Basant was celebrated in the memory of GUSTAKH-E-RASOOL says Orya Maqbool Jan

bhaibarood

No one has objection to the kite flying festival.The objection is for word basant or basanti. basanti colour and Zafrani (colour from saffron) colour are religious colours of Hindus. So just to avoid coincidence; please, give your own name to kite flying festival and enjoye it. No one will object.
Ab rang bhi muslamaan aur hindu hogaye? Lol
Kala shia ka rang hogaya aur hara jannat ke totoon ka.
Christians aur atheists ka kia rang hai ?

disgusted

No one has objection to the kite flying festival.The objection is for word basant or basanti. basanti colour and Zafrani (colour from saffron) colour are religious colours of Hindus. So just to avoid coincidence; please, give your own name to kite flying festival and enjoye it. No one will object.
All the months,pertaining to agriculture are named by Hindus eg. phagun,chaitar, Vaisakh, Jaith Haaar. Is this also against Islam or is a conspiracy against Islam? Islam is a very broad minded religion but unfortunately the first sin that we Muslims did was to create a class which does not exist in Islam. The class of thekedars of Islam. This class does no productive work. They do not know from where their clothes and food is coming. The first answer we require from them what is Halal? Have they done any physical work and sweated to earn wages. What kind of labour did they perform to get a overflowing plate of 'halwa.

bahir-sayin

All the months,pertaining to agriculture are named by Hindus eg. phagun,chaitar, Vaisakh, Jaith Haaar. Is this also against Islam or is a conspiracy against Islam? Islam is a very broad minded religion but unfortunately the first sin that we Muslims did was to create a class which does not exist in Islam. The class of thekedars of Islam. This class does no productive work. They do not know from where their clothes and food is coming. The first answer we require from them what is Halal? Have they done any physical work and sweated to earn wages. What kind of labour did they perform to get a overflowing plate of 'halwa.
you have reservations against some people with beard. Mind you those are not scholars, they have no diploma/sanad/degree. They are banarsi thugs. So do not resemble them with scholars. Give argument and I will like to argue. We must not speak on the basis of assumptions.

Steyn

I always knew that Basant is a Hindu Festival and always had a question mark on its celebration in Pakistan.
But I have NEVER heard that it is celebrated in the name of a person who was a Hindu blasphemer or Gustakh-e-Rasul. Blasphemy is an extremely sensitive issue. What if someone shoots our CM or Fayaaz Chohan because they are allowing a celebration in the name of a Hindu blasphemer then Orya Maqbool Jan will be in all sort of trouble.

I didn't know either and i don't know how much truth there is to it. But i don't see a point to basant for several reasons.

First off, its so dangerous. So many kids have lost their lives to it. I remember there would be a news about it on TV when i was a teenager, those have completely stopped.

I don't know why there has to be a festival? Kite flying is an everyday occurrence. I see it in Peshawar, in my hometown. Unless i am not understanding something? Are kites banned in Lahore or something?

Telling people to do it on a large scale is the issue. It's messy and it's dangerous. The government obviously wouldn't and cannot protect every single life. Which will be lost because kids are kids.

What Orya Maqbool Jan is saying is it's even a Hindu festival and celebrated for all the wrong reasons. If he had said the reasons i stated above, these people wouldn't have an issue with it and opposed it as well but because he mentioned Islamic reasons, they have to attack him right? Cause God forbid, Islam is the main focus in Islamic Republic.

Orya isn't calling anyone to violence, he's damn well free to voice his opinion and the truth. If some lunatic kills fayaz chohan which i doubt is going to happen, then it's that lunatics problem, no blame on Orya. Is this country that sensitive and fragile that you can't speak the truth anymore?

Also i am now curious. Are we this empty as a nation that we don't have our own culture, our own religion, our own pride to celebrate? That we have to borrow Hindus festivals? Didn't we separated from Hindus, if we so love them why did we separate? The people in this thread can't stop attacking India in other threads but look at them defending Basant.

We're supposed to be different from non Muslims, our attire is different. But slowly, that is changing. It's like Muslims are ashamed of being Muslims. I don't understand the need for celebrations anyway, we're so pathetic as a country that we need to cry and mourn more. Just yesterday i was watching on TV a woman and some kid in Pakistan begging for some clean water, idk what show it was. The privileged are so bored that they need festivals now to feel some purpose, pretty soon we will be celebrating Thanksgiving and Halloween (oh wait, some Pakis do that already) and Christmas. Then Hanukkah because why not? We're not "extremists" we have to celebrate every other religion.

Then we wonder why we're such a destroyed nation. America will never celebrate anything that isn't their country's pride and joy.

Cyber_Security

I didn't know either and i don't know how much truth there is to it. But i don't see a point to basant for several reasons.

First off, its so dangerous. So many kids have lost their lives to it. I remember there would be a news about it on TV when i was a teenager, those have completely stopped.

I don't know why there has to be a festival? Kite flying is an everyday occurrence. I see it in Peshawar, in my hometown. Unless i am not understanding something? Are kites banned in Lahore or something?

Telling people to do it on a large scale is the issue. It's messy and it's dangerous. The government obviously wouldn't and cannot protect every single life. Which will be lost because kids are kids.

What Orya Maqbool Jan is saying is it's even a Hindu festival and celebrated for all the wrong reasons. If he had said the reasons i stated above, these people wouldn't have an issue with it and opposed it as well but because he mentioned Islamic reasons, they have to attack him right? Cause God forbid, Islam is the main focus in Islamic Republic.

Orya isn't calling anyone to violence, he's damn well free to voice his opinion and the truth. If some lunatic kills fayaz chohan which i doubt is going to happen, then it's that lunatics problem, no blame on Orya. Is this country that sensitive and fragile that you can't speak the truth anymore?

Also i am now curious. Are we this empty as a nation that we don't have our own culture, our own religion, our own pride to celebrate? That we have to borrow Hindus festivals? Didn't we separated from Hindus, if we so love them why did we separate? The people in this thread can't stop attacking India in other threads but look at them defending Basant.

We're supposed to be different from non Muslims, our attire is different. But slowly, that is changing. It's like Muslims are ashamed of being Muslims. I don't understand the need for celebrations anyway, we're so pathetic as a country that we need to cry and mourn more. Just yesterday i was watching on TV a woman and some kid in Pakistan begging for some clean water, idk what show it was. The privileged are so bored that they need festivals now to feel some purpose, pretty soon we will be celebrating Thanksgiving and Halloween (oh wait, some Pakis do that already) and Christmas. Then Hanukkah because why not? We're not "extremists" we have to celebrate every other religion.

Then we wonder why we're such a destroyed nation. America will never celebrate anything that isn't their country's pride and joy.

I agree with you. I never understood this celebration where that many lives are lost and it is a Hindu festival.
By the way If I were Fayaz Choohan and if because of my decision Basant were to be celebrated and only one person would have died due to the nasty festivities then , I wouldn't be able to forgive myself rest of my life. I would never able to sleep well because my decision led to one person's death. Do you think Fayaz Chohan would have thought about it ? The way he was so jubilant , it looks as though he didn't care.

AK47

Bhai, If you are in Pakistan, Please be safe and take care of yourself.

Mr Mohan i will always raise voice against extremism whether it is in Pakistan or in India. I do not believe living in fear especially fear from extremists rats who themselves are cowards and put their guns on others shoulders.
Religious extremists are the filth of any society,they hate and kill people on the basis of their extreme religious views and ignore the fact that religions are suppose to spread love not hatred.

Mohan

Sadly both countries fare badly in case of Female Safety on International Forums.
Pakistan ranks 3rd in world’s most dangerous countries for women due to a barrage of threats ranging from violence and rape to dismal health care and “honor killings”
Questions is what are we doing to resolve the issue? Indian is accepting the fact and working towards to fix it. What is Pakistan doing ? IDK