Urdu is a daughter of Sanskrit--- Complete history for Dummies

A.jokhio

I am just stating proven facts not only Urdu is from the language of Hindu Sanskrit but dirty Hindu blood is in the veins of majority of Pakistanis may be you too?
Urdu ha Not created from Sanskrit....its created from Turkish, Persian and arabic....a very few words from sanskrit also get due to location....Secondly!...no blood is dirty ....all humans are created by ONE GOD....we share same origin...but Hindus have lost their direction...thats it... we can share the truth with them.....but no force on religion...that it...so please do these dirty tactics here...wont work...

StarTrooper

1638334153826.jpeg

Syed Ahmed Dehlavi, a 19th-century lexicographer who compiled the Farhang-e-Asifiya Urdu dictionary, estimated that 75% of Urdu words have their etymological roots in Sanskrit and Prakrit,[183]

[184][185] and approximately 99% of Urdu verbs have their roots in Sanskrit and Prakrit.[186][187] Urdu has borrowed words from Persian and to a lesser extent, Arabic through Persian,[188] to the extent of about 25%[183][184][185][189] to 30% of Urdu's vocabulary.

[190] A table illustrated by the linguist Afroz Taj of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill likewise illustrates the amount of Persian loanwords to native Sanskrit-derived words in literary Urdu as comprising a 1:3 ratio.[185]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urdu

StarTrooper

Is it possible to get rid of 75% Sanskrit vocab in Urdu .How to act on this advice?

Urdu and Hindi share common grammar but the vocabulary is ver different.Urdu contains more than 60% Persian,Arabic and to a lesser extent Turkish words.We need to setup an Urdu academy similar to what the French have.We need to remove all words from Urdu which have Sanskritic/Hindi roots.We can replace them with Arabic,Farsi and Turkish words.

NasNY

This is the the 4th time i am seeing this BULLCRAP.

Where is ADMIN itchy finger merging ability when you need them.

او بھائی بس کر دے اپنی یہ فرنگ آصفیہ کی کلاسیں . ھندو دھرم کی پروموشن کے اس فعل میں کوئی ذی عقل پاکستانی دلچسپی نہیں رکھتا
گڈ بائی

Khi

Syed Ahmed Dehlavi, a 19th-century lexicographer who compiled the Farhang-e-Asifiya Urdu dictionary, estimated that 75% of Urdu words have their etymological roots in Sanskrit and Prakrit,[183][184][185] and approximately 99% of Urdu verbs have their roots in Sanskrit and Prakrit.[186][187] Urdu has borrowed words from Persian and to a lesser extent, Arabic through Persian,[188] to the extent of about 25%[183][184][185][189] to 30% of Urdu's vocabulary.[190] A table illustrated by the linguist Afroz Taj of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill likewise illustrates the amount of Persian loanwords to native Sanskrit-derived words in literary Urdu as comprising a 1:3 ratio.[185]

Abbay tu phir aa gaya aik nai thread banna k.

Jaan chorr humrai. Ja k apnay Hanuman ji ki pooja kar aur Gao muttar enjoy karr.

Sonya Khan

Mr Startrooper the only thing you achieved by starting this useless thread is ...... adding your name in the endless list Endians in disguise here ........
BTW writing in bold fonts won’t help ...... We don’t take endians seriously.......

aqibarain

This is about vocab and a knowledge base thread. A little knowledge is good for health

little knowledge is BAD for health. NOT GOOD.

start good work by removing arabic word "SHAHEED" from hindi language.. .salay every indian dog soldier killed by kashmiris or chinese is shaheed...

do u even know what the meaning of shaheed is????

gao mootar enterprise... ? ? ?

Syed Ahmed Dehlavi, a 19th-century lexicographer who compiled the Farhang-e-Asifiya Urdu dictionary, estimated that 75% of Urdu words have their etymological roots in Sanskrit and Prakrit,[183][184][185] and approximately 99% of Urdu verbs have their roots in Sanskrit and Prakrit.[186][187] Urdu has borrowed words from Persian and to a lesser extent, Arabic through Persian,[188] to the extent of about 25%[183][184][185][189] to 30% of Urdu's vocabulary.[190] A table illustrated by the linguist Afroz Taj of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill likewise illustrates the amount of Persian loanwords to native Sanskrit-derived words in literary Urdu as comprising a 1:3 ratio.[185]

And Sanskrit has its roots in a language that must have preceded it. Whats your point anyway?
Language is an evolutionary process. Now today, we have words like tikka masala added to English oxford dictionary...so take a chill pill and move to something relevant and meaningful

Sohail Shuja

View attachment 3902

Syed Ahmed Dehlavi, a 19th-century lexicographer who compiled the Farhang-e-Asifiya Urdu dictionary, estimated that 75% of Urdu words have their etymological roots in Sanskrit and Prakrit,[183]

[184][185] and approximately 99% of Urdu verbs have their roots in Sanskrit and Prakrit.[186][187] Urdu has borrowed words from Persian and to a lesser extent, Arabic through Persian,[188] to the extent of about 25%[183][184][185][189] to 30% of Urdu's vocabulary.

[190] A table illustrated by the linguist Afroz Taj of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill likewise illustrates the amount of Persian loanwords to native Sanskrit-derived words in literary Urdu as comprising a 1:3 ratio.[185]

پہلی علمی اور ادبی بات یہ کہ کبھی ویکی پیڈیا کا ریفرنس کسی بھی سنجیدہ قسم کی بحث میں مت استعمال کریں، ورنہ سب ہنس پڑیں گے۔

دوسری بات وِل بائیٹ والی ہے کہ زبان کا ارتقا کا عمل وقت کے ساتھ ساتھ جاری رہتا ہے۔ فی الوقت، ہماری زبان پر انگریزوں کی چھاپ بڑھ گئی ہے اور اگر اس وقت اردو لسانیاتی اعتبار سے کم از کم دس فیصد الفاظ انگریزی سے مستعار لے چکی ہے۔

بلب، فریج، موبائل فون، فون، ٹیلی ویژن، پیٹرول، ڈیزل، پیرا شوٹ، کیک، بسکٹ، ویڈیو، آڈیو، انٹرنیٹ، پریشر کُکر، ٹوتھ پیسٹ، ٹوتھ برش، کپ، گلاس، ٹیپ، کی بورڈ، ماوٗس، مانیٹر، ہارڈ ڈسک، میموری، ہیٹر، ائیر کنڈیشنر وغیرہ وغیرہ۔

ہاں ان سب چیزوں نے ہمارے یہاں کے اکثر کمزور دماغ کی نسل پر انگریزی برتری کی چھاپ چھوڑی ہے، اور وہ اکثر ملک سے باہر بیٹھ کر اپنی ہی چیزوں میں کیڑے نکالنے پر مجبور ہیں، اپنی ہی خاک کو گالیاں دینے کے عمل میں مضطرب ہیں۔

جبکہ، جیسا کہ دیکھا گیا، کہ افغانستان نے کبھی انگریز کی غلامی کو قبول نہیں کیا، تو یہ چیز ان کی زبان میں بھی جھلکتی ہے

بلب ۔۔۔۔۔ گرُپ
فریج ۔۔۔۔ یخ چل
نمبر ۔۔۔۔ نمرہ، شمارہ
فون ۔۔۔۔ زنگ
پریشر کُکر ۔۔۔۔۔ دیگِ فشار، دیگِ زود پِز
بلو ٹوتھ ۔۔۔۔۔ دندانِ آبی
ان بریک ایبل گلاس ۔۔۔۔۔ شیشہ ناشکن
کمپنی ۔۔۔۔۔ شرکت

اب اردو کی ترویج اور ترقی کی بابت غور کیا جائے تو اس پر ہم نے اپنی ذہنی غلامی کی بدولت کام کرنا چھوڑ دیا ہے اور زیداہ تر الفاظ ہم انگریزی سے مستعار لے لیتے ہیں۔

Keep the trust

Urdu zaban to hai hi muktalif zabaoon ka majmoaa persian arabic Sanskrit. Iss mai naya baat kia ki hai aap nay..ya phir aap ko aaj pata chala keh Urdu mai 75% Sanskrit alfaz hain?

disgusted

This is the the 4th time i am seeing this BULLCRAP.

Where is ADMIN itchy finger merging ability when you need them.
When there is worthy news we get OOOPS something went wrong. All that remains is pure unadulterated BULLSHIT. It is imperative when you neglect the 'real' local languages. Those who studied in Aligarh tell their resentment at wearing a 'sherwani' as although being the uniform but was not accepted as their 'native' dress.What have we gained from adopting Urdu instead of a more vibrant and sweet language Persian which was the language of the then educated Muslims before that s.o.b Macaulay destroyed the whole education system and instead produced 'babus'.

Aslan

We can easily replace Sanskrit origin words with Arabic,Persian and Turkish words.A special body should be setup to do this.