Question about istikhara?

aushami

Aoa,
A friend of mine told me that there is an istikhara that you do some sort of takraar in salat. and when you finish it. if your head turns right it will be good, if it turns left it means bad.
Is it allowed in islam? and what is the procedure to do it? has someone tried it before?

Jazak Allah

khandk

salam dear friend. i will try my best according my knowledge to explain you. esthekhara means to consult with ALLAH if you are doing something in future .if you are doing something in future and you want to consult (esthekhara) with ALLAH - if that job or work which you are going to do is good for you then ALLAH will remove all difficulties from your way. and if that work or job which you are going to do is bad for you then ALLAH will make difficulties or hurdles in your way so you will not be able to do that job.and what you mentioned about turning your head to right or left is wrong .
with best wishes
maqsood ali
denmark

arkmsksh

Aoa,
A friend of mine told me that there is an istikhara that you do some sort of takraar in salat. and when you finish it. if your head turns right it will be good, if it turns left it means bad.
Is it allowed in islam? and what is the procedure to do it? has someone tried it before?

Jazak Allah

There is a right way to do istikhara. For this you need to read a correct dua of istikhaara. You can read dua from the following link
http://www.al-inaam.com/library/duaa/istikhaara.html
Say two rakat nafal prayer and after that read this dua. Read the translation first so you will know that what are you saying.. There are some rumors about istikhaara e.g. it should be done after isha. You should not talk to anybody after istikhaara. You will see some dream etc. These all are rumors and not correct.

arnold_mic

Aoa,

Jazak Allah

zubair.maalick

Kindly read:

The three Abandoned Prayers [Salat Istikhara, Tasbeh, Tauba]
By Shaikh Adnaan Ali

The very best book explains in detail the Importance, Procedure, philosophy behind and Fiqh issues of these Salat.
One can purchase it online from DarusSalam.com or Kitaabun.co.uk.

JazakAllah