What is the Relevance of Being a "Muhajir" Today - Debate

mehwish_ali

Although I totally support new provinces in Pakistan and I agree that there shouldn't be new provinces based on ethnicites but on the other hand MQM's demand of Muhajir sooba cannot be rejected. If you say that Saraiki, Hazara and Muhajir sooba shouldn't be made because it divides Pakistan on ethnic basis then PLEASE CHANGE THE NAME OF EXISTING PROVINCES OF PAKISTAN!!!!!

صوبے کو کوئی نام دے لیں، اصل مسئلہ ہےکہ عوام کے مسائل حل ہوں اور انہیں اندرون سندھ کے وڈیروں سے نجات ملے جو کہ سندھ صوبائی حکومت کے نام پر کراچی کی عوام کی قسمتوں کے مالک بنے بیٹھے ہیں۔

صوبے کا نام بے شک "مہاجر صوبہ" نہ رکھیں، بلکہ اسے جناح صوبہ بنا دیں، مگر کسی طرح عوام کو ان وڈیروں سے نجات دلوائیں۔

muslim01

Bibi aap ne jo baat keri hai woh bilkul haq baja hai. Every single Karachiite wants a new province for themselves because we dont want to be ruled by incompetent uneducated waderas.

It seems to me that there is no option for Karachiites as Sindh Assembly will never pass a resolution for a Karachi province. So what can MQM do for that?

MQM should come up with a transparent policy for new provinces. Altaf Hussains statments about new province will not make Karachi a province. What practicle step MQM will take? Does MQM has any plan to debate for new province in National Assembly?

صوبے کو کوئی نام دے لیں، اصل مسئلہ ہےکہ عوام کے مسائل حل ہوں اور انہیں اندرون سندھ کے وڈیروں سے نجات ملے جو کہ سندھ صوبائی حکومت کے نام پر کراچی کی عوام کی قسمتوں کے مالک بنے بیٹھے ہیں۔

صوبے کا نام بے شک "مہاجر صوبہ" نہ رکھیں، بلکہ اسے جناح صوبہ بنا دیں، مگر کسی طرح عوام کو ان وڈیروں سے نجات دلوائیں۔

Rizwan2009

خامخواہ میں ہی بات کا بتنگڑ بنایا جا رہا ہے۔

یہ لاہوری اور فیصل آبادی کا مسئلہ نہیں ہے۔

آپ لاہور میں پیدا ہوں یا پھر فیصل آباد میں، مگر آپ لاہوری اور فیصل آبادی کے ساتھ ساتھ ایک اور پہچان رکھتے ہیں، اور وہ ہے آپ کے پنجابی کلچر کی۔ چنانچہ آپ اپنے آپ کو چاہے پاکستانی کلچر کے حوالے سے پاکستانی کہیں، یا مذہب کے حوالے سے مسلمان کہیں، یا علاقے کے حوالے سے لاہوری فیصل آبادی کہیں۔۔۔۔ یہ سب ایک طریقے یا دوسرے طریقے سے آپکی پہچان ہیں اور ان میں کوئی مضائقہ نہیں۔

ہم کراچی والے بھی ہیں، پاکستانی بھی ہیں، مسلمان بھی ہیں اور ہمارے کلچر کی ایک پہچان یہ بھی ہے کہ ہمارے بزرگ اس کلچر کو انڈیا سے ہجرت کے وقت اپنے ساتھ لائے تھے، یہ کلچر ہمارے بزرگوں کی موت کے بعد ختم نہیں ہو گیا، بلکہ ہمارے بزرگ اس کلچر کو اگلی نسلوں کو دے گئے ہیں۔

یہ کلچر زندہ ہے، یہ مخصوص ریت و رواج، کھانے وغیرہ زندہ ہیں۔۔۔۔۔ چنانچہ ہرگز کوئی ہرج نہیں ہے کہ اس حوالے سے بھی ہماری پہچان ہو۔

آپ قتل و غارت کو کلچر نہيں کہہ سکتے يہ آپ کے بزرگوں کا کلچر ہرگز نہيں تھا يہ کلچر اردو بولنے والے بھائيوں ميں الطاف حسين فتنہ عظيم نے پروان چڑھايا
ہميں آپ کے کلچر کھانے پينے رسوم و رواج پر کوئى اعتراض نہيں بلکہ آپ کي پسنديدہ جماعت ايم کيو ايم کے قاتلانہ کلچر پر اعتراض ہے جو غنڈہ گردي ايم کيو ايم نے پھيلائي ہوئى ہے وہ قابل مذمت ہےہميں آپ کے لفظ مہاجر پر اعتراض ہے کيا دنيا ميں کوئى قوم کوئى ملک ايسا ہے جہاں لوگ اپنے ساتھ مہاجر کا لفظ لگاتے پھر رہے ہوں اگر آپ بھارت ميں ہوتے تو کيا پھر بھي مہاجر کہلاتے

Rizwan2009

اس بات کي کيا گارنٹي ہے کہ صوبہ بننے کے بعد آپ کے مسائل حل ہوں گے آپ کي حکومت تو گذشتہ پچيس سال سے ہے پھر آپ کے مسائل حل کيوں نہيں کيئے جاتے ہر حکومت ميں ايم کيو ايم موجود رہي ہے پھر کراچي کے لوگ کيوں اذيت ميں زندگي گذارنے پر مجبور ہيں آپ اسمبلي سے استعفي ديں اور پھر تحريک چلائيں اسمبلي اور حکومت ميں بھى بيٹھے رہو گے اور صوبے کي تحريکيں بھى چلاؤ گے واہ بھئي واہ کيا ڈيڑھ ہشياري ہے
آپ کو وہ کون سي چيز چاہئے جو آپ کو نہيں مل نہيں رہي حکومت آپ کے پاس ہے اسمبلي ميں آپ کے ممبران موجود ہيں مياں اگر عوام کي سندھي وڈۖيروں سے جان چھوٹ بھي جائے تو الطاف حسين خود وڈيرہ بن جائے گا تو پھر تم لوگ کيا کرو گے يہاں متحدہ کے ارکان اسمبلي نے کبھي عوام کو دوبارہ پوچھا ہے کہ وہ کس حال ميں ہے جب اسمبليوں ميں ہوتے ہيں کياکبھي اپني تنخواہ و مراعات عوام کے لئے وقف کئے ہيں جو اتنا شور مچا رکھا ہے
اگر الطاف حسين کو عوام کا اتنا ہي درد ہے تو پاکستان کيوں نہيں آتا کيوں لندن کي شہريت اختيار کي ہوئي ہے

Rizwan2009

Bibi aap ne jo baat keri hai woh bilkul haq baja hai. Every single Karachiite wants a new province for themselves because we dont want to be ruled by incompetent uneducated waderas.

It seems to me that there is no option for Karachiites as Sindh Assembly will never pass a resolution for a Karachi province. So what can MQM do for that?

MQM should come up with a transparent policy for new provinces. Altaf Hussains statments about new province will not make Karachi a province. What practicle step MQM will take? Does MQM has any plan to debate for new province in National Assembly?

آپ کي اپني تعليم کيا ہے آپ کے ليڈر تو اپنے جوانوں کو کتابيں بيچ کر اسلحہ خريدنے کا درس ديتے ہيں آپ سندھ کے باسيوں کو ان پڑھ کس طرح قرار ديتے ہيں جبکہ خود آپ کے نوجوان پڑھنے لکھنے کي بجائے لڑکياں تاڑنے ميں لگے رہتےہيں اور تعليم پر دھيان دينے کي بجائے آوارہ گردي اورلڑکيوں سے ڈيٹيں مارنے کي سوچتے ہيں محنت کريں صوبے بنانے سے کچھ حاصل نہ ہوگا اگر آپ محنت نہ کريں گے تعليم پر توجہ ديں اسي سے قوموں کي زندگي بدلتي ہے

Rizwan2009

کاش کہ آپ جیسے لوگ اپنی غلطی کا ادراک کر سکیں۔

مہاجر کا لفظ الطاف حسین نے نہیں دیا تھا بلکہ متحدہ کی پیدائش سے قبل ہی یہ لفظ ان لوگوں کے کلچر کی پہچان بن چکا تھا جو کہ انڈیا سے ہجرت کر کے آئے تھے۔

بہت آسان سی بات ہے کہ ہجرت کرنے والے تو شاید مر چکے ہوں، مگر اپنے ساتھ جو تہذیب وہ لائے تھے، وہ انکی نئی نسلوں میں زندہ ہے۔

لفظ ہجرت کبھي تہذيب نہيں ہوتي ہجرت يقينا نيکي کا کام ہے اور اس کا اللہ کے دربار سے بہت بڑا ثواب عطا ہونا يقيني ہے ليکن وہي ہجرت جو اللہ کي رضا کے لئے کي ہو اگر کوئي اللہ کي رضا کي بجائے دنيا کي خاطر ہجرت کرے گا تو دنيا ميں اس کا پھل اسے مل جائے گا مگر آخرت ميں کچھ نہ ملے گا اور مہاجرين وہي تھے جو ہجرت کرکے آئے تھے جو موجودہ نوجوان کراچي ميں ہيں ہرگز مہاجر نہيں ہيں اور ان پر لفظ مہاجر کا اطلاق ہرگز نہيں ہوتا اور ہجرت خود سے کوئى تہذيب نہيں ہےيہ ايم کيو ايم کا وہ سفيد جھوٹ ہے جو وہ دو دہائيوں سے مستقل بول رہي ہےغنڈہ گردي کبھي تہذيب نہيں ہوتي تہذيب تو قوم کے اخلاق و اطوار ہوتے ہيں آپ نے کبھي ہندوستان کے شہر لکھنؤ کے لوگوں کي تہذيب ديکھي ہے انہيں ديکھ کر دل خوش ہوتا ہے کراچي کے نوجوانوں کے بگڑے ہوئے اطوار و اخلاق کو تہذيب کا نام نہ ديں تہذيب شرافت کا نام ہے بدمعاشي غنڈہ گردي قتل و غارت گري کا نام نہيں

muslim01

My leader is not Altaf Hussain. I hate him to the core of my heart. He destroyed muhajir nation.

I never said Sindhis are undeducated. I said the Waderas of Sindh and incompetent and uneducated!

Obviously education and effort will being a nation to a brighter future but we need smaller administrative units to handle Pakistan in a better efficient way.

Thank you.

آپ کي اپني تعليم کيا ہے آپ کے ليڈر تو اپنے جوانوں کو کتابيں بيچ کر اسلحہ خريدنے کا درس ديتے ہيں آپ سندھ کے باسيوں کو ان پڑھ کس طرح قرار ديتے ہيں جبکہ خود آپ کے نوجوان پڑھنے لکھنے کي بجائے لڑکياں تاڑنے ميں لگے رہتےہيں اور تعليم پر دھيان دينے کي بجائے آوارہ گردي اورلڑکيوں سے ڈيٹيں مارنے کي سوچتے ہيں محنت کريں صوبے بنانے سے کچھ حاصل نہ ہوگا اگر آپ محنت نہ کريں گے تعليم پر توجہ ديں اسي سے قوموں کي زندگي بدلتي ہے

LivePakistan

oh just shut the f up ok. we are not pro-indian ppl. we were the ones who gave up their lives for pakistan the most. So dont say we are pro-indians we are pro-pakistanis from the start and will remain till the end. Just why u guys are so against us making a province all the punjabis, sindhis have one. So dont we deserve one either. Just answer me that?

Your response shows what kind of parents have you have and what they taught you.
There is no Punjabi cast or tribe, it is named due to FIVE RIVER. Sindh is historic name even it was there when Muhammad Bin Qasim entered into this land. It was never based on some kind of nation. This implies that more than 10 million Afghans have migrated to Pakistan since 1980, they will ask for their own province and the list will go on. MQM resorted to worst kind of violence and killing of rival political parties and had lost the sympathy and support from an ordinary person. MQM is banned in Canada as well. Ask this question to yourself. I am sure you have read the following article in NEWYORK TIMES. This describes what MQM & its party is all about.

The killed and the Killers.

Pakistanis Iron Grip, Wielded in Opulent Exile, Begins to Slip
By DECLAN WALSH
LONDON For two decades, Altaf Hussain has run his brutal Pakistani political empire by remote control, shrouded in luxurious exile in London and long beyond the reach of the law.
He follows events through satellite televisions in his walled-off home, manages millions of dollars in assets and issues decrees in ranting teleconferences that last for hours all to command a network of influence and intimidation that stretches from North America to South Africa.
This global system serves a very localized goal: perpetuating Mr. Hussains reign as the political king of Karachi, the brooding port city of 20 million people at the heart of Pakistans economy.
Distance does not matter, reads the inscription on a monument near Mr. Hussains deserted former house in Karachi, where his name evokes both fear and favor.
Now, though, his painstakingly constructed web is fraying.
A British murder investigation has been closing in on Mr. Hussain, 59, and his party, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement. His London home and offices have been raided, and the police have opened new investigations into accusations of money laundering and inciting violence in Pakistan.
The scrutiny has visibly rattled Mr. Hussain, who recently warned supporters that his arrest may be imminent. And in Karachi, it has raised a previously unthinkable question: Is the end near for the untouchable political machine that has been the citys linchpin for three decades?
This is a major crisis, said Irfan Husain, the author of Fatal Faultlines, a book about Pakistans relationship with the United States. The party has been weakened, and Altaf Hussain is being criticized like never before.
Mr. Hussains rise offers a striking illustration of the political melee in Pakistan.
His support stems from the Mohajirs, Urdu-speaking Muslims whose families moved to Pakistan after the partition from India in 1947, and who make up about half of Karachis population. Since the 1980s, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement has fiercely defended Mohajir interests, and in turn it has been carried to victory in almost every election and to an enduring place in national coalition governments as well.
Mr. Hussain fled to London in 1992, when the movement was engaged in a vicious street battle with the central government for supremacy in Karachi. The British government granted him political asylum and, 10 years later, a British passport.
London has long been the antechamber of Pakistani politics, where self-exiled leaders take refuge until they can return. The former military ruler Pervez Musharraf lived here until recently, and the current prime minister, Nawaz Sharif, lived here until 2007.
Mr. Hussain, however, shows no sign of going back. The Muttahida Qaumi Movement has an office in Edgware, in northwest London. But these days Mr. Hussain is mostly at home, in a redbrick suburban house protected by raised walls, security cameras and a contingent of former British soldiers he has hired as bodyguards.
From there, he holds court, addressing his faraway followers in a vigorous, sometimes maniacal style, punctuated by jabbing gestures and hectoring outbursts. Occasionally he bursts into song, or tears. Yet, on the other end of the line, it is not unusual to find tens of thousands of people crowded into a Karachi street, listening raptly before an empty stage containing Mr. Hussains portrait, as his disembodied voice booms from speakers.
The cult of personality surrounding Altaf Hussain is quite extraordinary, said Farzana Shaikh, an academic and the author of Making Sense of Pakistan. He is immensely charismatic, in the way one thinks of the great fascist leaders of the 20th century.
In Karachi, his overwhelmingly middle-class party is fronted by sharply dressed, well-spoken men and a good number of women and it has won a reputation for efficient city administration. But beneath the surface, its mandate is backed by armed gangs involved in racketeering, abduction and the targeted killings of ethnic and political rivals, the police and diplomats say.
Other major Pakistani parties indulge in similar behavior, but the Muttahida Qaumi Movement frequently brings the most muscle to the fight. An American diplomatic cable from 2008 titled Gangs of Karachi, which was published by WikiLeaks, cited estimates that the party had an active militia of 10,000 gunmen, with an additional 25,000 in reserve a larger force, the dispatch notes, than the city police.
Many journalists who have criticized the party have been beaten, or worse, driving most of the news media in Karachi to tread lightly. In June, the Committee to Protect Journalists, a lobbying group based in New York, accused the party of organizing the killing of Wali Khan Babar, a television reporter.
In the West, the party has avoided critical attention partly because it has cast itself as an enemy of Islamist militancy. In 2001, Mr. Hussain wrote a letter to Prime Minister Tony Blair of Britain, offering to help Britain set up a spy network against the Taliban.
Critics of the party have frequently questioned the role of British officials in facilitating its unusual system of governance. Pakistani exiles from Baluchistan, also accused of fomenting violence, have faced criminal prosecution. But Britain is not the only node of Mr. Hussains international support network.
Through the Pakistani diaspora, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement has active branches as far afield as the United States, Canada and even South Africa, which has become an important financial hub and a haven for the groups enforcers, Pakistani investigators say.
Two police interrogation reports obtained by The New York Times cite militants from the movement who say they traveled to South Africa in between carrying out political assassinations in Karachi. One of those men, Teddy Qamar, confessed to 58 killings between 2006 and 2012, the police say. In an interview, Anis Hasan, the partys joint organizer for South Africa, denied any link to organized violence.
But if Mr. Hussain seemed immune to scrutiny at his London stronghold, his luck started to turn in September 2010 after Imran Farooq, a once-influential leader in the movement who had split from the party, was stabbed to death near his house in Edgware.
Soon after, Mr. Hussain appeared on television, mourning Mr. Farooq with a flood of tears. But over the past year, the police investigation has turned sharply in his direction.
In December, officers from Scotland Yards Counter Terrorism Command searched the movements London office. Then in June they went to Mr. Hussains home and arrested Ishtiaq Hussain, his cousin and personal assistant, who is now out on bail. The police impounded $600,000 in cash and some jewelry under laws that target the proceeds of crime.
Mr. Hussain was not available for an interview, his party said. But a senior party official, Nadeem Nusrat, speaking at the movements London office, denied any link to Mr. Farooqs killing. Our conscience is clear, Mr. Nusrat said. We have nothing to do with it.
Mr. Nusrat said the impounded money had come from political donations. And he rejected accusations, also the subject of a police inquiry, that Mr. Hussain has directly threatened political rivals, in some instances by warning that he would arrange for their body bags.
Its all taken out of context, Mr. Nusrat said.
Mr. Hussain has receded from public view during the recent furor. There have been rumors about mounting health problems, which Mr. Hussains aides deny. But he cannot return to Pakistan, they say, because the Taliban could kill him. In Pakistan, said Muhammad Anwar, a longtime aide, nobody can guarantee your life.
Then there are the legal threats: over the years, dozens of murder charges have been lodged against Mr. Hussain in Pakistan, although some have been quashed in court. A more pressing question, perhaps, concerns the impact on the streets of Karachi if Mr. Hussain is forced to step down.
Some fear that without his guiding hand, tensions within the movement could split it into hostile factions a frightening prospect in a city where political violence already claims hundreds of lives a year.
However viciously the party conducts itself, there is an order within the apparent disorder, said Ms. Shaikh, the academic.
Even if the British government wished to crack down on Mr. Hussain, she added, it might find itself subject to appeals from the Pakistani authorities. The fear of Karachi going up in flames is so great, Ms. Shaikh said, that no government can take that risk, as long as Altaf Hussain is alive.

NYT

Mohammad Tariq

There is no relavance,our Musim brothers migrated from india were well educated people ,they were in in almost all the government jobs and were doing very well.It is all politics gen Zia used them in his favour ,but todays generation the are pakistanis by all standards and are being used very badly by the MQM leadership.

United4Pak

Let people call whatever they want to be called. It is not such a big deal. If anyone is happy to be called Pakhtoon, Pashtoon or Pathan or Lala, I don't care.

As far as the province is concerned I disagree that it shouldn't be based on ethnicity but before that can we expect existing provinces to be called something else ( for example, south eastern province, south west province etc.) rather than sindh, balochistan.

Easiest thing is to have a truly representative local bodies system where people feel that they can make changes to their own local area. At the moment, Karachiites, feel that it doesn't happen as whoever they vote they will be considered a minority party in the province and federal. If anyone can propose a formula that can change this then it will be acceptable to all Karachiites.

xxfighterxx

I like your tactics of evading the issue,
you get asked a question in English, in response to a post you made in English and you reply in Urdu............

but everyone can see that you speak read and write English perfectly well. So what exactly are you avoiding..

accepting that if in the UK you are INDIAN then why do you have an issue with being INDIAN in Pakistan ?

if u are a Pakistani , Urdu has to be your national language... in fact u seems to be the one avoiding it...
n let the brits call u an Indian if it suites u or if u like it.. it is our duty to tell n show them the difference between us (Pakistanis) n the Indians...

Chand logon ki tadbeer thi , qaum ki taqdeer ban gayee
kitno k ghar jalay aur kitno kii jageer ban gayee
kitno ko takht mila aur kitno ka muqaddar zanjeer ban gayee
kal jo
baghi they aj wafadar kehlaye
kal jo mohsin they aj
ghaddar kehlaye
kal k wali ullah aj
shaitani kehlaye
jinho ne Pakistan azad karaya aj
HINDUSTANI kehlaye..????

Long live Altaf Hussain..!!!
Long live MQm...!!!
Long live Pakistan..!!!

UKPakistani

if u are a Pakistani , Urdu has to be your national language... in fact u seems to be the one avoiding it...
n let the brits call u an Indian if it suites u or if u like it.. it is our duty to tell n show them the difference between us (Pakistanis) n the Indians...

jinho ne Pakistan azad karaya aj HINDUSTANI
kehlaye..????

Long live MQm...!!!
Long live Pakistan..!!!

Are you saying Mohajirs are responsible for the biggest blunder in the History of mankind ?

Isnt that your leader begging forgiveness and to be allowed to return to India as a refugee ? You included ?

It seems the Establishment has started the operation he mentioned. Time to go back to India ?

mehwish_ali

میں ایک ہزار مرتبہ یہاں پر الطاف حسین کی انڈیا تقریر کا پورا متن پیش کر چکی ہوں

یہ ہے لنک

الطاف حسین نے ہرگز پاکستان توڑنے کی بات نہیں کی ہے۔ ہاں الطاف حسین سمجھتا ہے کہ پاکستان کے قیام سے "مسلمان خون" تقسیم ہو گیا اور اندیا کے مسلمانوں کو اسکا خمیازہ بھگتنا پڑ رہا ہے اور وہ اقلیت بن کر رہ گئے۔ ایک الطاف حسین ہی نہیں انڈیا مین موجود مسلمانوں کی نئی نسلیں بھی یہ سمجھتی ہیں کہ مسلمان قوت تقسیم ہو گئ۔

مگر یہ تعصب زدہ لوگ جھوٹ بولتے ہیں کہ الطاف حسین نے پاکستان کو توڑنے کی کوئی بات کی، یا پھر یہ کہ الطاف حسین پاکستان کا وفادار نہیں۔

نہیں، اپنی اسی تقریر میں الطاف حسین نے صاف صاف انڈیا میں کھڑے ہو کر انڈیا سے کہا ہے کہ ماضی میں جو ہونا تھا، وہ ہو چکا، مگر اب پاکستان ایک حقیقت بن چکا ہے اور انڈیا کو یہ حقیقت تسلیم کر لینی چاہیے۔ اور دونوں ممالک کو امن قائم کر کے عوام کی فلاح و بہبود کے لیے کام کرنا چاہیے۔

ہماری طرف سے الطاف حسین کی تقریر کا مکمل متن پیش ہو چکا ہے۔ ان مخالفین کو کب سے چیلنج دیا ہوا ہے کہ اگر یہ سچے ہیں تو پھر سپریم کورٹ میں الطاف حسین کے خلاف کیس کیوں نہیں کرتے؟ مگر اس چیلن کا کوئی جواب نہیں اور یہاں یہ مفرور ہوتے ہیں۔

So tell me I made this up in 2004 just to fool you in 2013

inset_arun4.jpg

MQM Leader Altaf Hussain meets Indian Foreign Minister Natwar Singh

Altaf Hussain Seeks Easier Political Asylum For His Supporters: India Rejects
By Arun Rajnath

pix_arun4.jpg

NEW DELHI, November 8: Somewhat intrigued by the indirect requests and appeals by visiting Pakistani MQM leader, Mr. Altaf Hussain, to grant political asylum to his supporters in India, the Indian Home Ministry has categorically rejected his emotional pleas.
Minister of State for Home Affairs, S. Reghupati told the ‘South Asia Tribune’: “Such proposals are not viable or practical, and Mr. Hussain himself understands it. If we grant asylum to Pakistani Mohajirs (refugees), why not to Bangladeshis? Then we should also cease our actions of identifying illegal migrants from Bangladesh and we should open our doors for every Mohajir, and give them legal status.”Officials said in his meeting with the Indian Foreign Minister, Natwar Singh, Mr. Hussain requested that his supporters, the Mohajirs, be granted Long Term Visas (LTV) to live in India. He also requested the Indians to show leniency when considering such cases, especially of the Mohajir community, if they are legally entitled to get the Indian citizenship.Indian analysts are scratching their heads to understand what it was that Mr. Hussain, now a key ally of the military government in Pakistan and having his own nominee as the all powerful Governor of Sindh, was talking about his supporters seeking political asylum in India. Was he expecting another crackdown any time soon?These analysts think Mr. Hussain’s requests reflected a deep sense of insecurity and lack of confidence in the durability of the present Pakistani set up as Mr. Hussain was not only staying in self-imposed exile himself in UK but was even talking about a large number of his supporters running away from Pakistan to seek asylum in India, as chances of getting asylum in the US and UK had diminished after 9/11.It may be of interest that during the past crackdowns on MQM in Pakistan, especially during operations launched by the Pakistan Army in the 90s, a huge number of MQM supporters fled the country and took asylum in US and UK, with some of them going to India as well, though there they stayed underground.An understanding of any sort, if given to Mr. Hussain by the Indians, would result in a huge number of MQM supporters entering India through the large Pak-India border in Sindh and this prospect does not cheer up many in the policy making corridors in New Delhi, analysts say.Despite being termed as ‘Not War Singh’ by Mr. Hussain, Natwar Singh has given him no assurance of considering his plea to grant LTVs to Mohajirs to entitle them to live here for a longer period. While talking about the internal conditions in Pakistan with Natwar Singh, Mr. Hussain expressed the desire of several Mohajirs to return to India. He told Mr. Singh the second generation of the Mohajir community was now facing the “acrimonious fruit of the 1947 partition”. He also recited an Urdu couplet during his interaction with Natwar Singh: ‘Yeh waqt bhi dekha hai taareekh ke safahon ne; Lamhon ne khata ki thi, sadiyon ne sazaa payee’(Annals of History have witnessed the phenomenon that blunders committed in a short span of time resulted in punishment for centuries)Foreign Ministry officials told the ‘South Asia Tribune’ Mr. Hussain had also revealed that a large number of his Mohajir community wanted to return to their roots, and most of them wanted their Indian citizenship back. Though he did not directly request Natwar Singh to “grant asylum” to Mohajirs, he made it clear that this was exactly what he wanted. It would be a great service to humanity to be more lenient towards the Mohajirs. They should be given Long Term Visas, if asylum was a politically incorrect term at this time to use, he pleaded.Asked to comment on the subject, Secretary, Minority Cell (Congress Party), Meem Afzal had different views: “The new generation of the Pakistan Mohajirs does not wish to re-unite with India or return to their roots. Their counterparts in India also do not wish their relatives to come back from Pakistan to settle down in India. It is just a matter of a few years and after the end of the second generation or Altaf Hussain’s generation, the ghost of nostalgia will just disappear.”Apart from this some of the Mohajirs were declared ‘dead’ in property documents/papers/ records at the time of the partition by other members of the family to protect their property from being taken over by Indian authorities. Those who stayed behind claimed full inheritance. If they or their children return to India, it would complicate matters a lot.Mr. Afzal says that it takes 15-20 years for Pakistani women married to Indians to get citizenship of India. In this situation, how asylum could be granted to Mohajirs. Mr. Hussain has also made this point before Natwar Singh.There are several such cases in Delhi and Uttar Pradesh. A Muslim girl of Old Delhi was married to a Pakistani boy, and subsequently became a Pakistani citizen. But after sometime, her husband divorced her, and she returned to India in 1990. Her Indian citizenship has not been restored till now despite all efforts.Such women are deliberately being denied Indian citizenship. They have to struggle to get the validity-period of their visas to be extended, besides appearing before the local police station now and then. Intelligence agents also keep an eye on Pakistani nationals residing within their area. The Government of India had virtually kept Altaf Hussain under ‘room-arrest’ the whole day on November 6, and nobody was allowed to see him or his party men. Various government officials and security men paid visits to him the whole day. While sitting in the lobby of Mauriya Sheraton Hotel, this correspondent saw officials of the Indian intelligence watching every movement of Altaf Hussain.An official was also posted at the Reception Counter of the hotel who used to ascertain the identity of all visitors for Altaf Hussain. No phone calls were allowed to his room from the Reception. The calls transferred to his room by phone operators were automatically diverted to the voice mailbox provided by the hotel to its guests. Mr. Hussain and his aides were given cellular phones with special numbers.

http://antisystemic.org/satribune/www.satribune.com/archives/nov04/P1_arun4.htm

Shahbaz Baig

i hate MQM & hate Altaf... but then who am i??? what is my ethnicity as others have??? and plz don`t call me an Indian Or Hindustani i hate these words too.. just tell me who i am?? what you would suggest the Name of Migrated People from India???

i think the name of migrated People should be "پاک ساذد" "Paksaazd"... Pak from Pakistan and Saazd is Farsi word which means "Bond with something else Securely" now full meaning of this word "Hifazaat sy Pakistan sy Jory howy".. "Bond with Pakistan Securely"

Aijazahmed

Chand logon ki tadbeer thi , qaum ki taqdeer ban gayee
kitno k ghar jalay aur kitno kii jageer ban gayee
kitno ko takht mila aur kitno ka muqaddar zanjeer ban gayee
kal jo
baghi they aj wafadar kehlaye
kal jo mohsin they aj
ghaddar kehlaye
kal k wali ullah aj
shaitani kehlaye
jinho ne Pakistan azad karaya aj
HINDUSTANI kehlaye..????

Long live MQm...!!!
Long live Pakistan..!!!

Bhai kin se baat ker rahe ho?????? Yeh woh heiN jo MuhajiroN ko behra -e- arab mein dubane ke khwab Pakistan ki creation ke waqt se dekh rahe heiN.
MQM na ho koi bhi jamat bana lo, yeh isi tarah nafrat kareiN ge, ye party se nahi MuhajiroN se nafrat kertey heiN. Iski bhi wajah hai, yeh khofzada heiN MuhajiroN ke talent or culture se.

Aijazahmed

i hate MQM & hate Altaf... but then who am i??? what is my ethnicity as others have??? and plz don`t call me an Indian Or Hindustani i hate these words too.. just tell me who i am?? what you would suggest the Name of Migrated People from India???

i think the name of migrated People should be "پاک ساذد" "Paksaazd"... Pak from Pakistan and Saazd is Farsi word which means "Bond with something else Securely" now full meaning of this word "Hifazaat sy Pakistan sy Jory howy".. "Bond with Pakistan Securely"

Only good name suite to you is "PAKISTANI" as your forefathers made Pakistan, they sacrificed for Pakistan and they migrated to Pakistan, the only recognition for them was one and only "PAKISTAN", but will these people think you are Pakistani? This is the question that was never answered from the hearts and souls of these people. They never accepted you a Pakistani. Just go in their private parties and listen to their discussion about, you will get the proof what I am talking about.

raamishasadraza_coolboy

Your response shows what kind of parents have you have and what they taught you.
There is no Punjabi cast or tribe, it is named due to FIVE RIVER. Sindh is historic name even it was there when Muhammad Bin Qasim entered into this land. It was never based on some kind of nation. This implies that more than 10 million Afghans have migrated to Pakistan since 1980, they will ask for their own province and the list will go on. MQM resorted to worst kind of violence and killing of rival political parties and had lost the sympathy and support from an ordinary person. MQM is banned in Canada as well. Ask this question to yourself. I am sure you have read the following article in NEWYORK TIMES. This describes what MQM & its party is all about.

The killed and the Killers.

Pakistani’s Iron Grip, Wielded in Opulent Exile, Begins to Slip
By DECLAN WALSH
LONDON — For two decades, Altaf Hussain has run his brutal Pakistani political empire by remote control, shrouded in luxurious exile in London and long beyond the reach of the law.
He follows events through satellite televisions in his walled-off home, manages millions of dollars in assets and issues decrees in ranting teleconferences that last for hours — all to command a network of influence and intimidation that stretches from North America to South Africa.
This global system serves a very localized goal: perpetuating Mr. Hussain’s reign as the political king of Karachi, the brooding port city of 20 million people at the heart of Pakistan’s economy.
“Distance does not matter,” reads the inscription on a monument near Mr. Hussain’s deserted former house in Karachi, where his name evokes both fear and favor.
Now, though, his painstakingly constructed web is fraying.
A British murder investigation has been closing in on Mr. Hussain, 59, and his party, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement. His London home and offices have been raided, and the police have opened new investigations into accusations of money laundering and inciting violence in Pakistan.
The scrutiny has visibly rattled Mr. Hussain, who recently warned supporters that his arrest may be imminent. And in Karachi, it has raised a previously unthinkable question: Is the end near for the untouchable political machine that has been the city’s linchpin for three decades?
“This is a major crisis,” said Irfan Husain, the author of “Fatal Faultlines,” a book about Pakistan’s relationship with the United States. “The party has been weakened, and Altaf Hussain is being criticized like never before.”
Mr. Hussain’s rise offers a striking illustration of the political melee in Pakistan.
His support stems from the Mohajirs, Urdu-speaking Muslims whose families moved to Pakistan after the partition from India in 1947, and who make up about half of Karachi’s population. Since the 1980s, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement has fiercely defended Mohajir interests, and in turn it has been carried to victory in almost every election and to an enduring place in national coalition governments as well.
Mr. Hussain fled to London in 1992, when the movement was engaged in a vicious street battle with the central government for supremacy in Karachi. The British government granted him political asylum and, 10 years later, a British passport.
London has long been the antechamber of Pakistani politics, where self-exiled leaders take refuge until they can return. The former military ruler Pervez Musharraf lived here until recently, and the current prime minister, Nawaz Sharif, lived here until 2007.
Mr. Hussain, however, shows no sign of going back. The Muttahida Qaumi Movement has an office in Edgware, in northwest London. But these days Mr. Hussain is mostly at home, in a redbrick suburban house protected by raised walls, security cameras and a contingent of former British soldiers he has hired as bodyguards.
From there, he holds court, addressing his faraway followers in a vigorous, sometimes maniacal style, punctuated by jabbing gestures and hectoring outbursts. Occasionally he bursts into song, or tears. Yet, on the other end of the line, it is not unusual to find tens of thousands of people crowded into a Karachi street, listening raptly before an empty stage containing Mr. Hussain’s portrait, as his disembodied voice booms from speakers.
“The cult of personality surrounding Altaf Hussain is quite extraordinary,” said Farzana Shaikh, an academic and the author of “Making Sense of Pakistan.” “He is immensely charismatic, in the way one thinks of the great fascist leaders of the 20th century.”
In Karachi, his overwhelmingly middle-class party is fronted by sharply dressed, well-spoken men — and a good number of women — and it has won a reputation for efficient city administration. But beneath the surface, its mandate is backed by armed gangs involved in racketeering, abduction and the targeted killings of ethnic and political rivals, the police and diplomats say.
Other major Pakistani parties indulge in similar behavior, but the Muttahida Qaumi Movement frequently brings the most muscle to the fight. An American diplomatic cable from 2008 titled “Gangs of Karachi,” which was published by WikiLeaks, cited estimates that the party had an active militia of 10,000 gunmen, with an additional 25,000 in reserve — a larger force, the dispatch notes, than the city police.
Many journalists who have criticized the party have been beaten, or worse, driving most of the news media in Karachi to tread lightly. In June, the Committee to Protect Journalists, a lobbying group based in New York, accused the party of organizing the killing of Wali Khan Babar, a television reporter.
In the West, the party has avoided critical attention partly because it has cast itself as an enemy of Islamist militancy. In 2001, Mr. Hussain wrote a letter to Prime Minister Tony Blair of Britain, offering to help Britain set up a spy network against the Taliban.
Critics of the party have frequently questioned the role of British officials in facilitating its unusual system of governance. Pakistani exiles from Baluchistan, also accused of fomenting violence, have faced criminal prosecution. But Britain is not the only node of Mr. Hussain’s international support network.
Through the Pakistani diaspora, the Muttahida Qaumi Movement has active branches as far afield as the United States, Canada and even South Africa, which has become an important financial hub and a haven for the group’s enforcers, Pakistani investigators say.
Two police interrogation reports obtained by The New York Times cite militants from the movement who say they traveled to South Africa in between carrying out political assassinations in Karachi. One of those men, Teddy Qamar, confessed to 58 killings between 2006 and 2012, the police say. In an interview, Anis Hasan, the party’s joint organizer for South Africa, denied any link to organized violence.
But if Mr. Hussain seemed immune to scrutiny at his London stronghold, his luck started to turn in September 2010 after Imran Farooq, a once-influential leader in the movement who had split from the party, was stabbed to death near his house in Edgware.
Soon after, Mr. Hussain appeared on television, mourning Mr. Farooq with a flood of tears. But over the past year, the police investigation has turned sharply in his direction.
In December, officers from Scotland Yard’s Counter Terrorism Command searched the movement’s London office. Then in June they went to Mr. Hussain’s home and arrested Ishtiaq Hussain, his cousin and personal assistant, who is now out on bail. The police impounded $600,000 in cash and some jewelry under laws that target the proceeds of crime.
Mr. Hussain was not available for an interview, his party said. But a senior party official, Nadeem Nusrat, speaking at the movement’s London office, denied any link to Mr. Farooq’s killing. “Our conscience is clear,” Mr. Nusrat said. “We have nothing to do with it.”
Mr. Nusrat said the impounded money had come from political donations. And he rejected accusations, also the subject of a police inquiry, that Mr. Hussain has directly threatened political rivals, in some instances by warning that he would arrange for their “body bags.”
“It’s all taken out of context,” Mr. Nusrat said.
Mr. Hussain has receded from public view during the recent furor. There have been rumors about mounting health problems, which Mr. Hussain’s aides deny. But he cannot return to Pakistan, they say, because the Taliban could kill him. “In Pakistan,” said Muhammad Anwar, a longtime aide, “nobody can guarantee your life.”
Then there are the legal threats: over the years, dozens of murder charges have been lodged against Mr. Hussain in Pakistan, although some have been quashed in court. A more pressing question, perhaps, concerns the impact on the streets of Karachi if Mr. Hussain is forced to step down.
Some fear that without his guiding hand, tensions within the movement could split it into hostile factions — a frightening prospect in a city where political violence already claims hundreds of lives a year.
“However viciously the party conducts itself, there is an order within the apparent disorder,” said Ms. Shaikh, the academic.
Even if the British government wished to crack down on Mr. Hussain, she added, it might find itself subject to appeals from the Pakistani authorities. “The fear of Karachi going up in flames is so great,” Ms. Shaikh said, “that no government can take that risk, as long as Altaf Hussain is alive.”

NYT

i have extremely good parents and they are fully educated. just because i support mqm i become an uneducated person, i am trash and my family are trash as well by the likes of u. if i used inappropriate language im sorry but i couldnt control my emotions because some comments were full of hate. sorry if i have a diff opinion than u.