Asian History: Tamerlane (Taimur) the terror king

Qalandari

Throughout history, few names have inspired such terror as "Tamerlane."

That was not the Central Asian conqueror's actual name, though. More properly, he is known as Timur, from the Turkic word for "iron."

Amir Timur is remembered as a vicious conqueror, who razed ancient cities to the ground and put entire populations to the sword. On the other hand, he is also known as a great patron of the arts, literature, and architecture. One of his signal achievements is his capital at the beautiful city of Samarkand, in modern-day Uzbekistan.

A complicated man, Timur continues to fascinate us some six centuries after his death.

Timur's Early Life:

Timur was born in 1336, near the city of Kesh (now called Shahrisabz), about 50 miles south of the oasis of Samarkand, in Transoxiana.

The child's father, Taragay, was the chief of the Barlas tribe. The Barlas were of mixed Mongolian and Turkic ancestry, descended from the hordes of Genghis Khan and the earlier inhabitants of Transoxiana. Unlike their nomadic ancestors, the Barlas were settled agriculturalists and traders.

Ahmad ibn Muhammad ibn Arabshah's 14th century biography, "Tamerlane or Timur: The Great Amir," stated that Timur was descended from Genghis Khan on his mother's side; this probably is not true.

Disputed Causes of Timur's Lameness:

The European versions of Timur's name -- "Tamerlane" or "Tamberlane" -- are based on the Turkic nickname Timur-i-leng, meaning "Timur the Lame."

Timur's body was exhumed by a Russian team lead by archaeologist Mikhail Gerasimov in 1941, and they found evidence of two healed wounds on Timur's right leg. His right hand was also missing two fingers.

The anti-Timurid author Arabshah says that Timur was shot while stealing sheep. More likely, he was wounded in 1363 or 1364, while fighting as a mercenary for Sistan (southeastern Iran) as stated by contemporary chroniclers Ruy Clavijo and Sharaf al-Din Ali Yazdi.

Transoxiana's Political Situation:

During Timur's youth, Transoxiana was riven by conflict between the local nomadic clans and the sedentary Chagatay Mongol khans who ruled them.

The Chagatay had abandoned the mobile ways of Genghis Khan and their other ancestors, and taxed the people heavily in order to support their urban lifestyle. Naturally, this angered their citizens.

In 1347, a local amir ("prince") named Kazgan seized power from the Chagatay ruler Borolday. Kazgan would rule until his assassination in 1358.

After Kazgan's death, various warlords and religious leaders vied for power. Tughluk Timur, a Mongol warlord, emerged victorious in 1360.

Young Timur Gains and Loses Power:

Timur's uncle Hajji Beg led the Barlas at this time, but refused to submit to Tughluk Timur. The Hajji fled, and the new Mongol ruler decided to install the seemingly more pliable young Timur to rule in his stead.

In fact, Timur was already plotting against the Mongols. He formed an alliance with the grandson of Kazgan, Amir Hussein, and married Hussein's sister Aljai Turkanaga.

The Mongols soon caught on; Timur and Hussein were dethroned and forced to turn bandit in order to survive.

In 1362, the legend says, Timur's following was reduced to two: Aljai, and one other. They were even imprisoned in Persia for two months.

Timur 's Conquests Begin:

Timur's bravery and tactical skill made him a successful mercenary soldier in Persia, and he soon collected a large following. In 1364, Timur and Hussein banded together again and defeated Ilyas Khoja, the son of Tughluk Timur.

By 1366, the two warlords controlled Transoxiana.

Timur's wife died in 1370, freeing him to attack his erstwhile ally Hussein. Hussein was besieged and killed at Balkh, and Timur declared himself the sovereign of the whole region. Timur was not directly descended from Genghis Khan, so he ruled as an amir, rather than as khan.

Over the next decade, Timur seized the rest of Central Asia, as well.

Timur's Empire Expands:

With Central Asia in hand, Timur invaded Russia in 1380. He helped the Mongol Khan Toktamysh retake control, and also defeated the Lithuanians in battle.

Timur captured Herat in 1383, the opening salvo against Persia. By 1385, all of Persia was his.

With invasions in 1391 and 1395, Timur fought against his former protege in Russia, Toktamysh. The Timurid army captured Moscow in 1395.

While Timur was busy in the north, Persia revolted. He responded by leveling entire cities, and using the citizens' skulls to build grisly towers and pyramids.

By 1396, Timur had conquered Iraq, Azerbaijan, Armenia, Mesopotamia and Georgia.

Timur Conquers India, Syria, and Turkey:

Timur's army of 90,000 crossed the Indus River in September, 1398 and set upon India. The country had fallen to pieces after the death of Firuz Shah; Bengal, Kashmir and the Deccan each had separate rulers.

The Turkic/Mongol invaders left carnage along their path; Delhi's army was destroyed in December, and the city ruined. Timur seized tons of treasure and 90 war elephants, and took them back to Samarkand.

Timur looked west in 1399, retaking Azerbaijan and conquering Syria. Baghdad was destroyed in 1401, and 20,000 of its people slaughtered. In July of 1402, Timur captured Turkey and received submission from Egypt.

Timur's Final Campaign and Death:

The rulers of Europe were glad that the Ottoman Turk sultan Bayazid had been defeated, but they trembled at the idea that "Tamerlane" was at their doorstep. The rulers of Spain, France, and other powers sent congratulatory embassies to Timur, hoping to stave off an attack.

Timur had bigger goals, though. He decided in 1404 that he would conquer Ming China. (The ethnic-Han Ming Dynasty had overthrown his cousins, the Yuan, in 1368.)

The Timurid army set out in December, during an unusually cold winter. Men and horses died of exposure, and the 68-year-old Timur fell ill. He died in February, 1405 at Otrar, in Kazakhstan.

Timur's Legacy:

Timur started life as the son of a minor chieftain, much like his putative ancestor Genghis Khan. Through sheer intelligence, military skill and force of personality, Timur was able to conquer an empire stretching from Russia to India, and from the Mediterranean Sea to Mongolia.

Unlike Genghis Khan, however, Timur conquered not to open trade routes and protect his flanks, but to loot and pillage. The Timurid Empire did not long survive its founder, because he rarely bothered to put any governmental structure in place after he destroyed the existing order.

While Timur professed to be a good Muslim, he obviously felt no compunction about destroying the jewel-cities of Islam and slaughtering their inhabitants. Damascus, Khiva, Baghdad... these ancient capitals of Islamic learning never really recovered from Timur's attentions. His intent seems to have been to make his capital at Samarkand the first city of the Islamic world.

Contemporary sources say that Timur's forces killed about 19 million people during their conquests. That number is probably exaggerated, but Timur does seem to have enjoyed massacre for its own sake.

Timur's Descendants

Despite a death-bed warning from the conqueror, his sons and grandsons immediately began to fight over the throne when he passed away. The most successful Timurid ruler, Timur's grandson Uleg Beg, gained fame as an astronomer and scholar. Uleg was not a good administrator, however, and was murdered by his own son in 1449.

Timur's line had better luck in India, where his great-great-grandson Babur founded the Mughal Dynasty in 1526. The Mughuls ruled until 1857, when the British expelled them. (Shah Jahan, builder of the Taj Mahal, is thus also a descendent of Timur.)

Timur's Reputation
Timur was lionized in the west for his defeat of the Ottoman Turks. Christopher Marlowe's Tamburlaine the Great and Edgar Allen Poe's "Tamerlane" are good examples.

Not surprisingly, the people of Turkey, Iran and the Middle East remember him rather less favorably.

In post-Soviet Uzbekistan, Timur has been made into a national folk hero. The people of Uzbek cities like Khiva, however, are skeptical; they remember that he razed their city and killed nearly every inhabitant.

http://asianhistory.about.com/od/profilesofasianleaders/p/TimurProf.htm

:lol::lol: You found the right time to bring up Timur Lang. Timur Lang must be a hero for this terrorist's parents to name their kid after him.

Temojin

I don't know what is with people to hate Changez's descendants. And there are more authentic ones than wikipedia to read about history.

And stop telling us Mughals that who is son of who, we have our history in our hearts. Barlas chief had to be from Borjigins and Taraghay was a Borjigin that too from the white bones i.e Changez's direct descent. We get offended at it because Timur himself got really offended at it and wiped some of his foes just for telling him that they will kill this son of Changez to teach mongols a lesson and some who tried to mock him that he wasn't a direct descendant.

He was first called Timur Khan but afterwards, he abandoned the title to be called Emir of the Muslims. By the by, Turks revere us. Don't know what is with this trend to demonize Muslim rulers.

sadani

central asian dynasties have a v bloody history , always fighting ... ( sometime to foreigners , and most of the time to own blood brothers )....
they were conquerer ....definitely..... but should not be treated as MUSLIM HERO as neither their act nor their approach was even "slightly" islamic....
jahangir died bcz of excessive alcohlic consumption.....
mughals build ponds of alcohol.....
having a harem of hundreds of girls to satisfy their sexual needs cant be isalmic....
yes... they gave culture and awareness to STUPID indians ...but again......
Moguls are not my Hero....

Qalandari

I don't know what is with people to hate Changez's descendants. And there are more authentic ones than wikipedia to read about history.

And stop telling us Mughals that who is son of who, we have our history in our hearts. Barlas chief had to be from Borjigins and Taraghay was a Borjigin that too from the white bones i.e Changez's direct descent. We get offended at it because Timur himself got really offended at it and wiped some of his foes just for telling him that they will kill this son of Changez to teach mongols a lesson and some who tried to mock him that he wasn't a direct descendant.

He was first called Timur Khan but afterwards, he abandoned the title to be called Emir of the Muslims. By the by, Turks revere us. Don't know what is with this trend to demonize Muslim rulers.

Cool down Mughal prince....This article was not from Wikipedia but written by a female historian of Russian origin and genes.

Kallie Szczepanski is a historian who has spent more than five years living in Asia, and has traveled extensively in twelve Asian countries.

Experience:

Kallie first went to Asia as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Turkmenistan, in 1997-98. During her Peace Corps service, she took the opportunity to visit a number of nearby countries including Azerbaijan, Turkey, India, and Nepal.

On her return to the United States, Kallie served as a Comments Editor for the "Pacific Rim Law and Policy Journal," a professional legal quarterly. She also worked on land reform issues in Asia as an intern at the Rural Development Institute in Seattle, Washington.

Kallie lived in South Korea from 2003 to 2007, teaching English as a Foreign Language at private academies, and at Hallym University. University breaks allowed Kallie ample time to explore more of Asia, including the Philippines, Thailand, and Cambodia.

Education:

Kallie Szczepanski holds a bachelor's degree in History from Western Washington University, and a J.D. from the University of Washington School of Law.

Kallie is studying for a History PhD in Boston.

Qalandari

From Kallie Szczepanski:

Since my childhood, I've been fascinated by history. Some of my favorite memories include exploring western ghost-towns such as South Pass City, Wyoming, and walking in the wheel-ruts left behind by wagons on the Oregon Trail.

Growing up in the western United States, my concept of history was limited to the past century or two. As I've traveled and lived in Asia, the sheer depth of Asian history never ceases to amaze me. Some of these countries have records going back 5,000 years! It still boggles my mind.

It's such a thrill to stand on the Great Wall of China, or walk through Angkor Wat in Cambodia, and imagine what was happening on that very spot 500 or 1000 years ago. I get chills when I stand on the ruins of a city in Central Asia that was laid waste by Genghis Khan, and spot pottery shards or tiles sticking out of the sand. I hope that I can share that sense of a visceral connection to history with readers through About.com.

Temojin

Cool down Mughal prince....This article was not from Wikipedia but written by a female historian of Russian origin and genes.

Kallie Szczepanski is a historian who has spent more than five years living in Asia, and has traveled extensively in twelve Asian countries.

Experience:

Kallie first went to Asia as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Turkmenistan, in 1997-98. During her Peace Corps service, she took the opportunity to visit a number of nearby countries including Azerbaijan, Turkey, India, and Nepal.

On her return to the United States, Kallie served as a Comments Editor for the "Pacific Rim Law and Policy Journal," a professional legal quarterly. She also worked on land reform issues in Asia as an intern at the Rural Development Institute in Seattle, Washington.

Kallie lived in South Korea from 2003 to 2007, teaching English as a Foreign Language at private academies, and at Hallym University. University breaks allowed Kallie ample time to explore more of Asia, including the Philippines, Thailand, and Cambodia.

Education:

Kallie Szczepanski holds a bachelor's degree in History from Western Washington University, and a J.D. from the University of Washington School of Law.

Kallie is studying for a History PhD in Boston.

So?????????

There is a big question mark weather Timur Lang was the descendant of Genghis Khan or not.

There is nothing wrong with revisiting history and looking at the past.

There have been many positive contributions by Mongols, my friend. Why don't you, one day, run a thread outlining them or you want me to do it? They were all people of their time and the world today is very different.

Renegade

What is the first thing that comes to mind when you hear his name? nothing but minarets of skulls. Naam Nihaad hero, Hitler and Stalin of the middle ages. A true hero is someone whom even his enemies remember in positive image. 'Sword of Islam'? Timur even murdered millions of Muslims. No efforts to improve common mans life. Such looters and plunderers have brough nothing but bad name to Islam.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timur

[h=2]Contributions to the arts[/h] Timur became widely known as a patron to the arts. Much of the architecture he commissioned still stands in Samarkand, now in present-day Uzbekistan. He was known to bring the most talented artisans from the lands he conquered back to Samarkand, and is credited with often giving them a wide latitude of artistic freedom to express themselves. He also constructed one of his finest buildings at the tomb of Ahmed Yesevi, an influential Turkic Sufi saint who spread Sufi Islam among the nomads.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

According to legend, Omar Aqta, Timur's court calligrapher, transcribed the Qur'an using letters so small that the entire text of the book fit on a signet ring. Omar also is said to have created a Qur'an so large that a wheelbarrow was required to transport it. Folios of what is probably this larger Qur'an have been found, written in gold lettering on huge pages.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

Timur was also said to have created Tamerlane Chess, a variant of shatranj (also known as medieval chess) played on a larger board with several additional pieces and an original method of pawn promotion. These pieces included the camel, siege-weapon, giraffe, and several others as well as boasting a complicated system involving the ability to exchange pawns for pieces should they reach the other side of the board.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

Timur's mandating of Kurash wrestling for his soldiers ensured for it a lasting and legendary legacy. Kurash is now a popular international sport and part of the Asian Games.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

[h=2]European Views on Timur[/h]

Inside the mausoleum — deep niches and diverse muqarnas decoration inside the Gur-e Amir.

Timur arguably had the most impact on the Renaissance culture and early modern Europe.[SUP][75][/SUP] Timur's achievements have both fascinated and horrified Europeans from the fifteenth century to the early nineteenth century.

European views of Timur were mixed throughout the fifteenth century with some European countries calling him an ally, while others saw him as a threat to Europe because of his rapid expansion and brutality.[SUP][76][/SUP]

When Timur took down the Ottoman Sultan Bayezid at Ankara, he was often praised and seen as a trusted ally by European rulers such as Charles VI of France and Henry IV of England because they believe he was saving Christianity from the Turkish Empire in the Middle East. Charles VI of France and Henry IV of England also praised Timur because his victory at Ankara allowed Christian merchants to remain in the Middle East and allowed for their safe return back home to both France and England. Timur was also praised because it is believed that he helped restore the right of passage for Christian pilgrims to the Holy Land.[SUP][77][/SUP]

Some European countries viewed Timur as barbaric enemy that presents a threat to both European culture and the religion of Christianity. Timur's rise to power has caused many leaders like Henry III of Castille to send embassies to Samarkand to personally scout out Timur, learn about his people, make alliances with him and to try to convince him to convert to Christianity in order to avoid war.[SUP][78][/SUP]

Qalandari

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timur

Contributions to the arts

Timur became widely known as a patron to the arts. Much of the architecture he commissioned still stands in Samarkand, now in present-day Uzbekistan. He was known to bring the most talented artisans from the lands he conquered back to Samarkand, and is credited with often giving them a wide latitude of artistic freedom to express themselves. He also constructed one of his finest buildings at the tomb of Ahmed Yesevi, an influential Turkic Sufi saint who spread Sufi Islam among the nomads.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

According to legend, Omar Aqta, Timur's court calligrapher, transcribed the Qur'an using letters so small that the entire text of the book fit on a signet ring. Omar also is said to have created a Qur'an so large that a wheelbarrow was required to transport it. Folios of what is probably this larger Qur'an have been found, written in gold lettering on huge pages.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

Timur was also said to have created Tamerlane Chess, a variant of shatranj (also known as medieval chess) played on a larger board with several additional pieces and an original method of pawn promotion. These pieces included the camel, siege-weapon, giraffe, and several others as well as boasting a complicated system involving the ability to exchange pawns for pieces should they reach the other side of the board.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

Timur's mandating of Kurash wrestling for his soldiers ensured for it a lasting and legendary legacy. Kurash is now a popular international sport and part of the Asian Games.[SUP][citation needed][/SUP]

.[SUP][78][/SUP]

Hey baby right wing nutter why did you have to rely on Wikipedia to inform your deluded version of history ?

Do you even understand what do the two words "citation needed" mean ? I bet they wouldn't have taught you this in your madrassa because the type of education they impart needs citation too :P

deltaforce

What is the first thing that comes to mind when you hear his name? nothing but minarets of skulls. Naam Nihaad hero, Hitler and Stalin of the middle ages. A true hero is someone whom even his enemies remember in positive image. 'Sword of Islam'? Timur even murdered millions of Muslims. No efforts to improve common mans life. Such looters and plunderers have brough nothing but bad name to Islam.

bhaijaan woh eight hundred years pahle paida hua tha , mullagiri ke chakkar me padta to jo aaj aap ke halat hai usake bhi wohi hote. koi irani iraki chinese afghani taimur ko hi khatam kar deta ya apni bhed baqariya chawata . agar logo ko marta nahi to phir kya iranio ki jail me sadta? usane apne time age aur place me jo karna tha wohi kiya kyoki woh time blood spilling ka tha . admio se jyada keemat horses ki thi.

deltaforce

Hey baby right wing nutter why did you have to rely on Wikipedia to inform your deluded version of history ?

Do you even understand what do the two words "citation needed" mean ? I bet they wouldn't have taught you this in your madrassa because the type of education they impart needs citation too :P

ha ha ha well said .(bigsmile)(bigsmile)(bigsmile)(bigsmile) but citation needed (bigsmile)(bigsmile)(bigsmile)

Left wing Mr. Brown, is Wikipedia not your online bible?

Your education system, you and your system needy too.

0240585001340825395.jpg

tz00007

if im not wrong...it was taimur lang who defeated yaldram and thus muslims could not conquer west...im not sure.. anyone???

deltaforce

if im not wrong...it was taimur lang who defeated yaldram and thus muslims could not conquer west...im not sure.. anyone???

better late than never , now is the time , come forward

yaldram hote to europe me aap se taxi hi chalwate , jaisa soudi arab, u.a.e. wale umma karte hai. bagal me baitha kar basra ki hooro ka dance nahi dikhata. (bigsmile)

deltaforce

Taminur did it all for loot? obviously he had a reason for conquering nation after nation.

no sir no loot woot , amir taimur also went to rescue on a call from a poor sister of garnaata or grenada (spain) just like muhammad bin qasim jo ek hindu bahan ki pukar par sindh me julm aur kufra mitane aya tha. aur khud gaddi wich lad ke
gaya.

Temojin

There is a big question mark weather Timur Lang was the descendant of Genghis Khan or not.

There is nothing wrong with revisiting history and looking at the past.

There have been many positive contributions by Mongols, my friend. Why don't you, one day, run a thread outlining them or you want me to do it? They were all people of their time and the world today is very different.

No mate there isn't a single question mark. The reason shaibani khan wanted Babur out was because he was a direct descendant of Changez, hence legitimate heir of the throne but he tried to create confusions. Yes afterwards, the beloved British took it to the maximum in order to achieve some specific goals which people don't want to understand. There were positive contributions indeed, not many but more than many yet only their barbaric side has been highlighted till now. I don't talk about it much as I see people here in a rhetoric about almost all issues. Yes, my blood boils when someone brings up a thread like this. Taimur decimated two kingdoms just for the thing that they had mocked him for calling himself the son of Changez. Anyway, no worries as I don't need to prove it to people like qalandrani. Thanks for your input mate.