Supremacy run thwarted again..... GSLV-D3 mission fails, says ISRO

Salik

SRIHARIKOTA (ANDHRA PRADESH): India's GSLV-D3 rocket, powered for the first time by an indigenous cryogenic engine, blasted off on time here on Thursday with a GSAT-4 satellite. But there was tension minutes later as the rocket stopped emitting signals.

After the rocket attained a height of 60 km, scientists at the control room here said they'd stopped getting signals.

Two rocket engines failed to ignite, added an ISRO official.

So far only the US, Russia, European Space Agency, China and Japan have developed cryogenic engines. The successful launch of GSLV-D3 would have placed India in the elite league of masters of cryogenics, the science of very low temperatures. The cryogenic engine gives higher thrust than conventional liquid and solid propellants to launch satellites weighing more than 4,000kg in geosynchronous orbit.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/articleshow/5811717.cms?prtpage=1

Salik

They wont stop wasting poor man's money :)

After India's GSLV-D3 failed in its mission earlier on Thursday, ISRO chairman said the space agency will carry out another flight testing of the indigenous cryogenic engine in one year's time.
Radhakrishnan also said that he was not sure whether the main cryogenic engine in today's GSLV flight did ignite.
"The mission objectives are not met fully. There are indications that the cryogenic engine ignited but the vehicle was tumbling and controllability lost," K Radhakrishnan said.
The 49-metre tall three-stage Geo Synchronous Launch Vehicle blasted off at 4.27 pm at the end of a 29-hour countdown but minutes later ISRO said it had stopped receiving data.
"We saw the vehicle tumbling uncontrollably and it developed deviation. Two vernier engines would not have ignited," Radhakrishnan, for whom it was the first mission after taking over as ISRO chief, told mission scientists at the Satish Dhawan Space Centre.
He said details of the flight data would be analysed to find out what went wrong.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/ISRO-plans-another-launch-in-a-year-s-time/H1-Article1-531659.aspx

dil-se-desi

They wont stop wasting poor man's money :)

cryogenic engine is very complex technology, and even USA and japan's same maiden flights were fail.this is not a small achievement that india developed its own.it will be a successful launch within a year . it is a must go for
india's future space AMBITIONS regardless of what other countries.... say or cry or got heartburn

We will do a better job of it in less time aur kissi ko kan o kan khabar bhi naheen ho gee! InshaAllah.

M

Murshad Jee

cryogenic engine is very complex technology, and even USA and japan's same maiden flights were fail.this is not a small achievement that india developed its own.it will be a successful launch within a year . it is a must go for
india's future space AMBITIONS regardless of what other countries.... say or cry or got heartburn

You are a shameless person..............................you's don't even know how to fly a jet and thinking about space..............your poor air force going to use a PAKISTANI JET for training. My sincere advice is don't feel shame to ask PAKISTAN AIR FORCE to send some junior pilots to train your (Hole force).............

Just Check This...........http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?34321-A-Pakistani-Trainer-Jet-For-The-Indian-Air-Force.......

You are a shameless person..............................you's don't even know how to fly a jet and thinking about space..............your poor air force going to use a PAKISTANI JET for training. My sincere advice is don't feel shame to ask PAKISTAN AIR FORCE to send some junior pilots to train your (Hole force).............

Just Check This...........http://www.siasat.pk/forum/showthread.php?34321-A-Pakistani-Trainer-Jet-For-The-Indian-Air-Force.......
going to use???? may be you need to read the article again. Good luck.

dil-se-desi

We will do a better job of it in less time aur kissi ko kan o kan khabar bhi naheen ho gee! InshaAllah.

everybody who have done something at its own know that failures are part of success.If you hide
anything ,you can't build your trust.
India is exploiting world's space (multi billion satellite launching)
market (isro have already launched successfully many European satellite in space) and making
its program transparent india want to give signal to the world about his tried and tested, indigenous developed technology.