Europes bishops blast Saudi grand mufti for fatwa calling for destroying all churches in Arabian pen

M Ali Khan

[h=1]Europes bishops blast Saudi grand mufti[/h] By BENJAMIN WEINTHAL, JPOST CORRESPONDENT
03/24/2012 23:10
http://www.jpost.com/middleeast/article.aspx?id=263235

[h=2]Grand mufti issued a religious fatwa saying it is necessary to destroy all the churches in the Arabian Peninsula.[/h]
ShowImage.ashx

Photo: Reuters
BERLIN Abdulaziz ibn Abdullah Al al-Sheikh, the grand mufti of the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, issued a religious fatwa in March, saying it is necessary to destroy all the churches in the Arabian Peninsula. His declaration unleashed sharp criticism from Christian bishops in Germany, Austria and Russia on Friday.

The Roman Catholic bishops in Germany and Austria slammed the sheikhs ruling as an unacceptable denial of human rights to millions of foreign workers in the Gulf region.

Of the roughly 3.5 million Christians that live in the Gulf Arab region, many are Catholic workers from India and the Philippines.

Archbishop Mark of Yegoryevsk, head of the Russian Orthodox department for churches abroad, called the fatwa alarming in a statement on Tuesday. Such blunt criticism from mainstream Christian leaders of their Muslim counterparts is very rare.

The March fatwa came in response to a Kuwaiti lawmaker who asked if Kuwait could ban church construction in the Arab state. According to Arab-language media reports, the sheikh ruled that further church building should be banned and existing Christian houses of worship should be destroyed.

Its astonishing, horrible and amazing that the most important Muslim cleric in the land that gave birth to Islam can call for the destruction of churches without this genocidal fatwa attracting any international condemnation or protest, wrote Giulio Meotti, an Italian journalist with Il Foglio and expert on Christians in the Middle East, in an email to The Jerusalem Post. Where is the White House? Where is Lady Ashton? Where is the Vatican? Where are the UNs agencies? he asked.

Meotti, who is working on a book about the Vatican and Israel, said the fatwa will have consequences for Christians in the region, and the West should respond with a counter antigenocidal campaign based on the UNs Convention on the Prevention and Punishment of the Crime of Genocide, ratified on January 12, 1951.

This fatwa is like Irans Ahmadinejad calling for the destruction of the State of Israel. Both, the Jews and Christians, today are targeted for a new impending genocide.

Archbishop Robert Zollitsch, chairman of the German Bishops Conference, said the mufti shows no respect for the religious freedom and free coexistence of religions, especially all the foreign laborers who made its economy work. It would be a slap in the face to these people if the few churches available to them were to be taken away, he said.

Saudi Arabia bans all non- Muslim houses of prayer, forcing Christians there to risk arrest by praying in private homes.

There are churches for Christian minorities in the United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain, Oman and Yemen.

The bishops conference in Austria, where Saudi King Abdullah plans to open a controversial center for interfaith dialogue, demanded an official explanation from Riyadh.

How could the grand mufti issue a fatwa of such importance behind the back of his king? they asked. We see a contradiction between the dialogue being practiced, the efforts of the king and those of his top mufti.

Bishop Paul Hinder, who oversees Catholic churches in the United Arab Emirates, Oman and Yeman, told Catholic news agency KNA that the fatwa had not been widely publicized in Saudi Arabia.

What is worrying is that such statements have influence in part of the population, he said.

Reuters contributed to this report.

M Ali Khan

then I guess we shouldn't complain of the Swiss referendum banning construction of minarets if our "azeem ulema" tend to show the same - if not worse - attitude towards minorities in their own lands.

Treat others the way you want them to treat you!

If you want the same rights and privileges of the world, then prepare to give the same in return.

bhaibarood

grand mufti in saudi rulers ko marney ka fatwa nahi detaa!! yeh bhi mualana diesel ki tarah hain (bigsmile)

M Ali Khan

abey grand mufti in saudi kameenay rulers ko marney ka fatwa nahi detaa!! yeh bhi mualana diesel ki tarah hain (bigsmile)

dunya bhar mein Saudi Arabia k darbari maulvi hum sab ka berra ghark kar rahey hain, aur hum bholay badshah Amreeka, Yahoodi, aur Hindu Zionist ko apna dushman samajhtey hain.(thumbsdown)

Believer12

مفتی سعودیہ کے علم کی قلعی تو سب پر اسکی اس کم علمی کی بات سے کھل جاتی ھے۔جب رسول خدا کو یھود اور نصاری کے مدینہ میں رھنے پر کوی اعتراض نھین تھا تو اس مفتی کو کس نے دین کا یہ علم سکھا دیا جسکا کوئ ایک شوشہ بھی دین سے نھیں ملتا۔ نہ سنت سے اور نہ قرآن سے۔

M Ali Khan

مفتی سعودیہ کے علم کی قلعی تو سب پر اسکی اس کم علمی کی بات سے کھل جاتی ھے۔جب رسول خدا کو یھود اور نصاری کے مدینہ میں رھنے پر کوی اعتراض نھین تھا تو اس مفتی کو کس نے دین کا یہ علم سکھا دیا جسکا کوئ ایک شوشہ بھی دین سے نھیں ملتا۔ نہ سنت سے اور نہ قرآن سے۔

Not in Quran, but certainly from Hadith - depending how one can twist the interpretations etc.

Narrated Said bin Jubair: Ibn 'Abbas said, "Thursday! What (great thing) took place on Thursday!" Then he started weeping till his tears wetted the gravels of the ground . Then he said, "On Thursday the illness of Allah's Apostle was aggravated and he said, "Fetch me writing materials so that I may have something written to you after which you will never go astray." The people (present there) differed in this matter and people should not differ before a prophet. They said, "Allah's Apostle is seriously sick.' The Prophet said, "Let me alone, as the state in which I am now, is better than what you are calling me for." The Prophet on his death-bed, gave three orders saying, "Expel the pagans from the Arabian Peninsula, respect and give gifts to the foreign delegates as you have seen me dealing with them." I forgot the third (order)" (Ya'qub bin Muhammad said, "I asked Al-Mughira bin 'Abdur-Rahman about the Arabian Peninsula and he said, 'It comprises Mecca, Medina, Al-Yama-ma and Yemen." Ya'qub added, "And Al-Arj, the beginning of Tihama.") - Sahih Bukhari, Volume 4, Book 52, Number 288

Yahya related to me from Malik from Ismail ibn Abi Hakim that he heard Umar ibn Abd al-Aziz say, "One of the last things that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said was, 'May Allah fight the jews and the christians. They took the graves of their Prophets as places of prostration . Two deens shall not co-exist in the land of the Arabs.' " - Malik's Muwatta, Book 45, Number 45.5.17

Yahya related to me from Malik from Ibn Shihab that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, said, "Two deens shall not co-exist in the Arabian Peninsula." Malik said that Ibn Shihab said, ''Umar ibn al-Khattab searched for information about that until he was absolutely convinced that the Messenger of Allah, may Allah bless him and grant him peace, had said, 'Two deens shall not co-exist in the Arabian Peninsula,' and he therefore expelled the jews from Khaybar." - Malik's Muwatta, Book 45, Number 45.5.18

Narrated Abdullah ibn Amr ibn al-'As: The Prophet (peace_be_upon_him) said: people of two different religions would not inherit from one another. - Sunan Abu-Dawud, Book 18, Number 2905

It has been narrated by 'Umar b. al-Khattib that he heard the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) say: I will expel the Jews and Christians from the Arabian Peninsula and will not leave any but Muslim.
- Sahih Muslim, Book 019, Number 4366

Its rather strange how harsh such rulings are given that Christians and Jews had been living in Arabia for many centuries BEFORE Islam and were just as Arab as the rest. But because they did not become Muslims, their forced removal - or if I dare say, genocide - became "legal" after Islam gained ascendancy.

Its also ironic that while many Muslims go to the West today and tend to demand the same rights as non-Muslim natives of Europe - which is perfectly fine and legal as its their right.

But at same time they refuse to reciprocate these demands of the non-Muslim citizens of Muslim countries, especially in the Arabian Peninsula - which is a sign of hypocrisy and bigotry.

I Think Allah has this logic ... in Quran , Allah Pak is protecting these Churches , Senegogs , Mosques by himself .....

Otherwise , every thing must be flattened up to now....

[HI]Surah haj...22: 40
[/HI]
الَّذِينَ أُخْرِجُوا مِن دِيَارِهِم بِغَيْرِ حَقٍّ إِلَّا أَن يَقُولُوا رَبُّنَا اللَّـهُ*ۗ وَلَوْلَا دَفْعُ اللَّـهِ النَّاسَ بَعْضَهُم بِبَعْضٍ لَّهُدِّمَتْ صَوَامِعُ وَبِيَعٌ وَصَلَوَاتٌ وَمَسَاجِدُ يُذْكَرُ فِيهَا اسْمُ اللَّـهِ كَثِيرًا*ۗ وَلَيَنصُرَنَّ اللَّـهُ مَن يَنصُرُهُ*ۗ إِنَّ اللَّـهَ لَقَوِيٌّ عَزِيزٌ ﴿٤٠﴾​

یہ وہ لوگ ہیں کہ اپنے گھروں سے ناحق نکال دیئے گئے (انہوں نے کچھ قصور نہیں کیا) ہاں یہ کہتے ہیں کہ ہمارا پروردگار خدا ہے۔ [HI]اور اگر خدا لوگوں کو ایک دوسرے سے نہ ہٹاتا رہتا تو (راہبوں کے) صومعے اور (عیسائیوں کے) گرجے اور (یہودیوں کے) عبادت خانے اور (مسلمانوں کی) مسجدیں جن میں خدا کا بہت سا ذکر کیا جاتا ہے ویران ہوچکی ہوتیں[/HI]۔ اور جو شخص خدا کی مدد کرتا ہے خدا اس کی ضرور مدد کرتا ہے۔ بےشک خدا توانا اور غالب ہے (40)​

This is Quran and Islam, but Saudi and Talibani religions r different , I dont know about it....

ikki781

It is not allowed to let the non muslims enter hadood e haram (Makkah tul mukarram and Madin tul munawwara). Rest of arabia , i m not sure.

punjabi

سُوۡرَةُ المَائدة
يٰۤـاَيُّهَا الَّذِيۡنَ اٰمَنُوۡا لَا تَتَّخِذُوا الۡيَهُوۡدَ وَالنَّصٰرٰۤى اَوۡلِيَآءَ *ؔۘ بَعۡضُهُمۡ اَوۡلِيَآءُ بَعۡضٍ*ؕ وَمَنۡ يَّتَوَلَّهُمۡ مِّنۡكُمۡ فَاِنَّهٗ مِنۡهُمۡ*ؕ اِنَّ اللّٰهَ لَا يَهۡدِى الۡقَوۡمَ الظّٰلِمِيۡنَ‏ ﴿۵۱﴾
Surah Al-Maeda
O ye who believe! Take not the Jews and the Christians for friends. They are friends one to another. He among you who taketh them for friends is (one) of them. Lo! Allah guideth not wrongdoing folk. (51)

Here u go my friend its not from any Mulla. Its from Quran meaning from Allah. For ur Info Vers # 51 Surah Al-Maeda. Hope this will help to understand lot of my brother here. On the other hand let the Mufti Sahab & Saudi Govt handle it.
سُوۡرَةُ یسٓ
وَمَا عَلَيۡنَاۤ اِلَّا الۡبَلٰغُ الۡمُبِيۡنُ‏ ﴿۱۷﴾ Surah Ya-Seen
And our duty is but plain conveyance (of the message). (17

mehwish_ali

سُوۡرَةُ المَائدة
يٰۤـاَيُّهَا الَّذِيۡنَ اٰمَنُوۡا لَا تَتَّخِذُوا الۡيَهُوۡدَ وَالنَّصٰرٰۤى اَوۡلِيَآءَ *ؔۘ بَعۡضُهُمۡ اَوۡلِيَآءُ بَعۡضٍ*ؕ وَمَنۡ يَّتَوَلَّهُمۡ مِّنۡكُمۡ فَاِنَّهٗ مِنۡهُمۡ*ؕ اِنَّ اللّٰهَ لَا يَهۡدِى الۡقَوۡمَ الظّٰلِمِيۡنَ‏ ﴿۵۱﴾
Surah Al-Maeda
O ye who believe! Take not the Jews and the Christians for friends. They are friends one to another. He among you who taketh them for friends is (one) of them. Lo! Allah guideth not wrongdoing folk. (51)

Here u go my friend its not from any Mulla. Its from Quran meaning from Allah. For ur Info Vers # 51 Surah Al-Maeda. Hope this will help to understand lot of my brother here. On the other hand let the Mufti Sahab & Saudi Govt handle it.
سُوۡرَةُ یسٓ
وَمَا عَلَيۡنَاۤ اِلَّا الۡبَلٰغُ الۡمُبِيۡنُ‏ ﴿۱۷﴾ Surah Ya-Seen
And our duty is but plain conveyance (of the message). (17

This verse is often quoted to show that Islam is intolerant.
Quran is a complete book of guidance and while studying various issues it should be kept in mind that a particular issue may be discussed over several chapters or several verses in the same chapter. A complete understanding can only be achieved by understanding the whole issue as presented over all the verses and chapters and not by looking at only part of the Quran. God specifically warns us against doing just that, upholding part of the Quran while disregarding the rest.

.. Then is it only a part of the Book that ye believe in, and do you reject the rest? but what is the reward for those among you who behave like this but disgrace in this life? - and on the Day of Judgment they shall be consigned to the most grievous penalty. For God is not unmindful of what ye do. (Quran 2:85)

To understand the issue of befriending the Jews, Christians or people of any other faith, we have to study all the concerned verses from the Quran collectively.

Let us look at some other verses about this issue. The following two verses regulate relations with any people, regardless of faith:

As for such [of the unbelievers] as do not fight against you on account of [your] faith, and neither drive you forth from your homelands, God does not forbid you to show them kindness and to behave towards them with full equity: for, verily, God loves those who act equitably. (Quran 60:8)

God only forbids you to turn in friendship towards such as fight against you because of [your] faith, and drive you forth from your homelands, or aid [others] in driving you forth: and as for those [from among you] who turn towards them in friendship; it is they, they who are truly wrongdoers! (Quran 60:9)

From the above verses, we learn that we are only discouraged from befriending those who fight Muslims because of their religion. Now let's go back to the verse immediately after 5:51, to see if it sheds some further light on the issue.

And yet you can not see how those in whose hearts there is disease vie with one another for their good will (the hostile Jews and Christians), saying [to themselves], "We do fear lest a change of fortune bring us disaster." But God may well bring about good fortune [for the believers] or any [other] event of His own devising, whereupon those [waverers] will be smitten with remorse for the thoughts which they had secretly harboured within themselves- (Quran 5:52)

During the time of the Prophet when the Jews and Christians were in open conflict with the Muslims, there were some Muslims who were more concerned about maintaining there alliances with the Jews and Christians at the expense of the Muslim community. The above verse is referring to such situations where Muslims with doubts in their hearts will ally themselves with the enemy.

Chapter 5 Verse 57 of the Quran makes it clear again, who are not to be taken as friends; O you who believe! take not for friends and protectors those who take your religion for a mockery or sport,- whether among those who received the Scripture before you, or among those who reject Faith; but remain conscious of God, if you are (truly) believers. (Quran 5:57)

God teaches us throughout the Quran that there are righteous Jews and Christians. As such there is no prohibition for Muslims to be friends with Jews, Christians or people of any other faith who are of good character.

Quranic verses referring to the righteous Jews and Christians:

Of the people of Moses there is a section who guide and do justice in the light of truth. (Quran 7:159)

And We caused Jesus, the son of Mary, to follow in the footsteps of those (earlier prophets), confirming the truth of whatever there still remained of the Torah; and We sent him the Gospel, wherein there was guidance and light, confirming the truth of whatever there still remained of the Torah, and as a guidance and admonition unto the God-conscious. (Quran 5:46)

Verily, those who have attained to faith [in this divine writ], as well as those who follow the Jewish faith, and the Christians, and the Sabians - all who believe in God and the Last Day and do righteous deeds-shall have their reward with their Sustainer; and no fear need they have, and neither shall they grieve. (Quran 2:62)

Not all of them are alike: Of the People of the Book are a portion that stand (For the right): They rehearse the Signs of God all night long, and they prostrate themselves in adoration. They believe in God and the Last Day; they enjoin what is right, and forbid what is wrong; and they hasten (in emulation) in (all) good works: They are in the ranks of the righteous. (Quran 3:113-114)

And there are, certainly, among the People of the Book, those who believe in God, in the revelation to you, and in the revelation to them, bowing in humility to God. They will not sell the Signs of God for a miserable gain! For them is a reward with their Lord, and God is swift in account. (Quran 3:199)The following verse from the Quran capsulates this issue:
O mankind! We created you from a single (pair) of a male and a female, and made you into nations and tribes, that you may know each other (not that you may despise (each other). Verily the most honored of you in the sight of God is (he who is) the most righteous of you. And God has full knowledge and is well acquainted (with all things). (Quran 49:13)