SBP reserves hit all-time high of $20.15b

21625339634-1.jpg

KARACHI:
The foreign exchange reserves held by the central bank surged 14.6% on a weekly basis, hitting an all-time high of $20.15 billion, according to data released by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) on Thursday.

On August 27, the foreign currency reserves held by the SBP were recorded at $20,145.6 million, up $2,567 million compared with $17,578.9 million on August 20.

On August 24, the central bank received general allocation of Special Drawing Rights (SDRs) from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) of $2,751.8 million, which helped lift the reserves to a historic high.

“After accounting for external debt payments, reserves increased by $2,567 million to $20,145.6 million,” the central bank said.

Overall liquid foreign currency reserves held by the country, including net reserves held by banks other than the SBP, stood at $27,227.7 million. Net reserves held by banks amounted to $7,082.1 million.

Earlier, Pakistan borrowed $2.5 billion through Eurobonds on March 30, 2021 by offering lucrative interest rates to lenders aimed at building the foreign exchange reserves.

Published in The Express Tribune, September 3rd, 2021.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2318330/sbp-reserves-hit-all-time-high-of-2015b

Doom1111

21625339634-1.jpg

KARACHI:
The foreign exchange reserves held by the central bank surged 14.6% on a weekly basis, hitting an all-time high of $20.15 billion, according to data released by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) on Thursday.

On August 27, the foreign currency reserves held by the SBP were recorded at $20,145.6 million, up $2,567 million compared with $17,578.9 million on August 20.

On August 24, the central bank received general allocation of Special Drawing Rights (SDRs) from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) of $2,751.8 million, which helped lift the reserves to a historic high.

“After accounting for external debt payments, reserves increased by $2,567 million to $20,145.6 million,” the central bank said.

Overall liquid foreign currency reserves held by the country, including net reserves held by banks other than the SBP, stood at $27,227.7 million. Net reserves held by banks amounted to $7,082.1 million.

Earlier, Pakistan borrowed $2.5 billion through Eurobonds on March 30, 2021 by offering lucrative interest rates to lenders aimed at building the foreign exchange reserves.

Sir the debts they are taking to fill CAD is very short. These all taken from foreign commercial banks and their interest rate is high and lending is very short. Just in July we have taken 1.6 billion dollar debt to pay 600 million dollar for CAD and 1 billion to pay our debts. August number will much higher than this due to that last month Alone CAD will be above 1.5 billion dollar. Therefore, you expect CAD in August will be 1.5 billion dollar ,therefore we have additional debt of 1.5 billion because the reserve were not used as we not printing dollars.

This reserve will be wiped off within 6 to 7 months the way we making CAD and taking loans to fill CAD.

I am i never Against Imran Khan he can win even 2023 election if he kicks out ST and go back to IMF program and stop taking debt to fill CAD. It was crime when Nawaz did and Allah punished him that he never Return to Pakistan and no one from his Family will ever become a Chief Minister leave alone becoming a PM same as PPP family. CAD was Haram it also haram now it is all based Luxury cars, Consumption goods, Luxury hosing stuff and food related items.

That guy lost his marbles years ago.
bhai usko serious nahi lena, wo 2 saal se eise hi bahki bahki batein ker raha hai
There was one member on this forum who was yesterday saying SBP Reserves has gone down by $400 million in August 2021 and Pakistan would default by October...

الله تم جہالت کے درخشاں چمکتے دھمکتے ستاروں کی جہالت کو دوام بخشے اور تم اسی طرح چمکتے دھمکتے رہو -- آمین

ابھی ابھی آی ایم ایف سے پونے تین بلین ڈالر کا قرضہ جمع کرایا گیا ہے جی
? ? ?

There was one member on this forum who was yesterday saying SBP Reserves has gone down by $400 million in August 2021 and Pakistan would default by October....

f $20.15 billion, according to data released by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) on Thursday.

exchange reserves.

bhai usko serious nahi lena, wo 2 saal se eise hi bahki bahki batein ker raha hai
That guy lost his marbles years ago.
. CAD was Haram it also haram now it is all based Luxury cars, Consumption goods, Luxury hosing stuff and food related items.

جاہلو ساتھ یہ خبر بھی لکھی ہوئی تھی -- نظر سے گزری ؟؟؟

Rupee becomes worst performer in Asia​

Currency drops to 13-month low of 166.98 to a dollar in inter-bank market

الله تم جہالت کے درخشاں چمکتے دھمکتے ستاروں کی جہالت کو دوام بخشے اور تم اسی طرح چمکتے دھمکتے رہو -- آمین

ابھی ابھی آی ایم ایف سے پونے تین بلین ڈالر کا قرضہ جمع کرایا گیا ہے جی
? ? ?
Abhay chal be kam chor ja mian saanp ki bund dhonay ki duty per wapis daffa ho ja

s.shahid

جاہلو ساتھ یہ خبر بھی لکھی ہوئی تھی -- نظر سے گزری ؟؟؟

Rupee becomes worst performer in Asia​

Currency drops to 13-month low of 166.98 to a dollar in inter-bank market
Obviously you have short term memory.

Dec 2013: 6 months into PMLN Tenure

http://www.riazhaq.com/2013/12/pakistan-rupee-in-sharp-decline-as.html

2017: Worst globally

https://timesofislamabad.com/13-Dec...een-worst-performer-globally-bloomberg-report

July 2018: when PMLN tenure came to an end

https://www.albawaba.com/business/pakistani-rupee-now-worst-performing-currency-asia-1160380

go back as far and you will find similar news, because we haven't been able to raise our exports for decades.

exports in 2011: $24.827Bn -- exports in 2021: $25.294bn ($22.009 Bn in 2016, $20.422 bn in 2017, $23.228 bn in 2018)

Doom1111

https://timesofislamabad.com/13-Dec...een-worst-performer-globally-bloomberg-report

https://www.albawaba.com/business/pakistani-rupee-now-worst-performing-currency-asia-1160380

go back as far and you will find similar news, because we haven't been able to raise our exports for decades.

exports in 2011: $24.827Bn -- exports in 2021: $25.294bn ($22.009 Bn in 2016, $20.422 bn in 2017, $23.228 bn in 2018)
It simply shows that devaluation does not decrease CAD, it is not help to increase export or decrease import. Only Policy does and PTI was chasing a ghost.

Pyaarey Buchey --- did you care to check the values of Rs at these times and now ???. If you did can you please tell me ?

s.shahid

Pyaarey Buchey --- did you care to check the values of Rs at these times and now ???. If you did can you please tell me ?
As usual you wouldn't answer the original fact and more on.

18th February 2008: $63.1 (Date of General Election)

11 May 2013: $98.4 (Date of General Election)

During PPP Tenure rupee devalued by 56%

25TH July 2018: $128.7 (date of General Election)

During PMLN Tenure Rupee Devalued by 30.8% (despite $8 Bn + dollars wasted to artificially keep the rupee appreciated), btw would you care to enlightened us about SBP reserves when PMLN tenure ended and for how many months those reserves could have financed our import bills? I know let see if you remember or as usual won’t answer it.

USD Today: 166.91

Current Rupee Devaluation 29.7%

Source: SBP

During PMLN Tenure Rupee Devalued by 30.8% (despite $8 Bn + dollars wasted to artificially keep the rupee appreciated), btw would you care to enlightened us about SBP reserves when PMLN tenure ended and for how many months those reserves could have financed our import bills? I know let see if you remember or as usual won’t answer it.

So You should be worried about what the freken value of Rupee is now. Because that is what is affecting the life of 230 million people today --- not your point-scoring rant ????

Doom1111

PTI also wasted 5 billion dollar in 2018 August -2019 May to hold the rupee and still they devalued 20 rupees. It is not me who said it is Asad Umar who said that in Nadeem Mailk show.

s.shahid

So You should be worried about what the freken value of Rupee is now. Because that is what is affecting the life of 230 million people today --- not your point-scoring rant ????
lol, you asked me a question I gave you answer, obviously you don't have anything more to say.

waisay rant ka matlab tu check ker lena tha pehlay, and who goes on the rant day in day out on this forum, everyone knows.

Last but not the least how much you care about people, we all know.

s.shahid

It simply shows that devaluation does not decrease CAD, it is not help to increase export or decrease import. Only Policy does and PTI was chasing a ghost.

PTI also wasted 5 billion dollar in 2018 August -2019 May to hold the rupee and still they devalued 20 rupees. It is not me who said it is Asad Umar who said that in Nadeem Mailk show.

Injecting dollar to keep rupee appreciated is a flawed policy and unsustainable as well, as has been seen in PMLN and PTI tenure.

Rupee will continue to depreciate as long as exports does not rise. Had it risen even by 5% per annum in last 10 years it would have been around $39 Billion ($59 Billion if increased by 10%).

s.shahid

Injecting dollar to keep rupee appreciated is a flawed policy and unsustainable as well, as has been seen in PMLN and PTI tenure.

Rupee will continue to depreciate as long as exports does not rise. Had it risen even by 5% per annum in last 10 years it would have been around $39 Billion ($59 Billion if increased by 10%).

lol, you asked me a question I gave you answer, obviously you don't have anything more to say.

waisay rant ka matlab tu check ker lena tha pehlay, and who goes on the rant day in day out on this forum, everyone knows.

Last but not the least how much you care about people, we all know.
What the heck is there to say other than "We are at the worst condition than ever"
It does not matter to you Imrani monkeys if you start looking stupid. You just have to yap.