Open Heart Surgery

Night_Hawk

[h=2]Open Heart Surgery
[/h] Open heart surgery is any type of surgery where the chest is cut open and surgery is performed on the muscles, valves, or arteries of the heart.
According to the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI), coronary artery bypass grafting (CABG) is the most common type of heart surgery done on adults. During this surgery, a healthy artery or vein is grafted (attached) to a blocked coronary (heart) artery. This allows the grafted artery to bypass the blocked artery and bring fresh blood to the heart (NHLBI).
Open heart surgery is sometimes called traditional heart surgery. Today, many new heart procedures can be performed with only small incisions (cuts), not wide openings. Therefore, the term open heart surgery can sometimes be misleading.

Part 2 of 7: Reasons
[h=2]Why Is Open Heart Surgery Needed? [/h] Open heart surgery may be done to perform a CABG. A CABG may be necessary for patients with coronary heart disease (CHD).
CHD occurs when the blood vessels that provide blood and oxygen for the heart become narrow and hard. This is often called hardening of the arteries.
Hardening occurs when fatty material forms a plaque on the walls of the coronary arteries. This plaque narrows the arteries, making it difficult for blood to get through. When blood cant flow properly to the heart, a heart attack may occur.
Heart surgery is also done to:

• repair or replace heart valves, which allow blood to travel through the heart
  • repair damaged or abnormal areas of the heart
  • put in medical devices that help the heart to beat properly
  • replace a damaged heart with a donated heart (heart transplantation)

Part 3 of 7: Surgery Basics
[h=2]How Is Open Heart Surgery Performed? [/h] According to the National Institutes of Health, a CABG takes between four to six hours. It is generally done following these basic steps:

• The patient is given general anesthesia. This ensures the patient will be asleep and pain-free through the whole surgery.
  • The surgeon makes an eight to 10-inch cut in the chest.
  • The surgeon cuts through all or part of the patients breastbone to expose the heart.
  • Once the heart is visible, the patient may be connected to a heart-lung bypass machine. The machine moves blood away from the heart so that the surgeon can operate. Some newer procedures do not use this machine.
  • The surgeon uses a healthy vein or artery to make a new path around the blocked artery.
  • The surgeon closes the breastbone with wire, leaving the wire inside the body.
  • The original cut is stitched up. (NIH)
Sometimes sternal plating is done for high-risk patients, such as patients of advanced age or patients who have had multiple surgeries. This is when the breastbone is rejoined after the surgery with small titanium plates.

Part 4 of 7: Risks
[h=2]What Are the Risks of Open Heart Surgery? [/h] Risks for a CABG include:

• chest wound infection (more common in patients with obesity or diabetes, or those who have had a CABG before)
  • heart attack or stroke
  • irregular heart beat
  • lung or kidney failure
  • chest pain and low fever
  • memory loss or fuzziness
  • blood clot
  • blood loss
  • breathing difficulty
According to the University of Chicago Medicine (UCM), the heart-lung bypass machine is associated with increased risks. These risks include stroke and memory problems (UCM).

Part 5 of 7: Preparation
[h=2]How Do I Prepare for Open Heart Surgery? [/h] Tell your healthcare provider about any drugs you are taking, even over-the-counter medications, vitamins, and herbs. Inform them also of any illnesses, including herpes outbreak, cold, flu, or fever.
In the two weeks before the surgery, your healthcare provider may ask you to quit smoking and to stop taking blood-thinning medications, such as aspirin, ibuprofen, or naproxen.
The day before the surgery, you may be asked to wash yourself with a special soap. This soap is used to kill bacteria on your skin and will lessen the chance of an infection after surgery. You may also be asked not to eat or drink anything after midnight.
Your healthcare provider will give you any other detailed instructions when you arrive at the hospital for surgery.

Part 6 of 7: After Surgery
[h=2]What Happens After Open Heart Surgery? [/h] When you wake up after surgery, you will have two to three tubes in your chest. These are to help drain fluid from the area around your heart.
You may have intravenous (IV) tubes in you, supplying you with fluids.
You may have a catheter (thin tube) in your bladder to remove urine.
You will also be attached to machines that monitor your heart. Nurses will be nearby to help you if you need it.
You will usually spend your first night in the intensive care unit (ICU). You will then be moved to a regular care room for the next three to seven days.

Part 7 of 7: Long-Term Outlook
[h=2]What Is the Long-Term Outlook for Open Heart Surgery? [/h] Expect a gradual recovery. It may take up to six weeks before you start feeling better, and up to six months to feel the full benefits of the surgery. However, the outlook is good for many people, and the grafts can work for many years.
Nevertheless, surgery does not prevent artery blockage from happening again. You can help improve your heart health by:

• eating a healthy diet
  • cutting back on foods high in salt, fat, and sugar
  • leading a more active lifestyle
  • not smoking
  • controlling high blood pressure and high cholesterol

http://www.healthline.com/health/open-heart-surgery#Overview1

Night_Hawk

9 Things You Should Know About Open Heart Surgery

By Morgan Chilson | Wednesday, 08 Apr 2015 01:08 PM

Open heart surgery is a scary but often necessary procedure, and being as prepared as possible before the surgery occurs can help alleviate some of the anxiety associated with such a major procedure.

According to WebMD, the number of open heart surgeries performed since 2008 has actually decreased as many less invasive procedures have arisen that offer less trauma for the patient than actually cutting open his or her chest.

But if it's necessary to perform a coronary artery bypass graft, commonly referred to as a bypass, or one of several other procedures, the doctor may schedule open heart surgery.

Here are nine things you should know about open heart surgery:

1. The most frequently performed open heart surgery is the coronary artery bypass graft, the CABG (referred to as the "cabbage"), which is a procedure to open blocked arteries in the heart. According to the National Institutes of Health, one study found about 80 percent of patients who had CABG were angina-free five years after surgery. Angina is chest pain related to the heart.

2. While many hospitals don't share data on open heart surgeries, others do and organizations like Consumer Reports carry ratings on the procedures. See if your hospital and/or surgeon is listed there or with the Society of Thoracic Surgeons to learn about the number of procedures performed and any outcome statistics. It may make a difference in your choice of provider.

3. To perform the surgery, a surgeon will make an incision in your breastbone, typically 2 to 5 inches long, separating the muscles to provide access to your heart.

4. You will be hooked up to a heart-lung machine during a bypass procedure. This machine continues to push blood through your body so that your doctor can stop your heart from beating to perform the surgery.

"Once the bypass(es) are complete, your surgeon will close your breastbone with special sternal wires and your incision with special internal and/or external stitches," according to Norton Heart Care. "The surgeon will use electrical shocks to restart your heart, and you will be removed from the heart-lung bypass machine."

5. When you wake up from surgery, you will have several tubes remaining in your body, possibly including one down your throat. The Norton Heart Care says typically, those may include pacing wires and a chest tube to drain fluid, as well as a temporary pacemaker.

6. Ask your doctor how he or she plans to do the graft and where the vein will be taken from. Historically, grafts were repaired with the saphenous vein, taken from the patient's leg. But over time, surgeons determined they could use the vein from the internal chest wall, called the internal thoracic artery or the internal mammary artery, more effectively, according to The Society of Thoracic Surgeons.

The selection of a vein for the graft will make a difference in your recovery if the leg vein is not used, that's one less surgical site to consider. You'll typically have swelling in the leg if the vein is taken from there and may have to wear support hose, according to WebMD.

7. You'll be in the ICU when you waken, or possibly in a special cardiology ICU. You'll be in there one to two days after the surgery and you will stay in the hospital, in a usual situation, three to eight days after the surgery.

8. When you get home, it will usually take 6 to 8 weeks to recover from the surgery, and the doctor and hospital will continue to counsel you on diet, exercise, and its often recommended that you enroll in a cardiac rehab program, according to WebMD.

9. Some people report heightened emotions for up to a year after surgery, including a tendency to cry, reports WebMD. The Cleveland Clinic said it is common for patients to feel depressed after heart surgery, with about 20 percent of CABG patients experiencing major depression.

"In one landmark study, the continued presence of depression after recovery increased the risk of death (mortality) to 17 percent within six months after a heart attack (versus 3 percent mortality in heart attack patients who didn't have depression)," reports The Cleveland Clinic.

Be aware of the possibility and communicate with healthcare providers because early detection can help tremendously. Depression also can significantly slow recovery and healing.

http://www.newsmax.com/FastFeatures/open-heart-surgery/2015/04/08/id/637222/

kaka4u

wo sab choro kia koi or factory baych kar kia wo ek naya heart lay sakta hay tu kia faida ayse haram ke daulat ka jo kam he na aye

behzadji

Allah har kisi ko buray waqt se bachayay aur uss ki tayyari kernay ki taufeeq ataa fermayay...........dunya ke ay musafir, manzil teri qabar hai......kaash hamari aankh band honay se pehlay hi khul jayay....

behzadji

Mera dil Alhamdulillah bilkul theek hay aur main unn billionaires se ziada ameer hoon jin ka dil theek nahi. Ay Allah mujhay Apni nematon ka shukar karney ki taufeeq ataa ferma (Aameen)

Night_Hawk

519.gif

http://www.urdumaza.org/entertainme...gery--which-is-better-angioplasty-was-co.html

Anuj76

Open heart surgery, not happening, its a lie, the fat pig is delaying the verdict of Pakistan, death by hanging for his theft of Pakistan treasury.

Urdu speaking

As a Muslim we should not have any personal issue with any Muslim on his hard time even with Nawaz Sharif.... May Allah ! mercy on his matter and relief him from his pain.

MunchyMike

Nawaja is just wasting time until Panama issue dies down in Pakistan.
Until then he will be chilling out and shopping in London's cool weather.
This heart surgery is just an excuse to get away from the pressure building
up in Pak.

میاں صاحب کے دل کی نال میں وڈا پاوا پھنس گیا ہے جو وہ ثابت نگل گئے تھے

چھوٹے پاوے تو کوئی تکلیف نہی دیتے ، لیکن بھینس کا پاوا بھنس گیا ہے

امریکہ کے ڈنگر ہسپتال میں آپریشن ہو گا ، لندن میں تو اس سائز کا کوئی ڈنگر ہسپتال بھی نہی ہیں اور نہ ہی لندن کے ڈاکٹر اس قابل ہیں کہ میاں صاحب جیسے حرام خور کا علاج کر سکیں