Protests in Pakistan over US gay rights event - Dawn report

KARACHI: Islamists held rallies in major Pakistani cities Monday to denounce a gay rights event hosted last month by the United States embassy, calling for a holy war against ally Washington.

Around 100 demonstrators in the southern port city of Karachi protested, calling the meeting an assault on Pakistans Islamic culture, while there were similar demonstrations in the capital Islamabad and in Lahore.
We condemn the American conspiracy to encourage bisexualism in our country, said Mohammad Hussain Mehnati, city chief of the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Pakistans largest Islamic party, while leading a rally.
They have destroyed us physically, imposed the so-called war on terrorism on us and now they have unleashed cultural terrorism on us, he said above the din of slogans of Death to America by his party cadres.
This meeting shows cruel America has unleashed a storm of immoral values on our great Islamic values, which well resist at all costs, Mehnati said.
A statement posted on the US Embassy website said its Islamabad office hosted its first lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) Pride Celebration on June 26.
This gathering demonstrated continued US Embassy support for human rights, including LGBT rights, in Pakistan at a time when those rights are increasingly under attack from extremist elements throughout Pakistani society, it said.
In the capital, about 30 youths from Islami Jamiat Tulba (IJT), the student wing of JI, burnt a US flag and shouted we are ready for jihad against the US, referring to holy war.
A banner at the rally read: Americans, we will not allow you to spread your vulgar and ugly civilisation in Pakistan.Through our peaceful rally we want to give message through the media that we will not allow these people (gays) to live here and they should be immediately deported out of Pakistan, said Noorul Bashar, of IJT Islamabad.
In the eastern city of Lahore, some 150 students from IJT and about two dozen activists of pro-Taliban Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam also held anti-US rallies, police and witnesses said.

DAWN NEWS

KARACHI: Islamists held rallies in major Pakistani cities Monday to denounce a gay rights event hosted last month by the United States embassy, calling for a holy war against ally Washington.

Around 100 demonstrators in the southern port city of Karachi protested, calling the meeting an assault on Pakistans Islamic culture, while there were similar demonstrations in the capital Islamabad and in Lahore.
We condemn the American conspiracy to encourage bisexualism in our country, said Mohammad Hussain Mehnati, city chief of the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Pakistans largest Islamic party, while leading a rally.
They have destroyed us physically, imposed the so-called war on terrorism on us and now they have unleashed cultural terrorism on us, he said above the din of slogans of Death to America by his party cadres.
This meeting shows cruel America has unleashed a storm of immoral values on our great Islamic values, which well resist at all costs, Mehnati said.
A statement posted on the US Embassy website said its Islamabad office hosted its first lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) Pride Celebration on June 26.
This gathering demonstrated continued US Embassy support for human rights, including LGBT rights, in Pakistan at a time when those rights are increasingly under attack from extremist elements throughout Pakistani society, it said.
In the capital, about 30 youths from Islami Jamiat Tulba (IJT), the student wing of JI, burnt a US flag and shouted we are ready for jihad against the US, referring to holy war.
A banner at the rally read: Americans, we will not allow you to spread your vulgar and ugly civilisation in Pakistan.Through our peaceful rally we want to give message through the media that we will not allow these people (gays) to live here and they should be immediately deported out of Pakistan, said Noorul Bashar, of IJT Islamabad.
In the eastern city of Lahore, some 150 students from IJT and about two dozen activists of pro-Taliban Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam also held anti-US rallies, police and witnesses said.

It looks like the embassy staff was holding the function with in their compound and members of Pakistani Gay community showed up outside the embassy and everyone is going nuts over it. I don't see how they are spreading anything. Pakistani laws or values do not apply inside the Embassies of countries.

It is a fact that 7 percent of HUMAN population is gay. They are born that way. It was a long held belief that they purposely behave that way.

You have a choice either to accept them and let them be productive members of your society as they are capable or you can mistreat them. I hope they are accepted and treated well by the society but its your country and your choice.

No2liberalExtermists

Its the fools like yourself that are spreading this lie that homosexuality is natural. If that was the case then why Allah s.w.t. punished the people of Lut a.s.? Allah s.w.t. clearly mentions in the holy Quran that living organisms were created in pairs. Those jahils who claim that this is natural should consider that what they are saying goes against Quran and that makes them kafir. I hope that you and people like you get to face the wrath of Allah in this life so that they do not mis guide others and spread perversion.

It is a fact that 7 percent of HUMAN population is gay. They are born that way. It was a long held belief that they purposely behave that way.

You have a choice either to accept them and let them be productive members of your society as they are capable or you can mistreat them. I hope they are accepted and treated well by the society but its your country and your choice.

Then Get lost and mind ur own business....Give rights to the muslims in ur own country first.

problems with Americans is, they only expect others to respect them and geneva convention agreement. A mission must respect the local's stance on religious affairs.

US is notorious in violating rules from UN to Geneva, but all the hell gets loose if someone else does it.

It may sound like an innocent little thing that happened in a diplomatic mission. But now they will attempt topromote homo sexuality in Pakistan and why else they would hold a gathering, nothing better to do like planning where to kill more people?

This event may be just a 'testing the water' and how much protest do they get, but obviously nothing from the govt

zerozero

dear dhakan Unicorn!

just think for a minute (but it would be too long and strain-full for your narrow mind)
How if your father was a gay and mother was a lesbian!
what hole you would have born?

Drink something healthier then gao mata's liquid so you can think out of box.

Another waste of time............our people have nothing to do except pulling up dead cases, let US support gays, its good for Pakistan if they immgrant all this crap.......Pakistan will be cleaned, what else is required..............

BTW Begum Nawazish ka show to aap loug kaafi shouq sey deikhtey houn gey.........is gay ko kaun show karney ki permission dey raha hai.

Kisi ney koi protest kiya is show key on air janyey per.......ya show ki permission deiney waloun per........big NO

dear dhakan Unicorn!

just think for a minute (but it would be too long and strain-full for your narrow mind)
How if your father was a gay and mother was a lesbian!
what hole you would have born?

Drink something healthier then gao mata's liquid so you can think out of box.

Thats easy if they were gay I wouldn't be here or had either one of died before I was born i wouldn't be here either.

Jack Sparrow

Another waste of time............our people have nothing to do except pulling up dead cases, let US support gays, its good for Pakistan if they immgrant all this crap.......Pakistan will be cleaned, what else is required..............

BTW Begum Nawazish ka show to aap loug kaafi shouq sey deikhtey houn gey.........is gay ko kaun show karney ki permission dey raha hai.

Kisi ney koi protest kiya is show key on air janyey per.......ya show ki permission deiney waloun per........big NO

I second your opinion. Similar case to Nawazish Ali , Aik London based Gay nay poray karachi ko Yarghamal banaya howa hay , koi poochnay wala nahi , koi rooknay wala nahi !!!!!!!

Its the fools like yourself that are spreading this lie that homosexuality is natural. If that was the case then why Allah s.w.t. punished the people of Lut a.s.? Allah s.w.t. clearly mentions in the holy Quran that living organisms were created in pairs. Those jahils who claim that this is natural should consider that what they are saying goes against Quran and that makes them kafir. I hope that you and people like you get to face the wrath of Allah in this life so that they do not mis guide others and spread perversion.

I take it that you are suggesting that gays sit down and debate weather homosexuality is a better way of live or heterosexuality and after careful deliberation reach the conclusion that homosexuality is a better way to go. If that is the case then you are correct.

Thank you. We will treat them as per our religion. Just like you treat untouchables as per your religion.

begum nawazish is a gay?

not a bad idea, US embassy should give all gays immigrations to US.

bons

Advise your govt. to give immigration to all the gays and lesbians and make them productive members of your India. They will fit well in your society.

I do advise govt. and my fellow citizens most importantly i do not discriminate and treat them just like anyone ells.

I leave this matter between God and them. Makes no difference what we all do 7% of all births will turn out to be gays and thats the fact.

There was a very good discussion about this subject on Pak defence forum. The main facts are as under:

1. There are some Natural Disorders. It is a "Disease" of contradicting Hormones.

2. But one part of homosexuals don't have these natural disorders, but they do it only due to their sexual lust.

3. In past, Islamic Societies were unable to differentiate between them and treated both the same.

4. But in present century, half of the religious authorities have started differentiating between these two while other half of the religious authorities still don't differentiate between them.

5. A Pakistani Court indeed made a decision in favor of nature. Here is the report:

LAHORE: For the first time in the countrys history, the Lahore High Court has allowed a 32-yeard-old person to change his gender from male to female through an operation.

************, a resident of Rawalpindi, had filed an application in the LHC through his lawyer Muhammad Shams for change of sex.

In his application, he requested the court to grant him permission for gender change through surgery.

It said the applicant had been suffering from Gender Identity Disorder and his treatment was only possible through surgery.

The lawyer told the court that experts were available for this kind of operation. But they were not ready to perform the surgery due to legal and social complications.

The court asked for reports from Federal Health Secretary and Health Department of Punjab. After listening to the point of views of the officials, the court allowed the applicant to undergo surgery for his gender change.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=105577

6. Iranian Religious Authorities have also started recognizing it as a Disease and allows Operations in this case. After operation, their changed sex is recognized and they are allowed to marry to their opposite gender.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/newsnight/4115535.stm

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2007/sep/26/iran.gender

7. There are other religious authorities too who are now considering the matter as a natural disease and want to cure it as a disease and trying to bring it in fold of Islamic Religion.

in sub ko choro Mehwish

Yeh batao, Urdu ko tilaq dey kar English mein keon likhney lagein? MQM chor di kya?

m3zaidi

The Indian's on this forum are correct that a lot of people are born either gay or lesbian, but my narrow minded illogical Indian friends on this forum do not understand that it is a hormonal and sexual problem or illness that they are born with my friends, and it needs to be fixed, like any other decease or illness.

Now if a person is born with any other decease or illness or problem, the first thing we do is treat it and correct it, in the same way when a person is growing and feels that he or she is behaving unnaturally on sexual matters and the inclination is unnatural than that person needs to get an appointment with a specialist and treat it, which doctors do! Just like we correct any other part of our body external or internal! Therefore the excuse of being born with it is absurd and outrageous and just shows the dumbness of the supporters of gays, lesbians, and transgenders!

And this also proves my Holly Quran correct as well, therefore to be on the right path i would suggest my non muslim friends to read Quran and Insha'Allah with the grace of Allah they will become Muslims and lead the correct life and the true life instead of the life of non believers which is wrong and incorrect!

Scorpion

It looks like the embassy staff was holding the function with in their compound and members of Pakistani Gay community showed up outside the embassy and everyone is going nuts over it. I don't see how they are spreading anything. Pakistani laws or values do not apply inside the Embassies of countries.

Ok than Allows the Americans to burn a Mortee of your Bhagwan inside the embassy in India . . . . .

Scorpion

What a stupid comment . . . . Please read Behavioral Sciences . . . . You stupid man . . . . No one is born a Gay or a lesbian . . . . It is the social environment which makes people behave in such manner . . . .

Scorpion

There was a very good discussion about this subject on Pak defence forum. The main facts are as under:

1. There are some Natural Disorders. It is a "Disease" of contradicting Hormones.

2. But one part of homosexuals don't have these natural disorders, but they do it only due to their sexual lust.

3. In past, Islamic Societies were unable to differentiate between them and treated both the same.

4. But in present century, half of the religious authorities have started differentiating between these two while other half of the religious authorities still don't differentiate between them.

5. A Pakistani Court indeed made a decision in favor of nature. Here is the report:

LAHORE: For the first time in the country’s history, the Lahore High Court has allowed a 32-yeard-old person to change his gender from male to female through an operation.

Sami Salim, a resident of Rawalpindi, had filed an application in the LHC through his lawyer Muhammad Shams for change of sex.

In his application, he requested the court to grant him permission for gender change through surgery.

It said the applicant had been suffering from Gender Identity Disorder and his treatment was only possible through surgery.

The lawyer told the court that experts were available for this kind of operation. But they were not ready to perform the surgery due to legal and social complications.

The court asked for reports from Federal Health Secretary and Health Department of Punjab. After listening to the point of views of the officials, the court allowed the applicant to undergo surgery for his gender change.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/updates.asp?id=105577

6. Iranian Religious Authorities have also started recognizing it as a Disease and allows Operations in this case. After operation, their changed sex is recognized and they are allowed to marry to their opposite gender.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/programmes/newsnight/4115535.stm

http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2007/sep/26/iran.gender

7. There are other religious authorities too who are now considering the matter as a natural disease and want to cure it as a disease and trying to bring it in fold of Islamic Religion.

It is not you who is talking but your stupid Altaf . . . . .