Narendra Modi faces backlash after handing over Chadar for Ajmer Sharif

A.G.Uddin

This is not the first time when India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi has handed over Chadar which would be offered on the Urs of Khwaja Moinuddin Chishti at the Ajmer Sharif Dargah.

https://twitter.com/x/status/590507033704542208
https://twitter.com/x/status/848143046445211648
https://twitter.com/x/status/974996672144117762
https://twitter.com/x/status/1488907925741781003

This year he did it once again
https://twitter.com/x/status/1617917450145927170

But it was soon followed by severe backlash that came from various hardline Hindus. Let's have a look at how different netizens would react

https://twitter.com/x/status/1617945366271516672
https://twitter.com/x/status/1617963663905918978
https://twitter.com/x/status/1617927098148212739
https://twitter.com/x/status/1617971464644472834
https://twitter.com/x/status/1618035690058682368
https://twitter.com/x/status/1618137145805541376
https://twitter.com/x/status/1617941979022905345
https://twitter.com/x/status/1618003239252918273
https://twitter.com/x/status/1618451442012155905
https://twitter.com/x/status/1618413326048059392
https://twitter.com/x/status/1617923331684196352
https://twitter.com/x/status/1618069280314241026

https://twitter.com/x/status/1618565106589388807
https://twitter.com/x/status/1618444704374468608
https://twitter.com/x/status/1618215848367489024
https://twitter.com/x/status/1618112545868648448
https://twitter.com/x/status/1617943114400034816
https://twitter.com/x/status/1617929041272799232
54fb674ce76d4.jpg

In terms of shrines and mysticism we have had enough discussions about it on different forums of Siasat.pk . Personally I am an admirer of modernist voices like Ghulam Ahmed Pervaiz and Jawed Ahmed Ghamidi (none of the two encouraged Dargahs). But what I want to pinpoint is : repercussions after you rely on votes and support of hatemongers. The moment you do things in a slightly different way, you instantly become a target of ridicule and trolling. Same is the case with our
politicians siding with extremist outfits and religious lunatics for gains, but later on end up getting abused and attacked.

But what I want to pinpoint is : repercussions after you rely on votes and support of hatemongers. The moment you do things in a slightly different way, you instantly become a target of ridicule and trolling.
We shouldn't point the finger or make fun of what occurs in India when our own purportedly Islamic nation has zero tolerance for anyone who tries to hold an opposing view to the traditionalists.
Is it possible to open a mosque in a purportedly Islamic country where the only things taught inside are the Quran and discussed local issues? It's a resounding NO. You'll undoubtedly face harassment, mockery, and threats of death from the mullahs, muftis, sheiks, and their followers if you don't shut down that mosque.

M Ali Khan

We shouldn't point the finger or make fun of what occurs in India when our own purportedly Islamic nation has zero tolerance for anyone who tries to hold an opposing view to the traditionalists.
Is it possible to open a mosque in a purportedly Islamic country where the only things taught inside are the Quran and discussed local issues? It's a resounding NO. You'll undoubtedly face harassment, mockery, and threats of death from the mullahs, muftis, sheiks, and their followers if you don't shut down that mosque.
or just look at how Pakistan's blasphemy laws (295 and 298) are used to target members of rival sects or non-Muslim minorities.

Searching on social media and you will find hundreds of very recent cases of Deobandis, Barelvis, Ahle Hadith, and Shias regularly lodging FIRs under these laws to attack and harass each other's members and then bully authorities of arresting them or else they will take law in their own hands (which they ALWAYS do) and punish the so-called Gustakh!

There are many neighbourhoods where every 200 yards there will separate mosque for a separate sects, and then they clash on various religious days that one group commemorates but the other doesn't.

I mean, in a nation of 97% Muslim population, funny how Islam and the namoos of Prophet, Ahle Bait, and Sahaba sure is ALWAYS in trouble here!

Aur phir Pakistani full dhittai se kehte hain ke Pakistan ka asal masla "Deen se Duuri" hai!!!!!

"Ghulami e Rasool mein Maut* bhi Qabool hai"
(*doosre ki Maut, apni hargiz nahi)

There are many neighbourhoods where every 200 yards there will separate mosque for a separate sects, and then they clash on various religious days that one group commemorates but the other doesn't.
That is why I say there is no Islam in Pakistan, just factions and sects.

M Ali Khan

That is why I say there is no Islam in Pakistan, just factions and sects.
Pakistani Muslims need to realise a basic fact: Islam is NOT the realm of a single sect or school of thought.

Differences of opinion on history, fiqh, personalities, practices etc have been existing since Islam's very early days.

Those differences need to be respected because those differences are often core tenants of their faith.

Criminalising those differences in the name of "blasphemy" or "tauheen" goes to show how one sect pretends to be sole Islam and others as gumrah/biddati/mushrik/kaafir

The sooner we get rid of these ill-advised and poorly crafted out laws in the name of Islam the better for us as a nation and as an Ummah.

REMEMBER FELLOW MUSLIMS: "YOUR SECT IS NOT THAT SPECIAL!"

Pakistani Muslims need to realise a basic fact: Islam is NOT the realm of a single sect or school of thought.

Differences of opinion on history, fiqh, personalities, practices etc have been existing since Islam's very early days.

Those differences need to be respected because those differences are often core tenants of their faith.
Having differences of opinion is fine but, following a sect is not acceptable in the Quran.

M Ali Khan

Having differences of opinion is fine but, following a sect is not acceptable in the Quran.
Easier said than done.

Every single religion has fragmented into sects based on different interpretations of religious texts and how it views their historic events.

Islam is no different. Sects are a reality, whether we like it or not.

That's the real 'Qudrat ka Nizam,' whether we like it or not.

What matters is how we deal with these differences.

Islam is no different. Sects are a reality, whether we like it or not.
Islam is different than any other religion that is where you need to correct yourself. If the Muslims would have read the Quran instead of relying upon mullahs and ancestors, we would not have divided into sects.

M Ali Khan

Islam is different than any other religion that is where you need to correct yourself. If the Muslims would have read the Quran instead of relying upon mullahs and ancestors, we would not have divided into sects.
Once again
Every single religion has fragmented into sects based on different interpretations of religious texts and how it views their historic events.
How do you think the first sects in Islam emerged?
And that too before the first three generations of Muslims had even passed away?

Differences in interpreting the Quran, Hadith, and early Muslim histories.

The self-styled 'Only Muslim, no Sect' refuse to admit this cold heart truth.

Once again

How do you think the first sects in Islam emerged?
And that too before the first three generations of Muslims had even passed away?

Differences in interpreting the Quran, Hadith, and early Muslim histories.

The self-styled 'Only Muslim, no Sect' refuse to admit this cold heart truth.
If anyone who follows a particular sect is denying the Quran.
Did Nabi Kareem or Ashaba follow any sect?

3:103 And hold fast to the rope of God, altogether, and do not become divided. And remember God's blessings upon you; how you were enemies, and He reconciled your hearts, and by His grace you became brethren. And you were on the brink of a pit of fire, and He saved you from it. God thus clarifies His revelations for you, so that you may be guided

6:159 Indeed, those who have divided their religion and become sects - you, [O Muhammad], are not [associated] with them in anything. Their affair is only
to Allah; then He will inform them about what they used to do.

30:31 Turning towards Him—and be conscious of Him, and perform the prayer, and do not be of the idolaters​

30:32 Of those who divided their religion, and became sects; each faction pleased with what they have

M Ali Khan

If anyone who follows a particular sect is denying the Quran.
Did Nabi Kareem or Ashaba follow any sect?

3:103 And hold fast to the rope of God, altogether, and do not become divided. And remember God's blessings upon you; how you were enemies, and He reconciled your hearts, and by His grace you became brethren. And you were on the brink of a pit of fire, and He saved you from it. God thus clarifies His revelations for you, so that you may be guided

6:159 Indeed, those who have divided their religion and become sects - you, [O Muhammad], are not [associated] with them in anything. Their affair is only

to Allah; then He will inform them about what they used to do.

30:31 Turning towards Him—and be conscious of Him, and perform the prayer, and do not be of the idolaters

30:32 Of those who divided their religion, and became sects; each faction pleased with what they have
bhai sb, Quran may have definitely warned us from not forming sects

but guess what, we still did it across 1400 years. and that is a reality.

No religion's followers have ever been safe from sectarian divisions that emerged from widening differences over interpreting religious texts, events, and history.

Those differences became used for political and ideological interests, and eventually became codified into the beliefs of different sects and schools of thought within the same religion.

Islam's followers are no different.

repeating Ayahs from the Quran does not suddenly change 1400+ years of history either.

the sooner we accept that Muslims worldwide now belong to different sects as reality, and find ways for these sects to stop calling each other kafir, wajib ul qatal, mushrik, biddati etc and learn to mind their own business and let them have their differences is key.

THAT is what needs to be done.

bhai sb, Quran may have definitely warned us from not forming sects

but guess what, we still did it across 1400 years. and that is a reality.

No religion's followers have ever been safe from sectarian divisions that emerged from widening differences over interpreting religious texts, events, and history.

Those differences became used for political and ideological interests, and eventually became codified into the beliefs of different sects and schools of thought within the same religion.

Islam's followers are no different.

repeating Ayahs from the Quran does not suddenly change 1400+ years of history either.

the sooner we accept that Muslims worldwide now belong to different sects as reality, and find ways for these sects to stop calling each other kafir, wajib ul qatal, mushrik, biddati etc and learn to mind their own business and let them have their differences is key.

THAT is what needs to be done.
Yes, it is a fact that we are divided into different sects, but it does not justify if we were to follow the Quran.
Repeating Ayahs will certainly not change what was inspired about 1200 years ago, but at the same time, we should not condone it.
As long as we are divided into sects and factions, Muslims will label one another Kafir, wajib ul qatal, mushrik, biddati, and so on, and that is a reality.

M Ali Khan

Yes, it is a fact that we are divided into different sects, but it does not justify if we were to follow the Quran.
Repeating Ayahs will certainly not change what was inspired about 1200 years ago, but at the same time, we should not condone it.
As long as we are divided into sects and factions, Muslims will label one another Kafir, wajib ul qatal, mushrik, biddati, and so on, and that is a reality.
Depends on whose interpretation on the Quran is used.

See what I did there?

M Ali Khan

Interpretation regarding what verses?
The whole of the Quran, man.

Differences over interpreting the Quran and Hadith literature has been one of THE central causes of formation of sects and factions.

Even if we say "Go back to the classical texts," the valid response would be "cool. so who gets to interpret it? When is it supposed to be literal? When is it supposed to be metaphorical? Does this verse imply X or does it imply Y or Z?"

That sort of thing.

The whole of the Quran, man.

Differences over interpreting the Quran and Hadith literature has been one of THE central causes of formation of sects and factions.

Even if we say "Go back to the classical texts," the valid response would be "cool. so who gets to interpret it? When is it supposed to be literal? When is it supposed to be metaphorical? Does this verse imply X or does it imply Y or Z?"

That sort of thing.
The Quran contains several clear verses about laws. The verses about sects are also very clear, and there is no ambiguity in any interpretation of these verses.
Yes, there are metaphorical or allegorical verses, and the verses can be interpreted in various ways.