Largest torrent search engine Torrentz.eu taken down by UK anti-piracy police

Bubble_in_the_World

hackers.jpg

The internets largest torrent search engine, Torrentz.eu, has been taken down in the latest attempt by UK police to curb illegal file sharing.​

The sites domain was suspended by the registrar of its domain after a request from the UKs Police Intellectual Property Crime Unit.

Police have been sending warning letters to the sites for some time. It made a fresh round of requests last week, including to the registrar of Torrentz.eu, and the site was taken down from this morning.A similar site, FileCrop, has also been taken down, and others may follow.

Torrentfreak, a website close to the community,reports that several allegedly infringing sites were contacted before the weekend.
Many competitors have also been taken offline recently. Two of Torrentz.eus most significant peers isoHunt and The Pirate Bay have been taken down completely or blocked in many countries.

Torrentz.eu acts as a search engine for torrents rather than storing the files itself, making the move unusual among police shutdowns. The site receives millions of visitors a day and is thought to be one of the largest torrent sites on the internet.Two alternative domains, registered in Switzerland and Montenegro, are still in use by the company.

It is likely to be able to recover its domain or get it transferred to a new registrar, reported Torrentfreak.
The police began to block websites rather than targeting individuals towards the end of last year, when it asked Internet Service Providers to block 21 sites that link to infringing material. Unlike that move which meant that Torrentz.eu was already banned on many ISPs the ban on the domain means that users will be unable to access the site through any ISP.

http://www.independent.co.uk/life-s...ken-down-by-uk-antipiracy-police-9435167.html

ali-raj

bhai logon. Private torrent use karo, kion idhar udhar jatey ho. waisay piratebay abhi taak zinda hai. Jaab taak bhutto zinda hai, piratebay bhi zinda hai.

Rafay470

couple of years ago already stopped doing it. had to pay a hefty fine :((( torrent never again

I hope you have not got cheated by a law firm, Have you??

It has become a business of many law/consultancy firms here in Europe. They first get a permission from court to have access to the IP addresses through service providers in your country. This permit from court bounds the service providers to work in collaboration with the law firm. And then the drama starts you get first letter (showing all details of your download, e.g. Movie title, time, its copy rights owners in the country etc) from the firm by registered post , then second letter with a bit threatening tone and then the third and last one with a clear dead line and date of commencement of legal action on non payment of the amount they demand (ranging from 300 to 2000 euros). This firm sends these letters to thousands of users and some people get really scared, and to avoid court proceeding/hiring a lawyer etc they just pay the amounts immediately but in 95% cases these firms dont do anything if You just dont reply back and close all torrents for sometime.

P

pakikiwi

Which country you live? and how this happened? Please share and what do you think other should do?

I live in NZ and myself was warned by Police for illegal downloading, Luckily I wasn't aware of the law told them I've no knowledge of Torrents or pirated software likewise most of our Pakistanis have not, My Isp put complaint on me :), Outside pakistan i think No one should do torrents :).

Rafay470

I live in NZ and myself was warned by Police for illegal downloading, Luckily I wasn't aware of the law told them I've no knowledge of Torrents or pirated software likewise most of our Pakistanis have not, My Isp put complaint on me :), Outside pakistan i think No one should do torrents :).

You should never SEED anything remember!! it sounds a bit cheeky n selfish though but whatelse you can do. Just delete the file as it completes D/L. Seeding is the real infringment of coypright laws

TigerPak

Its not Taken down, only the domain has been suspended.

The site’s main domain name was suspended by its registrar following a request from police in the UK. The site is still registered to the Torrentz team, who hope that they will be able to lift the suspension or move the domain name elsewhere.

the site can still be accessed via the Torrentz.ch and Torrentz.me domains.

hkniazi

I hope you have not got cheated by a law firm, Have you??

It has become a business of many law/consultancy firms here in Europe. They first get a permission from court to have access to the IP addresses through service providers in your country. This permit from court bounds the service providers to work in collaboration with the law firm. And then the drama starts you get first letter (showing all details of your download, e.g. Movie title, time, its copy rights owners in the country etc) from the firm by registered post , then second letter with a bit threatening tone and then the third and last one with a clear dead line and date of commencement of legal action on non payment of the amount they demand (ranging from 300 to 2000 euros). This firm sends these letters to thousands of users and some people get really scared, and to avoid court proceeding/hiring a lawyer etc they just pay the amounts immediately but in 95% cases these firms dont do anything if You just dont reply back and close all torrents for sometime.

exactly what happened to me

BrotherKantu

I live in germany. Had to pay 600 euros after "negotiation"

Sorry to hear but you got ripped off my friend. I did some computer fixing job at home. I had a customer's computer for repair. I left it running for some time and then my Internet got disconnected. Apparently that customer had a virus and pirated anti-virus software. Norton picked it up and reported it to my ISP. I had to write an apology and got my Internet restored. But no fine or money had to pay.

P

pakikiwi

You should never SEED anything remember!! it sounds a bit cheeky n selfish though but whatelse you can do. Just delete the file as it completes D/L. Seeding is the real infringment of coypright laws

Sorry bro I dont know what seeding is, I would like to know I'm not IT person, But What i used to was used patched IDM and click on any link of video to download file, Specially from www.freefullmovies.net , And i forgot the torrent name which was i think novatorrent, something .. can't recall it..

Rafay470

Sorry bro I dont know what seeding is, I would like to know I'm not IT person, But What i used to was used patched IDM and click on any link of video to download file, Specially from www.freefullmovies.net , And i forgot the torrent name which was i think novatorrent, something .. can't recall it..

Seeding simply means sharing data with other online members of the file sharing community from your computer.
As soon as your file gets d/l 100% it immediately starts seeding so the easiest way to avoid this situation is going to the options of your download manager and click on the autoshut and select "Quit when downloads complete".

iltaf

kickass torrent ki bht achi site h. Ye wali band hoi to aur alternatives ati rahengi :)