My approximate calculation of cost for PMIK's helicopter ride to Bani Gala.

haroon619

The helicopter has been identified as the Eurocopter EC130. It has a fuel economy of 1.13 km per liter (source). It also has a Turbomeca Arriel 2D engine (source) which uses Jet A1 fuel. The cost of jet fuel in Pakistan is 249.15 pkr per gallon or 65.8 pkr per litre (source).

LAPD_Bell_206_Jetranger.jpg

The distance b/w Bani Gala and Prime minister secretariat is 5.77 km, assuming you go in a straight line. Therefore, if my calculation correct 5.1 litres of fuel was used to travel that particular distance and times that by the 65.8 you get 335.58 pkr for the total flight. Divide that by the distance travelled and you get 58.2 pkr per km.

This comes close to the what Fawad Chaudry stated. Obviously some factors such as weather, idle time and luggage weight have not been taken into consideration for the sake of calculations. The pilots would also have been on a monthly payroll rather than an hourly one.

TechWarrior

This was my calculation

IK Bani Gala Helicopter Trip from PM house to Bani Gala Cost
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Helicopter fuel cost depends on the Helicopter type, wind speed etc.
Let's assume Malik Riaz Helicopter AW 139 for calculation which is medium sized for 15 persons.
it's specification can be found here
https://www.aircraftcompare.com/h…/agusta-westland-aw139/259
Fuel economy as per above specification link is 0.45 KM per liter, almost 0.5 Km Per liter
Distance from PM house to Bani gala is 8 km approx
So 8 KM will cost 4 liters approx.
1 Liter is 95 RS
So 95*4 liters = 380 RS per trip from PM House to Bani Gala.
380 RS /8KM = 47. 5 ~= 50 RS /KM
So Fawwad Chaudhry was right in saying it costs 50 RS per KM.
With Car, distance by road from PM house to Bani gala is 13 KM
So 7 cars of the protocol have to travel 13 KM which is inefficient and will ofcourse cost more than 380 RS.

shafali

The cost of the alternative course of action (i.e. by road) needs to account for additional PM time on the road, increased risk to PM, security, and inconvenience to the public. By qualitative assessment, travel by air appears to be a better option.

ali-raj

Basically, the problem is, people aren't focusing on the difference. This is state owned helicopter, for which flying crew, ground crew is always available, no parking charges , no hanger charges etc. If it was a private , then single KM would have costed 5000 per km etc.
The problem will arise, if IK uses the extra amount, or uses this for his private usage. Only then he can be pointed out. Unfortunately, PTI Media cell is in hands of some very incompetent people.
besides, give a shut up call. PM can and will use a heli. where ever it is appropriate, cost effective and time saving. Thats it. Don't give explanantions etc. It will become spaghetti.

mskhan

The helicopter has been identified as the Eurocopter EC130. It has a fuel economy of 1.13 km per liter (source). It also has a Turbomeca Arriel 2D engine (source) which uses Jet A1 fuel. The cost of jet fuel in Pakistan is 249.15 pkr per gallon or 65.8 pkr per litre (source).

The distance b/w Bani Gala and Prime minister secretariat is 5.77 km, assuming you go in a straight line. Therefore, if my calculation correct 5.1 litres of fuel was used to travel that particular distance and times that by the 65.8 you get 335.58 pkr for the total flight. Divide that by the distance travelled and you get 58.2 pkr per km.

This comes close to the what Fawad Chaudry stated. Obviously some factors such as weather, idle time and luggage weight have not been taken into consideration for the sake of calculations. The pilots would also have been on a monthly payroll rather than an hourly one.
Absolutely the right estimate, much more economical than going in a car with security.

Educationist

کسی نونی کتے کو یہ حساب کتاب سمجھانا ایک گدھے کو کمپیوٹر سمجھانے کے مترادف ہو گا

کیونکہ ان حرامزادوں کو صرف یہ سمجھایا گیا ہے
noon-league.jpg

PIND-WALA

There is more to it than just just the cost of the fuel. What abojt maintenance , how often and how costly is that ? Is it same as a car in terms of duration for maintenance? Ehat about salary of the pilots ? What other facilities are needed to run the helicopter versus car ?

FaisalKh

Yar kyon rang main bhang daal rahe ho... acha khaasa media aur patwarion ne rona dhona lagaya hua hai... enjoy karo:D

This was my calculation

IK Bani Gala Helicopter Trip from PM house to Bani Gala Cost
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Helicopter fuel cost depends on the Helicopter type, wind speed etc.
Let's assume Malik Riaz Helicopter AW 139 for calculation which is medium sized for 15 persons.
it's specification can be found here
https://www.aircraftcompare.com/h…/agusta-westland-aw139/259
Fuel economy as per above specification link is 0.45 liter per KM, almost 0.5 liter per KM.
Distance from PM house to Bani gala is 8 km approx
So 8 KM will cost 4 liters approx.
1 Liter is 95 RS
So 95*4 liters = 380 RS per trip from PM House to Bani Gala.
380 RS /8KM = 47. 5 ~= 50 RS /KM
So Fawwad Chaudhry was right in saying it costs 50 RS per KM.
With Car, distance by road from PM house to Bani gala is 13 KM
So 7 cars of the protocol have to travel 13 KM which is inefficient and will ofcourse cost more than 380 RS.
Two errors in you calculations, first of all is not 0.45 liter per Km but the other way around 0.45 Km per liter
And second is it used jet fuel/aviation fuel since which is around 280plus per liter.

TechWarrior

Two errors in you calculations, first of all is not 0.45 liter per Km but the other way around 0.45 Km per liter
And second is it used jet fuel/aviation fuel since which is around 280plus per liter.

Btw it is 0.45 KM per liter in the source. This was typo from my end. Also the jet fuel price is similar or less compared to petrol that we use.

The price you provided 280+ might be per gallon.

c'estmoi

Even if IK starts walking, most people will still find something wrong and criticize him. Like he doesn't walk straight or his shoes are too expensive..some shit like that.

Humble

That is too simplistic an approach to calculate the operation cost. If you include the maintenance and pilot's service cost in it, it would come out to be around 3.5 lacs per hour.