Saudi religious police force a woman out of a travel fair because she wore a colored Abaya

hypocrite

Germans quit Saudi travel fair over woman's clothes
(AFP) 1 day ago

RIYADH A German tour operator pulled out of a Riyadh travel fair in protest at dress restrictions imposed on one of its female representatives, Saudi newspapers reported on Thursday.
Religious police demanded the German visitor change her abaya -- an all-encompassing black cloak worn by women in the ultraconservative Muslim power house -- because it was decorated with red embroidery, Al-Riyadh said.
It was the first time the German, herself a Muslim, visited Saudi Arabia.
Religious police, who escorted her to a taxi so that she would go and get changed, warned her not to speak of the incident but she burst out of the car "in tears," newspapers said.
The German operator protested by withdrawing from the fair.
Saudi's religious police known as "mutawas", or pious men, criss-cross the kingdom's streets to ensure rules are strictly observed and say they shield the nation against vice, dismissing charges of brutality.
The mutawas, whose mandate includes enforcing strict dress codes for women, are part of the Saudi Commission for the Protection of Virtue and Suppression of Vice.

http://www.google.com/hostednews/af...ocId=CNG.41a6ad648b475100f733f7fd2ba1bcbe.7d1

SalmanKhanN

What kinda Islam is in Pakistan, is in London, is in Iran, is in egypt or all the other muslim countries???? brelwi sufi, deobandi, salafii shia or what not..if you think what saudi government did was wrong..bring out proof my friend from Quran and Hadith..everyone will think u are credible..dont just post what u think of Islam..post what is in Quran and Sunnah
Ye Kaun sa Islam hai bhaiyon aur behno?? Aal-e-Saud ka Salafism jo unhon nay ghar mein baith kar banaya hai????

SalmanKhanN

This is a law in saudi, whether u like it or not, as a visitor u are suppose to follow it and abide by the rules..whether they are islamic or not..just like in Pakistan or England..u follow the laws of that country whether it is islamic or not...this law mite seem wrong to you but to their government and there police it seems rite..and it is not our problem we should abide by the rule of a country and not break the law
Ye Kaun sa Islam hai bhaiyon aur behno?? Aal-e-Saud ka Salafism jo unhon nay ghar mein baith kar banaya hai????

SalmanKhanN

Praise be to Allaah.
Verses that have to do with hijab:

1 – Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“And tell the believing women to lower their gaze (from looking at forbidden things), and protect their private parts (from illegal sexual acts) and not to show off their adornment except only that which is apparent (like both eyes for necessity to see the way, or outer palms of hands or one eye or dress like veil, gloves, headcover, apron), and to draw their veils all over Juyoobihinna (i.e. their bodies, faces, necks and bosoms) and not to reveal their adornment except to their husbands, or their fathers, or their husband’s fathers, or their sons, or their husband’s sons, or their brothers or their brother’s sons, or their sister’s sons, or their (Muslim) women (i.e. their sisters in Islam), or the (female) slaves whom their right hands possess, or old male servants who lack vigour, or small children who have no sense of feminine sex. And let them not stamp their feet so as to reveal what they hide of their adornment. And all of you beg Allaah to forgive you all, O believers, that you may be successful”

[al-Noor 24:31]

2 – Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“And as for women past childbearing who do not expect wedlock, it is no sin on them if they discard their (outer) clothing in such a way as not to show their adornment. But to refrain (i.e. not to discard their outer clothing) is better for them. And Allaah is All‑Hearer, All‑Knower”

[al-Noor 24:60]

“Women past childbearing” are those who no longer menstruate, so they can no longer get pregnant or bear children.

We shall see below the words of Hafsah bint Sireen and the way in which she interpreted this verse.

3 – Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

“O Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies (i.e. screen themselves completely except the eyes or one eye to see the way). That will be better, that they should be known (as free respectable women) so as not to be annoyed. And Allaah is Ever Oft‑Forgiving, Most Merciful”

[al-Ahzaab 33:59
Can you prove from Quran that what they did was right?

makdaone

das das gaz lambi in kee zaban hai Sharam nahi atee in ko apney ap ko musliman kehtey jo Nabi SAW kee sunat kay kilaf bakwas kertey hain.
***** hai asey muslamanoun per jo kafroun kee zuban boltey hain chor do Din Islam ko or ion kafoun kee kay sath janwaroun say bee batar rahoo jahan admi admi say shadi kerta hai aurat aurat say shadi kertee hai sharam nam kee chz hi nahi hai bakartoun main itnee sharam tu janwar main bee hotee hai.

SalmanKhanN

This is the proof for the muslims who understand in that way..i am not saying all muslims understand it that way...but in saudi as far as my minimal knowledge they apply it in that sense..and they assume that wearing colorful clothes come under adornments..it is there perception or adornment and i am not saying they are rite or wrong..i am just saying how they apply the Law..Allah knows best whats in there hearts and their understanding or Islam..if ur understanding of Islam is what happens in Pakistan then thats ur understanding..but there understanding is that..i am not saying whatever saudi do is Islamic..or whatever pakistan does is not..but as a brother i will tell u..always go back to Quran and Hadith and try to find out urself before coming to conclusion and saying someone is salaf or what not..we are all muslims and we have the same Quran and same hadith (shahi bukhari and muslim)..so how come someone is salaf brelwi or deobandi..we are all muslims..and what unites us is La illaha Ilalla ho Muhammadur rasool Allah...lets jus stop calling names to each other and prove each other wrong in the light of Quran and Hadith InsHAllah
Can you prove from Quran that what they did was right?

dukelondon

1 Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

And tell the believing women to lower their gaze (from looking at forbidden things), and protect their private parts (from illegal sexual acts) and not to show off their adornment except only that which is apparent (like both eyes for necessity to see the way, or outer palms of hands or one eye or dress like veil, gloves, headcover, apron), and to draw their veils all over Juyoobihinna (i.e. their bodies, faces, necks and bosoms) and not to reveal their adornment except to their husbands, or their fathers, or their husbands fathers, or their sons, or their husbands sons, or their brothers or their brothers sons, or their sisters sons, or their (Muslim) women (i.e. their sisters in Islam), or the (female) slaves whom their right hands possess, or old male servants who lack vigour, or small children who have no sense of feminine sex. And let them not stamp their feet so as to reveal what they hide of their adornment. And all of you beg Allaah to forgive you all, O believers, that you may be successful

[al-Noor 24:31]

2 Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

And as for women past childbearing who do not expect wedlock, it is no sin on them if they discard their (outer) clothing in such a way as not to show their adornment. But to refrain (i.e. not to discard their outer clothing) is better for them. And Allaah is All‑Hearer, All‑Knower

[al-Noor 24:60]

Women past childbearing are those who no longer menstruate, so they can no longer get pregnant or bear children.

We shall see below the words of Hafsah bint Sireen and the way in which she interpreted this verse.

3 Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning):

O Prophet! Tell your wives and your daughters and the women of the believers to draw their cloaks (veils) all over their bodies (i.e. screen themselves completely except the eyes or one eye to see the way). That will be better, that they should be known (as free respectable women) so as not to be annoyed. And Allaah is Ever Oft‑Forgiving, Most Merciful

[al-Ahzaab 33:59

"Religious police demanded the German visitor change her abaya because it was decorated with red embroidery"

How exactly do the Quranic verses you quoted justify the sick action of Aal-e-Saud? I'm sorry but is this E=mc2 that I cant understand it?

SalmanKhanN

This is the proof for the muslims who understand in that way..i am not saying all muslims understand it that way...but in saudi as far as my minimal knowledge they apply it in that sense..and they assume that wearing colorful clothes come under adornments..it is there perception or adornment and i am not saying they are rite or wrong..i am just saying how they apply the Law..Allah knows best whats in there hearts and their understanding or Islam..if ur understanding of Islam is what happens in Pakistan then thats ur understanding..but there understanding is that..i am not saying whatever saudi do is Islamic..or whatever pakistan does is not..but as a brother i will tell u..always go back to Quran and Hadith and try to find out urself before coming to conclusion and saying someone is salaf or what not..we are all muslims and we have the same Quran and same hadith (shahi bukhari and muslim)..so how come someone is salaf brelwi or deobandi..we are all muslims..and what unites us is La illaha Ilalla ho Muhammadur rasool Allah...lets jus stop calling names to each other and prove each other wrong in the light of Quran and Hadith InsHAllah

"Religious police demanded the German visitor change her abaya because it was decorated with red embroidery"

How exactly do the Quranic verses you quoted justify the sick action of Aal-e-Saud? I'm sorry but is this E=mc2 that I cant understand it?

dukelondon

[MENTION=14524]SalmankHan[/MENTION]

Brother, I have got nothing against you but Aal-e-Saud's Islam is not in any way representative of the Islam of Khatimun Nabiyeen and Rehmatullil Alameen Hazrat Muhammad (SAWW). We should be truthful and just in our statements. Everyone knows how they are emotionally blackmailing the Muslim Ummah and supporting Zionists just to keep thier thrones safe. The are the biggest enemies of Islam. They fund extremists who kill Muslims in Pakistan, Iraq and other countries. Lets call a spade a spade.

SalmanKhanN

i never said u have anything against me..but bro i personally hate saudi leaders..and i was reading about Saudi Kings and Saudi Muslim police..they are very different from each other..if u go back in time..when sauds came into power..there was a deal done with islamic scholars to preserve islam between the saudi scholars and the Kings..what the Royal family does is different from what Saudi religious police does..the Kings are hypocrite in my eyes..they support America..there are permanent bases of Americans in Saudi..they are not strong against Israel..but there religious police is different then the royal family..Just like how it is in Pakistan..our leaders are not our representatives..and if u read Saudi history u will come to know..there is a deal that Kings will not interfere in religion and Saudi religious police will not interfere with politics..brother we have to be really careful with all these rights of WOMEN and freedom of SPEECH westerners want to do..we have so much hate for saudii but why?? they have hate for us?? but why?? its because we all, dont go back to Quran and Hadith..that is our biggest fault..If we all go back to Quran and hadith..the difference will be minimal..Saudi religious police is different then Saudi Kings and their regime..and Saudi kings and royal family in the eyes of any muslims are pathetic because Kingship is not allowed in Islam..family power has nothing to do with Islam..that is why they are messed up...
just like in Pakistan..people support the army but not the current political government..why?? just like that it is in Saudi religious police..
[MENTION=14524]SalmankHan[/MENTION]

Brother, I have got nothing against you but Aal-e-Saud's Islam is not in any way representative of the Islam of Khatimun Nabiyeen and Rehmatullil Alameen Hazrat Muhammad (SAWW). We should be truthful and just in our statements. Everyone knows how they are emotionally blackmailing the Muslim Ummah and supporting Zionists just to keep thier thrones safe. The are the biggest enemies of Islam. They fund extremists who kill Muslims in Pakistan, Iraq and other countries. Lets call a spade a spade.

mt_dilber

دوسروں میں خرابیاں اور برائیاں ڈھونڈنے سے پہلے اپنے آپ کو پارسا ثابت کریں
دوسروں پر آپ جو انگلی اٹھا رہے ہیں تو اپنی باقی چار انگلیاں بھی دیکھ لیں کہ وہ کس کی طرف اٹھ رہی ہیں

its ok, you will understand when u will grow up :) , your comments are out of topic. If my own son will do what people are doing in the video i posted i will punish him in way that he wont forget in his life.

cefspan

دوسروں میں خرابیاں اور برائیاں ڈھونڈنے سے پہلے اپنے آپ کو پارسا ثابت کریں
دوسروں پر آپ جو انگلی اٹھا رہے ہیں تو اپنی باقی چار انگلیاں بھی دیکھ لیں کہ وہ کس کی طرف اٹھ رہی ہیں

[MENTION=5463]QaiserMirza[/MENTION] ,

Q : Saudis are blod traitors, they ditched Ottoman Empire for the British........................................

Answer this, Wether u agree with it or not , if no then whats the reason? Is this not the hostorical reality and fact?

No one talked about when a woman was killed in court in front of her husband just bcos she went to the court against a russian who called her a terrorist when she was wearing hijab and everyone was quiet when France enforced hijab in its country...So I think Saudi Arab also has the right to enforce its laws...

P.S. Whether its true Islam or not is another topic.Peace.

Internet

The references should flow out from Quran and Hadith and personal opinions be left alone. Even if personal opinions are to be considered then most of the scholars of the four schools of thought believe that face veil is not obligatory.

There is a good reason why the learned shaikhs don’t quote the Quran: IT DOESN’T SUPPORT THEIR POSITION!

The so-called "revelation" of hijab appears in Surah 24. The following is the Yusef Ali translation of the relevant verses [all emphases in passages from the Quran or ahadith are added by me]:

SAY TO THE BELIEVING MEN THAT THEY SHOULD LOWER THEIR GAZE AND GUARD THEIR MODESTY: that will make for greater purity for them: And Allah is well acquainted with all that they do.

AND SAY TO THE BELIEVING WOMEN THAT THEY SHOULD LOWER THEIR GAZE AND GUARD THEIR MODESTY; THAT THEY SHOULD NOT DISPLAY THEIR BEAUTY AND ORNAMENTS EXCEPT WHAT (MUST ORDINARILY) APPEAR THEREOF; that THEY SHOULD DRAW THEIR VEILS OVER THEIR BOSOMS and not display their beauty except to their husbands, their fathers, their husband's fathers, their sons, their husbands' sons, their brothers or their brothers' sons, or their sisters' sons, or their women, or the slaves whom their right hands possess, or male servants free of physical needs, or small children who have no sense of the shame of sex; and that they should not strike their feet in order to draw attention to their hidden ornaments. And O ye Believers! turn ye all together towards Allah, that ye may attain Bliss.

Here are two other translations of Quran 24:31:

PICKTHAL: And tell the believing women to lower their gaze and be modest, and to display of their adornment only that which is apparent, AND TO DRAW THEIR VEILS OVER THEIR BOSOMS, and not to reveal their adornment save to their own husbands or fathers or husbands' fathers, or their sons or their husbands' sons, or their brothers or their brothers' sons or sisters' sons, or their women, or their slaves, or male attendants who lack vigour, or children who know naught of women's nakedness. And let them not stamp their feet so as to reveal what they hide of their adornment. And turn unto Allah together, O believers, in order that ye may succeed.

SHAKIR: And say to the believing women that they cast down their looks and guard their private parts and do not display their ornaments except what appears thereof, and LET THEM WEAR THEIR HEAD-COVERINGS OVER THEIR BOSOMS, and not display their ornaments except to their husbands or their fathers, or the fathers of their husbands, or their sons, or the sons of their husbands, or their brothers, or their brothers' sons, or their sisters' sons, or their women, or those whom their right hands possess, or the male servants not having need (of women), or the children who have not attained knowledge of what is hidden of women; and let them not strike their feet so that what they hide of their ornaments may be known; and turn to Allah all of you, O believers! so that you may be successful.

Two things are noteworthy about Quran 24:30 and 31.

(1) In Quran 24:30, MEN are directed to "lower their gaze"! If face veils for women were MANDATORY why would this direction even be necessary?

(2) Quran 24:31 only tells women to cover "their BOSOMS." Nothing whatever is said about the the FACE.

While the Quran provides NO SUPPORT for mandatory niqab, the hadith literature is CONTRADICTORY on this subject.

Evidence for the obligation of niqab?

There are only a few references to veiling in the hadith and most of these actually refer to the khimar, which is restricted linguistically to head covering. The covering of the face is only mentioned in a few hadith and never by the command of the Prophet Muhammad.

The main evidence from scholars who believe that niqab is obligatory comes from these verses of the Qur'an.
O Prophet! Tell thy wives and daughters, and the believing women, that they should cast their outer garments over their persons (when abroad): that is most convenient, that they should be known (as such) and not molested. And Allah is Oft- Forgiving, Most Merciful.
Qur'an 33:59
This passage says nothing about covering the FACE - or even the HAIR!

One hadith that is used as evidence for this is:
Narrated 'Aisha (wife of Prophet Muhammad): The Messenger of God, may the peace and blessings of God be upon him, used to offer the Fajr prayer and some believing women covered with their veiling sheets used to attend the Fajr prayer with him and then they would return to their homes unrecognized.
Bukhari
This hadith has been dated some time after verse 33:59 was revealed. Proponents of the niqab say that this hadith shows that the women during the time of the Prophet were not recognisable and hence they must have worn niqab. It is a mere assumption or personal opinion.

However, other scholars have argued that their faces were unrecognisable because it was dark, not because they were covered up. Furthermore she refers to the early-morning prayer and not to any other. It would certainly make it more difficult to see who individuals were if they were dressed in cloaks before sunrise.
In addition, they have argued that the order 'cast their outer garments over their persons' has been misunderstood. They say that the word 'face' has not been indicated in the Arabic, and it would therefore be wrong to extend the meaning.

Other proponents of the niqab use this Qur'anic verse for evidence for the niqab.
...And when ye ask (the Prophet's wives) for anything ye want, ask them from before a screen: that makes for greater purity for your hearts and for theirs.
Qur'an 33:53
The wives of the Prophet were indeed required to wear the niqab by this Qur'anic verse. This is because the special status they had meant they had to be kept clear from all gossip and slander. Scholars say that if the wives of the Prophet, as the best of feminine examples, were required to wear niqab, then the ruling falls on all women.

However, earlier on in the same chapter, the Qur'an also very clearly states that the Prophet's wives were not similar to other women.
O Wives of the Prophet! You are not like any of the other women.
33:32
Most scholars are in agreement that the verse about the screen, or concealing of the face, is only obligatory on the wives of the Prophet. They say the verses are a clear indication that the wives of the Prophet are much more restricted in their movement due to their political position, and that their code of conduct does not constitute a code of conduct for women in general.

A look in the Hadith texts

From here on we can use the Quranic evidence to analyse the Hadith material available to us and judge if face veil is obligatory or not. Let us analyse them one by one.

Volume 8, Book 74, Number 247: (Sahih Bukhari)
Narrated 'Abdullah bin 'Abbas: Al-Fadl bin 'Abbas rode behind the Prophet as his companion rider on the back portion of his she camel on the Day of Nahr (slaughtering of sacrifice, 10th Dhul-Hijja) and Al-Fadl was a handsome man. The Prophet stopped to give the people verdicts. In the meantime, a beautiful woman From the tribe of Khath'am came, asking the verdict of Allah's Apostle. Al-Fadl started looking at her as her beauty attracted him. The Prophet looked behind while Al-Fadl was looking at her; so the Prophet held out his hand backwards and caught the chin of Al-Fadl and turned his face (to the owner sides in order that he should not gaze at her. She said, "O Allah's Apostle! The obligation of Performing Hajj enjoined by Allah on His worshipers, has become due (compulsory) on my father who is an old man and who cannot sit firmly on the riding animal. Will it be sufficient that I perform Hajj on his behalf?" He said, "Yes."

It is evident that the Prophet controlled the boy Al Fadhl's gaze, but didn't mention the fact that the woman was not covering her face. As a rule, anything that Prophet Muhammad stays silent about is tacit approval. This hadith would seem to indicate strongly that niqab is not obligatory.

Let's us look further

Sahih Al-Bukhari Volume 6, Book 60, Hadith # 282
Narrated Safiya bint Shaiba (raa) "Aisha (raa) used to say: "When (the Verse): "They should draw their veils over their necks and bosoms," was revealed, (the ladies) cut their waist sheets at the edges and covered their faces with the cut pieces."

The word FACE does not exist in the arabic version of this hadith. it reads "...cut their waist sheets at the edges and FAKHTAMARNABIHA" this word in arabic is derived from the word khimar, and it simply means "they put them as khimar". A khimar does not cover the face. we can prove this by using the following hadith: Abu Dawood Book 2, Hadith # 0641: Narrated Aisha, Ummul Mu'minin (raa) "Rasulullah (saww) said "Allah does not accept prayer of a woman who has reached puberty unless she wears a veil." the word they translate as "veil" is in arabic khimar. And we all know that we are not allowed to pray with our faces covered; thus the khimar can not possibly cover the face if we are instructed to wear it when we pray.

Let us compare a similar Hadith in Abu Dawud

Abu Dawood Book 32, Hadith # 4091
Narrated Aa'ishah, Ummul Mu'minin (raa) "May Allah have mercy on the early immigrant women. When the verse "That they should draw their veils over their bosoms" was revealed, they tore their thick outer garments and made veils from them.

Again the word face is missing. I also noticed that some sites do not stick only to niqab but also associate it with not driving, not leaving the home, not talking to any non-mahram man, not working, etc. etc. It seems almost like a whole movement, restricting women of many things which Allah has not restricted us from. Just an observation.

Let us explore further because certainly this might not be enough for some male chauvinists

Abu Dawood Book 10, Hadith # 1829
Narrated Aa'ishah, Ummul Mu'minin: (raa) who said, "The riders would pass us while we were with the Messenger of Allaah (saww). When they got close to us, we would draw our outer cloak from our heads over our faces. When they passed by, we would uncover our faces. Recorded by Ahmad, Abu Dawood and Ibn Majah, Narrated 'Aa'ishah.

We already have understood from Quranic evidence that face veil is for the Prophet's (saww) family and not for the rest. Inspite of this we read that the faces were uncovered once the riders passed by. Thus face veil for them was obligatory when being approached by the rest. Allah knows best.

Let us explore further and remember this is the crunch time

Sahl ibn Sa’d (raa) said: “A woman came to the Messenger of Allaah (saww) and said, ‘O Messenger of Allaah, I came to give myself to you in marriage.’ So the Messenger of Allaah (saww) looked at her, he raised his gaze and stared at her, then he lowered his head. When the woman saw that he had not made any decision, she sat down. Then a man from among his Companions stood up and said, ‘O Messenger of Allaah, if you don’t want to marry her, then marry her to me.’ …” (Reported by al-Bukhaari, 7/19; Muslim, 4/143; al-Nisaa’i bi Sharh al-Suyooti, 6/113; al-Bayhaqi, 7/84).

It means marrying without looking at someone is not even Sunnah. Let us explore further if anyone has any doubt left

Abu Hurayrah (raa) said: “I was with the Prophet , and a man came to him and told him that he had married a woman of the Ansaar. The Messenger of Allaah (saww) said, ‘Have you looked at her?’ He said, ‘No.’ He said, ‘Go and look at her, for there is something in the eyes of the Ansaar.’” (Reported by Ahmad, 2/286, 299; Muslim, 4/142; al-Nisaa’i, 2/73).

Jaabir (raa) reported that the Messenger of Allaah (saww) said: “When any one of you proposes marriage to a woman, if he can look at that which will encourage him to go ahead and marry her, let him do so.” (Reported by Abu Dawood and al-Haakim. Its isnaad is hasan, and there is corroborating evidence in the hadeeth of Muhammad ibn Muslimah. It was classed as saheeh by Ibn Hibbaan and al-Haakim. It was also reported by Ahmad and Ibn Maajah, and by Ahmad and al-Bazzaar from the hadeeth of Abu Humayd. Fath al-Baari, 9/181).

Business dealings, medical treatment, Hajj, court witness and in many other day to day affairs a woman has to have an uncovered face. If it was obligatory then she can never go to a court and complain about her being raped without being identified as the right person!

There might still be some gigs who would bring in some Hadith to bail them out of being branded as male chauvinists but I urge them to first read the criteria set by Quran and explained above as the Hadith will fit the criteria. Also please avoid presenting contradictory Hadith as it will only strengthen my conclusion.

Internet

Let us explore some more Hadith with an open mind

Sahih Al-Bukhari Volume 1, Book 4, Hadith # 148
Narrated 'Aisha (raa): The wives of Rasulullah (saww) used to go to Al-Manasi, a vast open place (near Baqia at Medina) to answer the call of nature at night. 'Umar used to say to the Prophet "Let your wives be veiled," but Rasulullah (saww) did not do so. One night Sauda bint Zam'a the wife of the Prophet went out at 'Isha' time and she was a tall lady. 'Umar addressed her and said, "I have recognized you, O Sauda." He said so, as he desired eagerly that the verses of Al-Hijab (the observing of veils by the Muslim women) may be revealed. So Allah revealed the verses of "Al-Hijab".

The "verse of al-hijab" mentioned in this hadith is Surah al-Ahzab ayah 53, which is addressed to Ummahat al-Muminin (raa). The command does not apply to ordinary Muslim women. The claim that this ayah commands "the observing of veils by Muslim women" has been inserted by the translator and does not appear in the Arabic text.

Abu Dawood Book 14, Hadith # 2482
Narrated Thabit ibn Qays (Radhiallaahu anhu): A woman called Umm Khallad came to the Prophet (saww) while she was veiled. She was searching for her son who had been killed (in the battle) Some of the Companions of the Prophet (saww) said to her: You have come here asking for your son while veiling your face? She said: If I am afflicted with the loss of my son, I shall not suffer the loss of my modesty. Rasulullah (saww) said: You will get the reward of two martyrs for your son. She asked: Why is that so, oh Prophet of Allah? He replied: Because the people of the Book have killed him.

This hadith does indeed show Umm Khallad (raa) wearing niqab, but it is interesting that the Sahaba (raa) marveled at her doing so. Would they have been marveling if she just did what was commanded for her? More generally, we can say that this hadith proves that women did wear niqab, but they may have been doing so because it is mustahabb, so there needs to be some other evidence to make it fard.

Abu Dawood Book 32, Hadith # 4090
Narrated Umm Salamah, Ummul Mu'minin (raa): When the verse "That they should cast their outer garments over their persons" was revealed, the women of Ansar came out as if they had crows over their heads by wearing outer garments.

In this hadith the women came out in their new jilbabs. The description "like they had crows on their heads" does not necessarily mean that their faces were covered. All it sounds like is that their heads were covered. This is another opinion (in addition to the ones listed under Surah al-Ahzab ayah 59 above) that the jilbab does not necessarily have to cover the face.

Imaam Malik's MUWATTA Book 20 Hadith # 20.5.16
Yahya related to me from Malik from Hisham ibn Urwa that Fatima bint al-Mundhir (raa) said, "We used to veil our faces when we were in Ihram in the company of Asma bint Abi Bakr As-Siddiq (raa). "This again proves that not only the wives of Rasulullah (saww) wore the Niqaab and that even though in Ihram women are not supposed to wear Niqaab but if men are there they still have to cover the face.

The issue of niqab and ihram is in fact one of the big controversies, and a problem for those who say that niqab is fard. It is very clear that the Prophet (saww) said that a woman in ihram must not wear either a niqab or gloves. Nobody has ever given a convincing explanation of why in the world the Prophet (saww) said this in the first place if it were fard to cover the face. This is especially true because the obligatory duties of the hajj must be done in public, and in general there are very large crowds around. If a woman is supposed to cover her face anyway around non-mahram men, she really has to cover it at all times on the hajj and that is just the same as wearing niqab. Instead, the Prophet (sAas) has clearly commanded that a woman should have an uncovered face in public while in ihram; that's the only thing that makes sense. As for Asma (raa), it appears that she followed the course of Ummahat al-Muminin (raa), which is discussed in the next hadith. That she did so does not prove that doing so is fard, merely that it is halal.

Sahih Al-Bukhari Volume 7, Book 72, Hadith # 715
Rifa'a divorced his wife whereupon 'AbdurRahman bin Az-Zubair Al-Qurazi married her. 'Aisha said that the lady (came), wearing a green veil (and complained to her (Aisha) of her husband and showed her a green spot on her skin caused by beating). It was the habit of ladies to support each other, so when Allah's Apostle came, 'Aisha said, "I have not seen any woman suffering as much as the believing women. Look! Her skin is greener than her clothes!" When 'AbdurRahman heard that his wife had gone to the Prophet, he came with his two sons from another wife. She said, "By Allah! I have done no wrong to him but he is impotent and is as useless to me as this," holding and showing the fringe of her garment, 'Abdur-Rahman said, "By Allah, O Allah's Apostle! She has told a lie! I am very strong and can satisfy her but she is disobedient and wants to go back to Rifa'a." Allah's Apostle said, to her, "If that is your intention, then know that it is unlawful for you to remarry Rifa'a unless Abdur-Rahman has had sexual intercourse with you." Then the Prophet saw two boys with 'Abdur-Rahman and asked (him), "Are these your sons?" On that 'AbdurRahman said, "Yes." The Prophet said, "You claim what you claim (i.e.. that he is impotent)? But by Allah, these boys resemble him as a crow resembles a crow,"

The wife of Rifa'a was wearing a green khimar. This is the same point that has been made above - this hadith merely shows a woman obeying the command in Surah an-Nur ayah 31 to wear a khimar, it does not say anything in itself to indicate that the khimar must cover the face. After having described the wife of Rifa'a as wearing a green khimar, Aisha (raa) says to the Prophet (saww) "Look! Her skin is as green as her clothes". If the woman were wearing "the full veil" how could any of her skin be visible for the Prophet (saww) to look at? In any case, at most her face or her hands could be showing. It seems most likely that it was her face that was green. If this is true, then the khimar definitely does not cover the face.

Abu Dawood Book 2, Hadith # 0641
Narrated Aisha, Ummul Mu'minin (raa) "Rasulullah (saww) said "Allah does not accept the prayer of a woman who has reached puberty unless she wears a veil."

Here women are commanded to wear a khimar for salat, even when alone. Now it gets interesting. The scholars are unanimous that a woman in private salat may uncover her face and her hands. The khimar must in fact be a headscarf and not a niqab. Because if the khimar was a niqab, and the Prophet (saww) has commanded women to wear khimars in salat, then they would of necessity be covering their faces in salat, but they do not do so. And if the khimar is only a headscarf, then we can go back to the hadith mentioned above and say that when Surah an-Nur ayah 31 was revealed the women tore their sheets and made headscarves not niqabs out of the cut pieces. The wife of Rifa'a was wearing a green headscarf, not "the full veil", which makes it clear why her face was visible (see the Hadith above this one).

Sahih Al-Bukhari Volume 9, Book 89, Hadith # 293
Narrated 'Aisha (Radhiallaahu anha) Utba bin Abi Waqqas said to his brother Sa'd bin Abi Waqqas, "The son of the slave girl of Zam'a is from me, so take him into your custody." So in the year of Conquest of Mecca, Sa'd took him and said. (This is) my brother's son whom my brother has asked me to take into my custody." 'Abd bin Zam'a got up before him and said, (He is) my brother and the son of the slave girl of my father, and was born on my father's bed." So they both submitted their case before Rasulullah (saww). Sa'd said, "O Allah's Apostle! This boy is the son of my brother and he entrusted him to me." 'Abd bin Zam'a said, "This boy is my brother and the son of the slave girl of my father, and was born on the bed of my father." Rasulullah (saww) said, "The boy is for you, O 'Abd bin Zam'a!" Then Rasulullah (saww) further said, "The child is for the owner of the bed, and the stone is for the adulterer," Rasulullah (saww) then said to Sauda bint Zam'a, "Veil (screen) yourself before him," when he saw the child's resemblance to 'Utba. The boy did not see her again till he met Allah. note: This hadith proves Rasulullah (saww) did infact order the veil to be observed.

Sawda bint Zam'a (raa) is one of the wives of the Prophet (saww)!!! That the Prophet (saww) commanded her to use the screen only confirms that Ummahat al-Muminin (raa) did so in obedience to Surah al-Ahzab ayah 53. This hadith does not say anything about ordinary Muslim women.

Sahih Al-Bukhari Volume 7, Book 65, Hadith # 375
Narrated Anas (Radhiallaahu anhu) I know (about) the Hijab (the order of veiling of women) more than anybody else. Ubai bin Ka'b used to ask me about it. Allah's Apostle became the bridegroom of Zainab bint Jahsh whom he married at Medina. After the sun had risen high in the sky, the Prophet invited the people to a meal. Rasulullah (saww) remained sitting and some people remained sitting with him after the other guests had left. Then Rasulullah (saww) got up and went away, and I too, followed him till he reached the door of 'Aisha's room. Then he thought that the people must have left the place by then, so he returned and I also returned with him. Behold, the people were still sitting at their places. So he went back again for the second time, and I went along with him too. When we reached the door of 'Aisha's room, he returned and I also returned with him to see that the people had left. Thereupon Rasulullah (saww) hung a curtain between me and him and the Verse regarding the order for (veiling of women) Hijab was revealed.

This is also about Surah al-Ahzab ayah 53. The story is also told in Bukhari Book 60 #315, in which the specific ayah of the Quran Surah al-Ahzab ayah 53 is quoted in the text of the hadith. This ayah applies only to Ummahat al-Muminin (raa). The phrase "veiling order for women" does not appear in the Arabic text.

Abu Dawood Book 32, hadith # 4100
Narrated Umm Salamah, Ummul Mu'minin (Radhiallaahu anha): I was with Rasulullah (saww) while Maymunah was with him. Then Ibn Umm Maktum came. This happened when we were ordered to observe veil. Rasulullah (saww) said: Observe veil from him. We asked: oh Rasulullah! is he not blind? He can neither see us nor recognize us. Rasulullah (saww) said: Are both of you blind? Do you not see him?

This hadith is even more interesting when you look at the full text of it. In this part, the hadith collector Abu Dawud comments that there is also a hadith that Fatima bint Qays (raa) spent her iddat with ibn Umm Maktum (raa). Abu Dawud concludes that Ummahat al-Muminin (raa) must have a different rule than ordinary Muslim women like Fatima (raa). This is certainly true. It is Surah al-Ahzab ayah 53 that is the special rule for Ummahat al-Muminin (raa). I wonder why Abu Dawud's commentary on this hadith has not been quoted!

Allah knows best

Internet

Did the Prophet allow women to display their faces and hands?

Having looked at the hadiths that are presented to claim that niqab is fard, let us now look at some hadiths that point to the opposite conclusion:

Bukhari Book 54 #515
Narrated Sa'd bin Abu Waqqas: Once Umar asked leave to see Allah's Apostle, in whose company there were some Qurayshi women, who were talking to him and asking him for more financial support, raising their voices. When Umar asked permission to enter, the women quickly screened themselves (fa badirna al-hijab). When Allah's Apostle admitted Umar, Allah's Apostle was smiling. Umar said, "O Allah's Apostle! May Allah keep you happy always!". Allah's Apostle said, "I am astonished at these women here with me. As soon as they heard your voice, they quickly screened themselves". Umar said, "O Allah's Apostle! You have more right to be feared by them". Then he addressed (the women) saying, "O enemies of yourselves! Do you fear me and not Allah's Apostle?" They replied, "Yes, for you are a fearful and fierce man as compared to Allah's Apostle". On that Allah's Apostle said (to Umar), "By Him in Whose hands my life is, when satan sees you taking a path, he takes a path other than yours".

Here we see that the women were not wearing niqab when they were in front of the Prophet (saww), since they had to put it on when Umar (raa) entered. How could it be fard then?? Instead, this is like Umm Khallad (raa) or Asma (raa), it merely shows that niqab is mustahabb and sunna. Surah al-Ahzab ayah 59 was revealed in Dhu'l-Qida 5 A.H. and Surah an-Nur ayah 31 in Shawwal 6 A.H., whereas this hadith seems to be taking place after the conquest of Mecca in Ramadan 8 A.H., after which the women of Quraysh (along with the men) all accepted Islam.

Bukhari Book 74 #247
Narrated Abdullah bin Abbas: Al-Fadl bin Abbas rode behind the Prophet as his companion rider on the back portion of his she-camel on the Day of Nahr [on the Farewell Hajj], and Al-Fadl was a handsome man. The Prophet stopped to give people verdicts. In the meantime, a beautiful woman from the tribe of Khath'am came, asking the verdict of Allah's Apostle. Al-Fadl started looking at her as her beauty attracted him. The Prophet looked back while Al-Fadl was looking at her; so the Prophet held out his hand backwards and caught the chin of Al-Fadl and turned his face to the other side in order that he should not gaze at her. She said, "O Allah's Apostle! The obligation of performing hajj enjoined by Allah on His worshipers has become due (compulsory) on my father, who is an old man and who cannot sit firmly on the riding animal. Will it be sufficient that I perform hajj on his behalf?". He said, "Yes".

According to those who hold that niqab is fard, even when a woman is in ihram (as this woman was) she must cover her face when she comes in front of non-mahram men. The woman of Khath'am had her face uncovered, so that the two men could clearly see that she was beautiful (and apparently the narrator ibn Abbas raa could as well). Why did the Prophet (saww) not admonish the woman and tell her to cover her face when she came in front of them? The answer is obvious: it is perfectly halal for a woman to have an uncovered face.

Muslim Book 4 #1926
Jabir ibn Abdullah reported: I observed prayer with the Messenger of Allah on the Eid day. He commenced with prayer before the sermon, without adhan or iqama. He then stood up leaning on Bilal and he commanded (them) to be on guard (against evil for the sake of) Allah and he exhorted (them) on obedience to Him, and he preached to the people and admonished them. He then walked on till he came to the women and preached to them and admonished them and encouraged them to give alms, for most of them are the fuel for Hell. A woman having a dark spot on her cheek stood up and said, "Why is it so, Messenger of Allah?". He said, "For you grumble often and show ingratitude to your spouses". And they began to give alms out of their ornaments such as their earrings and rings, which they threw in the cloak of Bilal.
How did the narrator know that the woman had a dark spot on her cheek unless her face was uncovered?

Abu Dawud
Ibn Abbas said: A beautiful woman, from among the most beautiful of women, used to pray behind the Prophet. Some of the people used to go to pray in the first row to ensure they would not be able to see her. Others would pray in the last row of the men, and they would look from underneath their armpits to see her. Because of this act, in regard to her, Allah revealed, "Verily We know the eager among you to be first, and verily We know the eager among you to be behind" (Surah al-Hijr ayah 24) -- this hadith is found in ibn Majah, Abu Dawud, Tayalisi, Baihaqi, Ahmad, Tirmidhi, and Nasai.

This hadith only makes sense if the woman's face was uncovered. Why did Allah SWT not reveal a command for niqab, if niqab is fard to prevent such situations? Instead, the Prophet (sAas) merely admonished the men, who are commanded to lower their gazes in Surah an-Nur ayah 30 and were not doing so.

Conclusion
From these four hadiths we can clearly see that even as late as Dhu'l-Hijja 10 A.H. (a few months before the death of the Prophet saww) it was halal for women to have uncovered faces. When they came in front of the Prophet (sAas) that way, he allowed it, and he did not command them to wear niqab. If the Prophet understood the Quran to mean that women can display their faces and hands, that is the interpretation we should follow.