Top professor fired for speaking up

moazzamniaz

Umar Cheema
Monday, April 04, 2011

ISLAMABAD: After the infamous thrashing incident in an army-run university a year ago, a professor of the Pakistan Navy-run Bahria University has not only been roughed up but also terminated from service.

His guilt: Asking questions about the regimental-style running of the university which has the Naval Chief as its pro-chancellor and a retired admiral as rector. When the professor signed a receipt on the register confirming his termination, sent through a peon, he wrote the famous verse of Habib Jalib: “Main nahi manta...”

The brutality and humiliation of Professor Qamar Riaz Mahmitkhel, who teaches ‘leadership’, sent the already weary students of the university into fury and a protest demonstration is planned on Monday noon outside the Naval Headquarters at Shaheen Chowk, situated at Margalla Road.

An immediate reaction of the Bahria University administration to the sacking of the professor was not immediately available, but the protest demonstration of the students on Monday will show how the officials react.

The incident occurred on March 31 in the packed auditorium of the university where chairman of Higher Education Commission (HEC) Dr Javed Leghari delivered a talk followed by a Q&A session.

As Professor Qamar asked what the real purpose of the university and that whether the innovation and creativity could flourish in a regimental environment, it was the breaking point that landed him in trouble. The students had greeted the question with round of applause, said a participant.

The question was addressed to the HEC chairman, but the Rector, Vice Admiral (R) Muhammad Haroon, stood up to answer. Professor Qamar went on blasting the university’s administration for reducing the campus to a garrison.

A commando action followed this rumpus when the director campus of the university, a retired commodore Muhammad Ali, led his team and surrounded the blunt professor, forcing him out, roughing up on resistance, the victim told The News. He was thrown into his office, declaring it a kind of sub-jail as three staffers, presumably intelligence persons, were posted as guards outside to scrutinize visitors of the professors, Prof Qamar said.

The next day, April 1, Professor came to the university with his hands-cuffed and his mouth gagged. He made a round of the campus especially the auditorium where he was roughed up. The purpose of the exercise was to protest the frustrating environment where nobody is allowed to speak freely, including the academicians, he said.

He was delivered a termination letter in the next couple of hours after the protest and through a peon instead of routing it through the head of the department. As he was asked to receive the letter, he instead wrote the famous verse “main nahi manta....” of Habib Jalib.

The professor said he had been receiving threatening calls urging him observe silence instead of speaking out against the university’s administration. But he is determined to attend the protest being organised by the student community today (Monday) in front of the Naval Headquarters at Shaheen Chowk.

This incident is a second of its nature in armed forces-run universities and within Islamabad as previously a civilian professor, Tahir Malik of NUML was thrashed by a brigadier-registrar of the university. The students had then went on strike for a week, finally forcing the NUML administration to remove the brigadier.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=39820&Cat=2&dt=4/4/2011

mush_dewana

Umar Cheema
Monday, April 04, 2011

ISLAMABAD: After the infamous thrashing incident in an army-run university a year ago, a professor of the Pakistan Navy-run Bahria University has not only been roughed up but also terminated from service.

His guilt: Asking questions about the regimental-style running of the university which has the Naval Chief as its pro-chancellor and a retired admiral as rector. When the professor signed a receipt on the register confirming his termination, sent through a peon, he wrote the famous verse of Habib Jalib: “Main nahi manta...”

The brutality and humiliation of Professor Qamar Riaz Mahmitkhel, who teaches ‘leadership’, sent the already weary students of the university into fury and a protest demonstration is planned on Monday noon outside the Naval Headquarters at Shaheen Chowk, situated at Margalla Road.

An immediate reaction of the Bahria University administration to the sacking of the professor was not immediately available, but the protest demonstration of the students on Monday will show how the officials react.

The incident occurred on March 31 in the packed auditorium of the university where chairman of Higher Education Commission (HEC) Dr Javed Leghari delivered a talk followed by a Q&A session.

As Professor Qamar asked what the real purpose of the university and that whether the innovation and creativity could flourish in a regimental environment, it was the breaking point that landed him in trouble. The students had greeted the question with round of applause, said a participant.

The question was addressed to the HEC chairman, but the Rector, Vice Admiral (R) Muhammad Haroon, stood up to answer. Professor Qamar went on blasting the university’s administration for reducing the campus to a garrison.

A commando action followed this rumpus when the director campus of the university, a retired commodore Muhammad Ali, led his team and surrounded the blunt professor, forcing him out, roughing up on resistance, the victim told The News. He was thrown into his office, declaring it a kind of sub-jail as three staffers, presumably intelligence persons, were posted as guards outside to scrutinize visitors of the professors, Prof Qamar said.

The next day, April 1, Professor came to the university with his hands-cuffed and his mouth gagged. He made a round of the campus especially the auditorium where he was roughed up. The purpose of the exercise was to protest the frustrating environment where nobody is allowed to speak freely, including the academicians, he said.

He was delivered a termination letter in the next couple of hours after the protest and through a peon instead of routing it through the head of the department. As he was asked to receive the letter, he instead wrote the famous verse “main nahi manta....” of Habib Jalib.

The professor said he had been receiving threatening calls urging him observe silence instead of speaking out against the university’s administration. But he is determined to attend the protest being organised by the student community today (Monday) in front of the Naval Headquarters at Shaheen Chowk.

This incident is a second of its nature in armed forces-run universities and within Islamabad as previously a civilian professor, Tahir Malik of NUML was thrashed by a brigadier-registrar of the university. The students had then went on strike for a week, finally forcing the NUML administration to remove the brigadier.

These army officers think, Pakistan is their Jageer.
Indeed this is army who destroyed this country more than anyone

canadian

What a pity !! This is what happens when Admirals and Commodores are at the helm.
Education in that Country is actually class based.There are Institutions like LUMS,if you
can afford to pay.Alternate is Govt Colleges and schools which are in shambles.

i guess that soon these beaten up professors will become "missing persons"and after some blast in future there cut off head will be "found" from scene and it will be "discovered " that they were "taliban and they did the blast!!!
end of story

i myself am witness to a major beating up a respected civilian educated car driver with his stick,on a busy road ,after that civilian dared to overtake the majors car, who was trying to impress his gf.
but such slave mentality nation like ours deserves that.
let any army general even raise a finger in afghanistan,even on a child,,,they break the hand which is raised against them,they dont tolerate slavery like we pakistanis do...they are born free and they die free,impressive.
no wonder allah is giving afghans such an honour now...of defeating worlds second super power in 20 years time.soviet union than and united states of zionism now.mashalah

Assalam-o-alaikum
This is harsh truth. All these retired armed force men think they are ABOVE THE LAW. I have seen many examples. Some in Armed Forces Medical Hospitals, some in person using their ranks for many benefits. Cant disclose much.
Again all are not same, but some leave bad names for whole lot.
May ALLAH give them hidayat & keep that professor safe..
Now what is happening to HEC is another sad story. I have not taken any benefit from it (Master, scholarship, PHD etc), but as an ENGINEER i am saddened from this news..
Who needs enemies, when we are doing all this to our country.
Shame..

rajakhanmd

Bahria University.

Foundation University. ( Fauji Foundation med college).

Defense Housing Authority.

Askari Cement.

Askari Bank.

Askari Insurance.

Pakistan Army, Zindabaaad.!!!!

(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)

moazzamniaz

1101210132-1.gif

Ab Army kay sapoot ain gay aur kahain gay 'there are bad fish everywhere, that doesnt mean we should malign the whole army'.

To them I say f*** you.

The whole country has been screwed over under the ever watchful eye of the Army. They have lost the initiative in Kashmir and have made a mess of our western border by supporting and abetting terrorists. The have screwed up Baluchistan by trying to silence there just struggle for rights. This is a minor example of the mentality of this rowdy ill begotten bunch of a$$holes who are in power in our country. I think our Army represents the same 'taghoot' that Hosni Mobarak, King Abdullah, Bashar AL Assad, Moammar Gadhaffi, President Saleh and other gulf despots of similar ilk represent.
This is the institutional monarchy that we have to rid ourselves off. These bloody ******** suck the blood out of us by taking a large chunk of the natioanl income and then they have the audacity to rough up the hands that feed them and call us 'bloody civilians'.

These Bh*nch*d army walahs should be rounded up and burnt at the stake!
Bloody ******** dont now how to respect a teacher. SOBs.

moazzamniaz

مجھے اس پروفیسر کو نوکری سے نکالنے کی تو سمجھ آتی ہے کہ اس نے ریٹائرڈ ملٹری افسران کی طرف سے تعلیمی اداروں کو آرمی سٹائل میں چلانے پر تنقید کی گستاخی اور گناہ کبیرہ کیا تھا. لیکن اسکی 'سر عام پھینٹی' کی سمجھ نہیں آئ. یعنی کہ اس 'تکلف' کی کیا ضرورت تھی

These army officers think, Pakistan is their Jageer.
Indeed this is army who destroyed this country more than anyone

Bholay mian the name of the univercity is BEHRIA univercity and if you or the professor does not like about this univercity you are welcome to try your luck elsewhere somewhere where it is your Jaagir.

Thakee soch kay logoon ko aur koi kaam naheen. Why don't you ask your democratic leaders to make some scholls and univercites for the nation instead of spending it on their trips and leisure.
These univercities are made by the Armed forces primarily for their own use. I any one gets a chance to study there instead of being thankful for the availability of the facility they start to hurl allegations and woh bhi suny sunayey which accordingly is as good as lying.

Ab Army kay sapoot ain gay aur kahain gay 'there are bad fish everywhere, that doesnt mean we should malign the whole army'.

To them I say f*** you.

The whole country has been screwed over under the ever watchful eye of the Army. They have lost the initiative in Kashmir and have made a mess of our western border by supporting and abetting terrorists. The have screwed up Baluchistan by trying to silence there just struggle for rights. This is a minor example of the mentality of this rowdy ill begotten bunch of a$$holes who are in power in our country. I think our Army represents the same 'taghoot' that Hosni Mobarak, King Abdullah, Bashar AL Assad, Moammar Gadhaffi, President Saleh and other gulf despots of similar ilk represent.
This is the institutional monarchy that we have to rid ourselves off. These bloody ******** suck the blood out of us by taking a large chunk of the natioanl income and then they have the audacity to rough up the hands that feed them and call us 'bloody civilians'.

These Bh*nch*d army walahs should be rounded up and burnt at the stake!
Bloody ******** dont now how to respect a teacher. SOBs.

MashaAllah aap nay jo izzat key hai it shows how much you respect the teachers.Likewise.

Why don't you chill in your lounge and curse at the rest of the people,4ever.

moazzamniaz

Bholay mian the name of the univercity is BEHRIA univercity and if you or the professor does not like about this univercity you are welcome to try your luck elsewhere somewhere where it is your Jaagir.
جہاں تک مجھے یاد ہے تو اس ملک کا نام "عوامی جمہوریہ پاکستان" ہے، یعنی کہ یہ اس عوام کا ملک ہے . زیادہ بہتر نہیں کہ آپ اپنی اس محبوب فوج کو لیکر کسی ایسے ملک میں چلے جائیں کہ جسکا نام "فوجستان" ہو ؟؟؟ پھر وہاں قانون کو جس طرح مرضی پامال کریں، سرکاری سانڈ کی طرح دندناتے پھریں، پاکستانی عوام کو کوئی اعتراض نہیں ہو گا. اس وقت پاکستان میں چاہے کوئی بھی یونیورسٹی ہو، اس پر پاکستانی قانون لاگو ہوتا ہے. فوجستان میں البتہ آپ پروفیسروں کی پھینٹی کو بھی قانون کا حصہ بنا سکتی ہیں

Bahria University.

Foundation University. ( Fauji Foundation med college).

Defense Housing Authority.

Askari Cement.

Askari Bank.

Askari Insurance.

Pakistan Army, Zindabaaad.!!!!

(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)(quite)

Shah Mahmood Qureishi fired for speaking up.

Army has a decipline and the teachers and students sign a contract for the code of conduct and that is why they have to go otherwise they would be going to the court. If you know what you are signing for and then try to go against that it is breach of contract,but i suppose you will not understand what it means, after all we are all trained by the politicians to flip flop as we wish and that is considered Clever! But is it honorable?

moazzamniaz

Thakee soch kay logoon ko aur koi kaam naheen. Why don't you ask your democratic leaders to make some scholls and univercites for the nation instead of spending it on their trips and leisure.
These univercities are made by the Armed forces primarily for their own use. I any one gets a chance to study there instead of being thankful for the availability of the facility they start to hurl allegations and woh bhi suny sunayey which accordingly is as good as lying.
اس ڈرامے کو مہربانی کر کے اب بند کر دیں. یہ تمام سیاسی لیڈرز بھی فوج کے چیلے چانٹے ہیں اور اسکی دی ہوئی بھیک پر گزارا کرتے ہیں. جہاں بھی کوئی اپنی حد سے تجاوز کرتا ہے اس کو فورا سبق سکھا دیا جاتا ہے. دن میں دس بار میں ان جرنیلوں اور انکے چیلے سیاستدانوں کو ایک دوسرے کی گردن بچاتے دیکھتا ہوں. اور شکریہ کس لیے؟؟؟؟؟؟ کیا عوام اسی فوج کو آٹھ سو ارب سالانہ بھیک اور غنڈہ ٹیکس نہیں دیتی؟؟؟؟

Assalamu Alaikum.

MashaAllah aap nay jo izzat key hai it shows how much you respect the teachers.Likewise.

Why don't you chill in your lounge and curse at the rest of the people,4ever.

Why dont you let me chill where ever the hell I want? If you have a problem maybe you can send the Army to silence me as well since I live in the jageer they control.

What the hell is an Army general doing as a VC of UET Lahore then?

If the university is primarily for the use of Armed forces then why do they take thousand s of rupees from 'bloody civilians' to give them the 'facility'?
We pay the damn taxes with which they build all this and we do not have the right to study there?

How the hell do you come up with such BS?
If they dont like the civilian teachers then why do they hire them? Why dont they put some SOB Captain sb. incharge of teaching the students since the Army can handle everything?

You blame politicians for ruining the country although the country has been run half the time by the Army DIRECTLY. How about the other 50% of the responsibility?

I think it would be good to get a little perspective on code of ethics and Modus Operandi for various posts and positions regardless of where they are.
This is not a movie where the heroe can come and disrupt all proceedings and still walk out with the heroin and live happily ever after. This is real life.

I am 100% sure if the same professor is giveb a job in a university in US he will follow all rules and regulations and be all praise for the institution.

Firstly Army atleast gets a contract signed by the employer and the student for code of conduct and other related issues. The person who signs it has to understand the binding that it causes on him/her and has the moral,ethical and legal responsibility to follow it or leave the post if for any reason they find out that the job is not to their liking.

Secondly there is an honorable way of doing things and bringing up matters of concern. If something is serious you do not talk about it like you are trying to make fun of the people who are running the affairs or make the issue seem flimsy.

Thirdly there is, in every institution in this world, a ceratin chain of authority specifically in place, that a person who has a complaint or suggestion, has to follow, especially for the professor who is teaching leadership.

If the teacher desires respect he/she has to show respect for the exisiting system even if they do not agree with it. Remember the teacher came looking for a job and the Behria university did not go to his house to ask him to join them!
I say disagree with anything but do it honorably so you create a good legacy, not like the one we are witnessing on this post where people are just using this to vent their anger, without thinking.