allocations and the Covid-19 budget, adding that "we also had dividends from state-owned enterprises". He said there were multiple areas from where the government gathered finances to formulate the relief package.
"I do not think they [IMF] should have any problem with that," the minister insisted.
He said it was not a concern of the IMF but "it is the responsibility of the government to apprise them of such decisions including the looming political instability as well."
He also dispelled an impression that the relief package was announced for "political reasons," saying the government was cognisant of burgeoning prices and hence it decided to formulate a plan to provide relief to the masses.
The minister said the government also discussed with China their investment plans and future roadmap for Pakistan.
"We sought their support in sectors including industries, agriculture, IT sector and trade."
He underlined that the government had also asked China to commence projects built under the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor. "It will help us economically."
He maintained that Pakistan could not move forward without undertaking industrialisation.
The minister reiterated that Pakistan's economy was moving in the right direction. "Inflation in January had reached 13pc and it has now dropped to 12.2pc last month."
Tarin was of the view that the government had controlled inflation "very well" if disturbances caused by international inflationary pressure were kept aside.
He also said the foreign investors were considerably satisfied with measures taken by the government for facilitation of businesses, however, "they have sought a little more improvement as well, which we are working on."

Jis kisi ki bhi jaidaadein, bache aur paisa para hua hai Europe mein, wo EU ke khilaaf ek lafz bhi nahi sunn sakta.

MMushtaq

Only if asshole like you work to improve the country situation, he wouldn’t need to say anything.

Maybe but he did it because he is not some hypocrite like Zar and Shar who spoke against things like drone attacks in public but was saying "Yes Boss" in private to them.

Not to mention that EU didn't respect diplomatic norms either on the matter.

LeanMean2

He was just trying to cash in on anti American sentiments. Only dumbass Imrani doesn't know that.

Bebabacha

I told you that Imran Khan is frustrated with USA that Biden did not call. It is personal ego of Imran Khan, which has costed it's government. Second Ego is Buzdar, which will also easily like a butter will change CM in just days not months.
Every day you are changing statement
First it was tareen who cost imran govt
Now it is biden call and ego ?

khipk

The EU ambassadors should not have written an open letter either.They could have discussed the matter with the foreign office as per diplomatic norms.The intent was to exert pressure on Pakistan.They are still living in the past.Pakistan is not a football to Bebe kicked around.
Their open letter recieved publicity because of IKs public reaction. khamoshi say jawab day deta, msg bhi chala jata or falto ka issue bhi nahi banta.
Secondly IK is complaining why India is not asked publicly, why just us. Well the reason for that is Pakistani govt is regularly issuing public statements that we are on good terms with Russia, while India is quiet. So if you publicly address one side, you will be asked to address the other side of the issue. Our foreign minister tweeted that he had chat with Russian FM and discussed mutual concerns, why is he bringing that up in Public? Of course our govt is currently not neutral, all the msgs coming out are in favor of Russia, and claiming to be neutral.

We should be neutral, and being neutral means, we should either not comment or ask for ceasefire, we are doing neither.

Theres a mode of communication in which you get your point across and overtly offend anyone, even though the point can be against the recipient. Do you know what thats called? Its literally called "Diplomatic communication" and its disappointing that two polished individuals IK and SMQ are behaving this way.

What is Diplomatic Communication?

A diplomatic communicator is someone who can get their message across and convince people to change without damaging the relationship. Diplomatic communicators use reason, kindness and compassion, and they show respect for other people.