Advice needed on a trip to Great Britain, United Kingdom for a week

Rikodeq

I will be travelling with my wife to the United Kingdom where we will have 6-7 days to explore the country in August. The plan is that my uncle who lives in Kent will pick us up and take us to his place and the next day, we will travel from Kent to London. I was checking on google maps that the distance b/w his residence and London is an hour and 30 minutes via driving and by public transport it could actually take 3.5-4 hours therefore i think we will need to book a hotel in London for a couple of days.

We will obviously be going to London to explore all the main tourist attractions. Our original plan was to devote all our days to the city of London but others have advised us on spending not more than 3 days exploring London and the remaining time exploring the English Country Side because London can get boring pretty fast.

Will be greatful if people living in the UK will be able to provide some good feedback on how to make the most of this 6-7 day experience in the UK in August.

Rambler

6-7 days is not a lot. London has so much to offer. You should stay with your Uncle and use train/coach to travel to London (bring packed lunch). London has very good and cheap transport system. Do not go anywhere else unless you are really interested in the place. Ask your Uncle to take you to the countryside / national park / village / beach.

P.S: Never ask desi's for advice on holidays as the only thing they are interested in is making money and then showing it off.

Noworriesbehappy

be prepared for any weather, by pakistani standared,in Aug, it should be nice weather,but dont forget to bring light waterproof jacket, which is easy to carry and can protect you from rain or if it gets cold in the morning or evening.

khan0786

Stay in London for couple of days, use underground metro etc, than Hire a car mate,, go to lake district, do camping , than to Scottish border for a day than to Edinburg for one night stay in hotel , have a good rest than drive back to London ,,,

weather is big question mark especially in lake district and Scotland.

Good luck 🤞

khan0786

Or stay South if don't like driving,, Brighton beach, Bournemouth beach, Wiltshire Stonehenge,, Windsor castle , slough, Thorpe Park, chessington,, all within hour and half drive from Kent

Respect

Travel too London by train from Kent. Spend 2-3 days Max. Live there for 2 days and 3rd day evening go back too Kent. Plan everything before what you want too see in London.
Once back in Kent you may want to go too a beach/seaside for a day by car.
Next day you may want too go to a safari park, longleat is pretty good. For a day by car.
Then finally if you like theme parks you could travel too Thorpe Park which is about an hour away from Kent. Or Alton towers which is over 2 hours away.

Or stay South if don't like driving,, Brighton beach, Bournemouth beach, Wiltshire Stonehenge,, Windsor castle , slough, Thorpe Park, chessington,, all within hour and half drive from Kent
Please also add BLACK POOL and BATH I mean ROMAN BATH in this list

taban

I will be travelling with my wife to the United Kingdom where we will have 6-7 days to explore the country in August. The plan is that my uncle who lives in Kent will pick us up and take us to his place and the next day, we will travel from Kent to London. I was checking on google maps that the distance b/w his residence and London is an hour and 30 minutes via driving and by public transport it could actually take 3.5-4 hours therefore i think we will need to book a hotel in London for a couple of days.

We will obviously be going to London to explore all the main tourist attractions. Our original plan was to devote all our days to the city of London but others have advised us on spending not more than 3 days exploring London and the remaining time exploring the English Country Side because London can get boring pretty fast.

Will be greatful if people living in the UK will be able to provide some good feedback on how to make the most of this 6-7 day experience in the UK in August.
اگر انگلینڈ پہنچ جاؤ تو پاکستان واپس نہ جانا

khan0786

Bath is my favourite city, due to some family reasons we Used to go Wiltshire, Bath, Swindon and Reading quite a lot,, Blackpool is further north and might be too far for him to go.

Day 0: Arrival
On your first day, you can either take some rest after your journey or visit the Natural History Museum in London. Remember to make an online booking in advance as it's a popular attraction and can get crowded.

Day 1: London Sightseeing
Start your day by witnessing the Changing of the Guard ceremony at Buckingham Palace. It's advisable to arrive early to secure a good spot. Afterward, you can visit Westminster, the London Eye, and take a walk along the South Bank of the River Thames. Consider taking an Uber Boat Thames to Greenwich to explore attractions like the North Greenwich 02 and the Emirates Cable Car. Also, don't forget to visit Edexcel London and return.

Day 2: Tower of London and City Tour
Begin your day by visiting the Tower of London. Remember to purchase tickets in advance as they are required for entry. Afterward, you can explore the London Bridge area and then head to the SKY Garden, which offers panoramic views of the city (remember to book in advance, preferably 3-4 weeks earlier). Take a London bus tour to see famous landmarks such as Westminster Bridge, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, and Bond Street to Oxford Street. Most of the day can be spent walking or using the London Underground.

Day 3: Windsor Castle
Take a day trip to Windsor Castle, a royal residence located in the town of Windsor. Explore the castle and its beautiful surroundings. You can reach Windsor from London by train or consider booking a tour operator deal for a convenient experience.

Day 4: Stonehenge and Bath
For this day, consider renting a car or booking a tour operator deal to visit Stonehenge and the city of Bath. Stonehenge is a prehistoric monument, and Bath is known for its Roman-built baths and Georgian architecture. It will be a full-day excursion.

Day 5: Blackpool
Visit Blackpool, a seaside resort town known for its beach, Blackpool Tower, and the Blackpool Circus. Explore the various attractions and enjoy your time in this lively coastal destination.

Day 6: Your Choice
On your last day, you have the freedom to choose any activity or attraction based on your interests. London offers a wide range of options, including museums, art galleries, shopping districts, parks, and more. You can also revisit any of your favorite spots from the previous days.

Remember to consider using an Oyster card or purchasing a weekly Zone 1-3 travel pass for convenient and cost-effective transportation within London. Additionally, if you plan to visit multiple attractions, consider purchasing an annual Merlin pass or a combined ticket for attractions owned by Merlin, or a London Pass, which can help you save money on admission fees.

Enjoy your trip to London and have a fantastic time exploring the city and its surroundings!

Staying in Kent and using the train to travel to London is a wise decision if accommodation prices in London are high. By opting for this approach, you can save money on accommodation and allocate those savings towards other aspects of your trip, such as attractions, dining, or shopping.

Trains from Kent to London typically take around an hour, making it a convenient and efficient mode of transportation. By utilizing public transport, you can avoid the hassle of driving and parking in the busy city center.

Ensure that you plan your train journeys in advance and take advantage of discounted fares by purchasing tickets through platforms like Trainline. Consider buying a weekly rail pass for commuting between Kent and London, as it can often offer cost savings compared to individual tickets.

Remember to check the train schedules and plan your travel accordingly to make the most of your time in London. Enjoy exploring the city while saving on accommodation expenses!

zarian

Depend where in Kent your uncle lives..
I live in kent and I am 25mins away from London.

you dont want to drive inside central london .. Big No No so use public transport.
If you decide to rent a room etc in london it can work but make sure you in zone 2 or 3 because Zone1 (central) will be very expensive.

2/3 days in London should be enough as you will be able to visit main attractions such as london eye, parliament, Big Ben, main museums.

Small countries sides are worth visiting such as:
  • Cheddar Village in England (Cheddar cheese place)
  • Cornwall
  • Lake district ete
  • Costworlds
  • Isle of white (my favourite) if you want to walk and enjoy
  • Skye (but its far) Scotland but beautiful

and list goes on but i will stop here. Enjoy your time :)

idrees2be2002

London public transport ka system bohat acha hai. Khaastoor pe underground (Tube)
Ek city se duusre city jane ke liye National express busses ki tickets bohat munasib price pe mil jati hain. Main to jab jata houn min. 5-6 din ke liye jata houn.

London public transport ka system bohat acha hai. Khaastoor pe underground (Tube)
Ek city se duusre city jane ke liye National express busses ki tickets bohat munasib price pe mil jati hain. Main to jab jata houn min. 5-6 din ke liye jata houn.

لندن جانے سے پہلے انسان کا پیدل چلنے کا اسٹمنا خوب ہونا چاہیے۔۔۔ کیونکہ لندن پیدل چلو گے یا سائیکل ہو تو بہت زبردست رہیگا ۔۔

انڈر گراؤنڈ ٹیوبز تو اچھا ہے لیکن سٹیشن سے اوپر آنا اور پھر سٹیشن پر صحیح پلیٹ فارم پہ جانا ایک پوری سائنس ہے۔ نئے بندے کو تو پہلے سمجھ ہی نہیں آتی کہ یہ ساؤتھ باونڈ یا نارتھ باونڈ کیا بلا ہے؟

khan0786

Mazay Kee BAAT hai OP SB nay thread start karnay Kay Baad koi discussion main contribute nähee Kiya,,, not a single word,, 🤣 🤣

لندن جانے سے پہلے انسان کا پیدل چلنے کا اسٹمنا خوب ہونا چاہیے۔۔۔ کیونکہ لندن پیدل چلو گے یا سائیکل ہو تو بہت زبردست رہیگا ۔۔

انڈر گراؤنڈ ٹیوبز تو اچھا ہے لیکن سٹیشن سے اوپر آنا اور پھر سٹیشن پر صحیح پلیٹ فارم پہ جانا ایک پوری سائنس ہے۔ نئے بندے کو تو پہلے سمجھ ہی نہیں آتی کہ یہ ساؤتھ باونڈ یا نارتھ باونڈ کیا بلا ہے؟