Can Dead Hear in Their Grave? (کیا مردے اپنی قبر میں سنتے ہیں)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pakistani1947

The Faculty of hearing of the Dead

Taken from Mysteries of the Soul Expounded by Abu Bilal Mustafah al-Kanadi
One often wonders about the soul's faculties in the barzakh (the stage between death and the Resurrection). Can it hear? Can it see? Does it have knowledge of certain things going on in the world? In order to answer these and other questions, one must carefully scrutinize the quality of the evidence presented in support of certain claims made by scholars in this field.

THE DECEASED'S FACULTY OF HEARING

It is a common concept among some scholars[1] and others that the dead in their graves have the ability of hearing a visitor's greeting, his supplication, talk, etc.. Such a concept is unfounded, for it has no proof from clear texts of the divine shari'ah. In fact, it is in open contradiction to the unchallengeable texts of the Quran and the authentic traditions of the Prophet (saws) which deny the possibility of the dead possessing this faculty.

PROOF FROM THE QUR'AN AND THE SUNNAH NEGATING IT

There are two unequivocal texts from the Qur'an which deny the possibility of the dead in their graves possessing the faculty of hearing. Allah, the Blessed and Exalted, states :

[Surah an-Naml 27:80]
إِنَّكَ لَا تُسْمِعُ الْمَوْتَىٰ وَلَا تُسْمِعُ الصُّمَّ الدُّعَاءَ إِذَا وَلَّوْا مُدْبِرِينَ

Yusuf Ali 80: Truly thou canst not cause the dead to listen, nor canst thou cause the deaf to hear the call, (especially) when they turn back in retreat.
البتہ تو مردوں کو نہیں سنا سکتا اور نہ بہروں کو اپنی پکارسنا سکتا ہے جب وہ پیٹھ پھیر کر لوٹیں

[Surah Fatir 35:22]

وَمَا يَسْتَوِي الْأَحْيَاءُ وَلَا الْأَمْوَاتُ ۚ إِنَّ اللَّهَ يُسْمِعُ مَن يَشَاءُ ۖ وَمَا أَنتَ بِمُسْمِعٍ مَّن فِي الْقُبُورِ
Yusuf Ali 22: Nor are alike those that are living and those that are dead. Allah can make any that He wills to hear; but thou canst not make those to hear who are (buried) in graves.
اور زندے اور مردے برابر نہیں ہیں بے شک الله سناتا ہے جسے چاہے اور آپ انہیں سنانے والے نہیں جو قبروں میں ہیں

In the first verse Allah addresses His messenger, Muhamad (saws), reminding him that he cannot make the disbelievers hear the invitation to Islam, for they are like the dead, who do not hear either. In the second verse Allah points to the difference between the living and the dead - they are not all alike. He further clarifies to His prophet that he cannot make the rejectors of faith hear the message (for they are dead in heart and in spirit) any more than he can make those in the graves hear what is spoken to them![2]

Just as the Qur'an denies the possibility of the deceased possessing the faculty of hearing, there are a number of texts in the sunnah which arrive at the same conclusion. One such hadith follows:
Ibn Mas'ud reported that the Prophet (saws) said: "Allah has angels who travel about the earth; they [do and will] convey to me the peace greeting from my ummah." [Authentically reported by Abu Dawud]

This hadith clarifies that the Prophet (saws) does not hear the greetings of peace from Muslims when they pronounce it upon him, for if he could hear it directly, there would be no need of angels to convey it to him. Therefore, it follows that the Prophet (saws) cannot hear other forms of conversation directed to him either;[3] and it stands even more to reason that the deceased, being lesser than the Prophet (saws), also cannot hear the salam (greeting of peace) or any other form of speech.[4] Thus contrary to a popular misconception, because the Messenger (saws) cannot directly hear either one's invocation of blessings[5] or one's salam addressed to him, such greetings may be conveyed to him from anywhere, regardless of the distance or proximity of the greeter to the Prophet's grave. The erroneous belief that the Prophet (saws) hears these greetings directly disregards the previous hadith whcih specifies that the greetings are conveyed to him by the angels, and it is based on a forged tradition whose text follows:

It has been narrated that the Prophet (saws) said: "Whoever asks blessings for me at my grave, I hear him, and whoever asks blessings upon me from afar, it is conveyed to me." [This tradition was mentioned by al-'Uqayli in his book, adh-Dhu'afa and by al-Khateeb, Ibn 'Asakir, et. al., and they all agreed that it is a forged (mawdhu') hadith. See al-Albani's al-Ahadith adh-Dha'eefah, vol.1, hadith no.203]

ALLEGED EVIDENCE AND ITS REFUTATION
In order to refute the allegations which claim that the deceased in the grave possess the faculty of hearing, it is essential to analyze them and discover the means by which such allegations are dependent upon weak and forged traditions and/or due to erroneous interpretattions of various texts.

There are a number of authentic narrations relating the Prophet's address to the corpses of the mushrikeen (polytheists) of Quraysh who were slain by the believers in the Battle of Badr and then thrown into a dried well. The following two examples suffice for the purpose of the present discussion:

Abu Talhah reported: "On the day of the Battle of Badr, Allah's Prophet (saws) ordered that the bodies of twenty-four leaders of the Quraysh be thrown into one of the foul, abandoned wells of Badr. On the third day after the battle the Prophet called for his mount and saddled it. Then he set out, so his companions followed him. They said amongst themselves, "He must be going to something important." When the Prophet (saws) arrived at the well[6], he stood at its edge and began addressing those therein by calling upon them by their names, "O so and so, son of so and so; and you, so and so, son of so and so! Would it not have been easier to have obeyed Allah and His Messenger? We have found that which our Lord promised us to be true[7]. Did you find what your Lord promosed you to be true?[8] Thereupon 'Umar said, "O Messenger of Allah, what are you saying to these bodies without souls?! Do they hear? For Allah, the Majestic and Mighty, says, "Verily, you cannot make the dead hear."[Surah an-Naml 27:80] The Prophet (saws) answered, "By Him in whose hand lies the soul of Muhammad, you did not hear better than them and what i just said." Qatadah[9] added: "Allah brought them back[10] to life (momentarily) in order to make them hear as a means of scorn and belittlement and [so that they would feel] regret and remorse." [Authentically related by al-Bukhari and Muslim]

In another narration of this incident there is a slight variation in the wording of the text which follows:
"Ibn 'Umar related: "The Prophet (saws) stood at the edge of a well[11] at Badr and said, "Did you find the promise of your Lord to be true?" Then he added, "Verily at this moment they hear what I am saying." Later on[12], this was mentioned to 'A'ishah[13], whereupon she commented, "What the Prophet (saws) meant was, "Now they know that what I used to tell them is the truth." Then she recited, "Verily you cannot make the dead hear,"[Surah an-Naml 27:80] up to the end of the verse."[Related authentically by al-Bukhari and others]

Some often misconstrue the texts of the two aforementioned hadiths as proof for the contention that the dead can hear. However, the following argumentation refutes such a claim. This miraculous circumstance in which the corpses of the slain Quraysh were made to hear the Prophet's address to them is a special case - an exception to the general rule that the dead do not hear.[14] By a miracle, Allah, the Almighty, made them hear the scolding from the Prophet (saws) - only for the moment he spoke to them![15] This is clearly proven by the second narration itself, for their hearing was said to be conditioned by the moment when the Prophet (saws) called out to them in scorn and rebuke. He said, "At this moment they hear what I am saying." Furthermore, in the first narration the Prophet (saws) does not deny 'Umar's sound understanding of the verse's general ruling that the does do not hear. Rather, the Prophet (saws) merely clarifies for 'Umar that what occurred at Badr was a divine miracle and, therefore, an exception to the general ruling of the verse.[16]

Another text often quoted by those who believe that the dead can hear is the following tradition:
Anas bin Malik reported that Allah's Messenger (saws) said: "After the deceased is placed in his grave and his companions[17] turn to leave, he hears the shuffling of their feet as they walk away. Then there comes to him the two angels."[Part of an authentic hadith related by al-Bukhari and Muslim]
This text is not valid evidence for the general claim that the dead can hear; rather, this tradition only specifies another exception to the general rule. In this case, the deceased hears the shuffling feet of those who attended his funeral as they walk away. This is a momentary possession of the faculty of hearing which is terminated at the point at which the two questioning angels[18] come to him[19].

From what has preceded, it is abundantly clear that the deceased generally do not have the faculty of hearing, for they are beyond the barrier (barzakh) which separates our world from theirs. This proves the gross error in the thinking of those who attempt to carry on "conversations" with the dead, or worse, petition them for certain things. Petitioning the dead is shirk, and this is indeed the greatest of all sins.

FOOTNOTES :

1. Among those who erred in this matter are Ibn Abi-Dunya, Ibn 'Abdul-Barr, al-Qurtubi, Ibn al-Qayyim and ash-Shanqeeti.
  2. See Tafseer at-Tabari, vol.21, p.36 and al-Qurtubi's al-Jami, vol.13, p.232
  3. Thus it is absolutely foolish for one to attempt to converse with the Prophet (saws) or others at their graves. To ask them for any form of help is blatant shirk. Such is the misguidance spread by Sufis, who have gone astray.
  4. See al-Ayat al-Bayyinat of al-Alusi, p.37, Published by al-Maktabah al-Islamee [1982]
  5. In Islam, it is encouraged to invoke blessings upon the Prophet (saws) and this commonly follows the mention of his name in one form or another.
  6. Into which the bodies of the slain Quraysh had been thrown earlier.
  7. That is, that the believers would have victory over their enemy, the Quraysh. See al-Qurtubi's tafseer, al-Jami'u li Ahkam al-Qur'an, vol.7, p.370 regarding the information about Surah al-Anfal, 8:7-10.
  8. This is a reference to the Quraysh's supplication asking their Lord to bring a painful punishment upon them if what Muhammad (saws) was preaching was the truth. See Surah al-Anfal, 8:32.
  9. A famouse tabi'ee and a narrator of this hadith
  10. The slain Quraysh who bodies were in the abandoned well.
  11. The same well mentioned earlier into which the bodies of the slain Quraysh were thrown.
  12. Most likely after the Prophet's death.
  13. The beloved wife of the Prophet.
  14. See al-Alusi's Ruh al-Ma'ani, vol.6 p.455
  15. This is confirmed by many of the dependable commentators and jurists. For example, see al-ayat al-Bayyinat, pp.29, 56 and 59.
  16. See al-Ayat al-Bayyinat, pp.30-31
  17. His friends and others who attended his burial.
  18. There names are Munkar and Nakeer, and their fearful appearance has been described earlier in this treatise. <{My note: There is some disagreement amongst scholars some who say that the angels may not really be called Munkar and Nakeer for the words Munkar and Nakeer mean bad things in the Arabic language, whilst the angels are all pure.**>
  19. See al-Ayat al-bayyinat, pp.38 and 56.
Source: http://islamworld.net/docs/deadnohear.html

Cheeko

Good very good

Did you investigate. Are there any exceptions according to the Ayat

Nor are alike those that are living and those that are dead. Allah can make any that He wills to hear; but thou canst not make those to hear who are (buried) in graves [35:22]

In the footnote [of the above posted article] the point number 2 is taken from Tafseer Qurtubi. This is told by the author of the article himself at the end of the article. This is called selectivity as he just copied what suits him but he didnt tell us what Imam Qurtubi tells below

Imam Qurtubi (rah): Its related from Abu Sadiq (ra) that Imam Ali (ra) said: "Three days after burying the Prophet (Peace Be Upon Him) arab did came and did throw himself on the grave of the Prophet (Peace Be Upon Him), took the earth and throw it on his head. He said: "Ya Rasulallah! (Peace Be Upon Him) You did speak and we did hear, you learned from Allah and we did learn from you. Between those things which Allah did send you, is following: (4:64) I am the one, which is a sinner and now I did came to you, so that you may ask for me." After that a call from the grave did came: "Theres no doubt, you are forgiven!" [Tafsir al-Qurtubi, al-Jami li Ahkam al-Quran Volume 006, Page No. 439, Under the Verse, 4:64]

Tafsir Imam Qurtubi, al-Jami li Ahkam al-Quran

tafsir%20imam%20qurtubi%20al-jami%20li%20ahkam%20al-quran.jpg

[FONT=verdana,geneva]Translation Page : Volume 006, Page No. 439[/FONT]
imam%20qurtubi%20rah%20on%20tawassul.jpg

Then the author of the article very cleverly selects what suits him from Tafsir Ruh al Mani which he told in his footnote number 14 but misses what he doesnt want to tell. See below

Imam Ghazzali (rah) said and this is not a hadith: Whenever anyone is in some difficulty then he should ask the people of tombs for help, who are of (sacred) souls but have passed away (i.e. transferred into another dimension). There is no doubt in it that any person visiting (their tombs) gets spiritual help plus benefit from them and many times when their Waseela is presented in the court of Allah, the difficulties are removed [Tafsir Ruh ul Ma’ani, Volume 30, Page No. 24]

[FONT=verdana,geneva]Imam al-Sayyid Mahmud Alusi, Tafsir Ruh al-Ma`ani[/FONT]
imam%20al-sayyid%20mahmud%20alusi%20tafsir%20ruh%20al-maani%20publish%20dar%20al%20ihya%20al-turath%20al-arabi%20beirut%20lebanon.jpg

[FONT=verdana,geneva]Volume 30, Page No. 24[/FONT]
imam%20ghazzali.jpg

Coming back to the footnote number 2 the author selected something from Tafsir Tabari but he missed to tell us some thing else written by Imam Tabari in his tafsir for building tombs. Again a strange selectivity.

"Let us surely build a place of worship over them." (18:21)

Imam Ibn Jarir (Rahimuhullah) writes in his Tafsir at Tabri:

فقال الـمشركون: نبنـي علـيهم بنـياناً، فإنهم أبناء آبـائنا، ونعبد الله فـيها، وقال الـمسلـمون: بل نـحن أحقّ بهم، هم منا، نبنـي علـيهم مسجداً نصلـي فـيه، ونعبد الله فـيه

[FONT=verdana,geneva]Translation:The Mushrikeen said: We will build a building over it and worship Allah in it but the Muslims said: We have more right over them and we will surely “BUILD A MOSQUE” so that we can pray there and worship Allah. [Tafsir at-Tabri (15/149)[/FONT]

[FONT=verdana,geneva]So now come to the footnotes 4 &16 & 19 which indicates the references the author has taken from a book called al-Ayat al-bayyinat which actually is written by al-Alusi who was born about 200 years ago [He is a different person from Sayyid Mahmud Al-Alusi so dont mix them up]. So common sense tells us that after 1200 years of the advent of Islam one man came and wrote some thing which was diferent to the beliefs of all the previous Muslims. Do I have to follow or listen to this mans personal views. A big no from me.[/FONT]

Pakistani1947

Did you investigate. Are there any exceptions according to the Ayat.

Sufis often quote following Hadeeth to justify their believe that their Peer is listening to them in the grave:

Abu Talhah reported: "On the day of the Battle of Badr, Allah's Prophet (saws) ordered that the bodies of twenty-four leaders of the Quraysh be thrown into one of the foul, abandoned wells of Badr. On the third day after the battle the Prophet called for his mount and saddled it. Then he set out, so his companions followed him. They said amongst themselves, "He must be going to something important." When the Prophet (saws) arrived at the well[6], he stood at its edge and began addressing those therein by calling upon them by their names, "O so and so, son of so and so; and you, so and so, son of so and so! Would it not have been easier to have obeyed Allah and His Messenger? We have found that which our Lord promised us to be true[7]. Did you find what your Lord promosed you to be true?[8] Thereupon 'Umar said, "O Messenger of Allah, what are you saying to these bodies without souls?! Do they hear? For Allah, the Majestic and Mighty, says, "Verily, you cannot make the dead hear."[Surah an-Naml 27:80] The Prophet (saws) answered, "By Him in whose hand lies the soul of Muhammad, you did not hear better than them and what i just said." Qatadah[9] added: "Allah brought them back[10] to life (momentarily) in order to make them hear as a means of scorn and belittlement and [so that they would feel] regret and remorse." [Authentically related by al-Bukhari and Muslim]

Quraan nullify this believe (Peer is listening to them in the grave) as follows:

وَمَا يَسْتَوِي الْأَحْيَاءُ وَلَا الْأَمْوَاتُ ۚ إِنَّ اللَّهَ يُسْمِعُ مَن يَشَاءُ ۖ وَمَا أَنتَ بِمُسْمِعٍ مَّن فِي الْقُبُورِ
Yusuf Ali 22: Nor are alike those that are living and those that are dead. Allah can make any that He wills to hear; but thou canst not make those to hear who are (buried) in graves.
اور زندے اور مردے برابر نہیں ہیں بے شک الله سناتا ہے جسے چاہے اور آپ انہیں سنانے والے نہیں جو قبروں میں ہی

Quraan has axed the the wrong believe by saying: "but thou canst not make those to hear who are (buried) in graves" (آپ انہیں سنانے والے نہیں جو قبروں میں ہی).

This miraculous circumstance in which the corpses of the slain Quraysh were made to hear the Prophet's address to them is a special case - an exception to the general rule that the dead do not hear.[14] By a miracle, Allah, the Almighty, made them hear the scolding from the Prophet (saws) - only for the moment he spoke to them!

Cheeko

Sufis often quote following Hadeeth to justify their believe that their Peer is listening to them in the grave:

]

You are suffering from Sufi phobia dear. We r debating about what Ibn Taymiyyah wrote in his books. In your copy paste article the first footnote points to people other than Sufis and instead says about Ibn Qayyim who was a student of Ibn Taymiyyah.

Ibn Taymiyyah: "The proof of dead awareness comes from two Sahih Books of Bukhari and Muslim in which Rasool Allah (صلى الله عليه وسلم) said that when people have buried a dead person and leave for home, the dead can hear the thumps of sandaled feet of those who leave." [Majmuaat-al-Fatawa by Ibne Taymiyyah, Volume 24: Page No. 362]

[FONT=verdana,geneva]Ibn Taymiyah: 'A group of people heard the answer of their salaam. And, in the days of Harrah, Sa'id ibn al- Musayyib heard the voice of our Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) saying the adhan, from the grave. And there are more events like these and they are all true. [Ibn Taymiyya, Iqtidah Siratul-Mustakeem, Page No. 373] [/FONT]

Cheeko

] By a miracle, Allah, the Almighty, made them hear the scolding from the Prophet (saws) - only for the moment he spoke to them!
[/LEFT]
[/RIGHT]

How do you know that it was just a one time miracle. Can you support it from Quran and Sunnah.

Nor are alike those that are living and those that are dead. Allah can make any that He wills to hear; but thou canst not make those to hear who are (buried) in graves [35:22]

Pakistani1947

You are suffering from Sufi phobia dear. We r debating about what Ibn Taymiyyah wrote in his books. In your copy paste article the first footnote points to people other than Sufis and instead says about Ibn Qayyim who was a student of Ibn Taymiyyah.
Ibn Taymiyyah: "The proof of dead awareness comes from two Sahih Books of Bukhari and Muslim in which Rasool Allah (صلى الله عليه وسلم) said that when people have buried a dead person and leave for home, the dead can hear the thumps of sandaled feet of those who leave." [Majmuaat-al-Fatawa by Ibne Taymiyyah, Volume 24: Page No. 362]
[FONT=verdana,geneva]Ibn Taymiyah: 'A group of people heard the answer of their salaam. And, in the days of Harrah, Sa'id ibn al- Musayyib heard the voice of our Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) saying the adhan, from the grave. And there are more events like these and they are all true. [Ibn Taymiyya, Iqtidah Siratul-Mustakeem, Page No. 373] [/FONT]

The basic rule of Shriat is follow Quraan and Hadeeth.

[Surah an-Naml 27:80]
إِنَّكَ لَا تُسْمِعُ الْمَوْتَىٰ وَلَا تُسْمِعُ الصُّمَّ الدُّعَاءَ إِذَا وَلَّوْا مُدْبِرِينَ
Yusuf Ali 80: Truly thou canst not cause the dead to listen, nor canst thou cause the deaf to hear the call, (especially) when they turn back in retreat.
البتہ تو مردوں کو نہیں سنا سکتا اور نہ بہروں کو اپنی پکارسنا سکتا ہے جب وہ پیٹھ پھیر کر لوٹیں

اور زندے اور مردے برابر نہیں ہیں بے شک الله سناتا ہے جسے چاہے اور آپ انہیں سنانے والے نہیں جو قبروں میں ہیں

The verses in the Qur'aan mean that the dead can't hear us literally, and that they are the rule and the other incidents are the exception.

Ibn taymiyyah believed that the
dead can hear us but it does'nt prove you can do tawassul with the dead (sorry to the bida lovers). If you follow that opinion (ibn taymiyyah etc) then maximum you can conclude that dead can hear you. In order to be allowed to ask any Prophet or Saint to make du'aa for us after his death, we need proof that indicates Prophet Muhammad pbuh told us to do that, or indicates that the Sahabah did it etc etc. The fact that the dead hear us is not sufficient as a proof for this type of tawassul.

Veila Mast

@ Mr. Pakistan:

Sir, please guide us about people who are killed in way of Allah, I mean Shaheed whether they are alive or not.

If they are alive then definately they can hear us as you and I can hear.

If they are dead then according to your claim they can't hear.

Secondly, translation that you quoted is dubious as Allah doesn't say YOU CAN'T LISTEN but ALLAH says YOU CAN'T "CAUSE" them to listen.

I hope you understand the difference.

So if someone believes DEAD can't listen personally but Allah can CAUSE them to listen to us would be appropriate or not.

Bohat Shukariya.

You could not make listening even the alive ones, if they r deaf. like Abujahal.

and deafness is of various types.

Could a rock or big stone crack and water comes out because of Alla's fear ?

Could a big rock falls down by itself because of Alla's fear?

It all depends upon the link with Allah Tala and his selected and beloved person pbuh ,

Cheeko

@ Mr. Pakistan:

Secondly, translation that you quoted is dubious as Allah doesn't say YOU CAN'T LISTEN but ALLAH says YOU CAN'T "CAUSE" them to listen.

I hope you understand the difference.

So if someone believes DEAD can't listen personally but Allah can CAUSE them to listen to us would be appropriate or not.

Bohat Shukariya.

Well he knows what Allah means according to him. It wont be known as his own tafsir you see because he is the authority around. I am laughing at him because he is also not allowing Allah to let any one hear Nauzobillah. He says just once could some dead hear in his grave. Then its finish khalli walli khallas. Anta mukh maafi. Yalla Yalla anta majnun.

Veila Mast

Well he knows what Allah means according to him. It wont be known as his own tafsir you see because he is the boss around. I am laughing at him because he is also not allowing Allah to let any one hear. He says just once . Finish khalli walli khallas. Anta mukh maafi. Yalla Yalla anta majnun.

Cheeko Sir, one request.

Please ask these guys if they believe Rasool Allah pbuh is Afzal ul Ambiya or not?

Afzal in every thing or in a few things!

Hayat e Rasool pbuh is also Afzal than rest of Ambiya or not?

I reckon they have misjudged Raool Allah pbuh as they are trying to compare Him pbuh with Mirza Ghulam, they can't make differece that Mirza was not appointed by Allah so he himself needs help but Rasool Allah pbuh is not only appointed by Allah but also He pbuh is Habib Allah.

Do they understand what HABIB means?

Ask them if they know Satan also calls himslf AZA ZEEL which means Abdullah in Arabic!

Do they know ISRAEL is actually LAQAB of Hazrat Yaqoob Alaih Salam that also means Abdullah in Arabic!

If believing in Allah only can make you Muslim then you have to include AZA ZEEL and JEWS as well because Jews have named their country where Allah Kay Banday live!

How about Suadi Arabia, Arabian Peninsula where SAUDS live!

They can criticise Sofiya only and blame them to deviate you from right path but they can't see what Saudis have done.

They have changed the name to family monarchy.

They can blame Sofiya for Biddah but they are fine what Saudis did by helping British to abandon Khilafah.

What they do is not Biddah but what Sofia do is Biddah!

Saudis are constructing 4 new cities from scratch and look at thier names:

King Abdullah Economic City

Prince Abdul Aziz bin Mousaed City

Jazan Econimic City

Knowledge Economic City

They love them so much they have even forgotten Sahaba Karam Rizwan ullah Tala Ajmaeen.

"Knowledge Economic City" is only 5 Km away from Madina Al Munawara.

You can EXPECT facilities there, you can EXPECT what kind of EDUCATION SYSTEM will be there.

These guys can blame SUFIYA only and are happy what Saudis are doing in that blessed part of world.

Some times I think John Perkin was right to call Dubai as Las Vegas in Land of Mullah but now I am concerned if we are going to have another Las Vegas!!!!

But we are HAPPY to criticise SUFIYA to keep people busy!

Isn't Sir?

behzadji

Hamaray Marnay walay na sirf zinda rehtay hain bulke hamari mantay bhee hain. ho sakta hai pakistani 1947 ke murday na suntay hon iss liyay ke wo maanta hi nahi.

Cheeko

Dead and hearing ?..... are you insane ?

We r debating about this Ayat. If and whom Allah wills.

Cheeko

Albani says that Prophets r alive in their graves

Naseer uddin Al-Albani

[FONT=verdana,geneva]Silsilat al-ahadith al-sahihah, Publish: al-Marif lin-Nashr Riyadh/Saudia[/FONT]
al-albani%20in%20silsilat%20al-ahadith%20al-sahihah%20publish%20al-marif%20lin-nashr%20riyadh%20saudia.jpg

[FONT=verdana,geneva]Volume 02, Page No. 187, Hadith Number 621[/FONT]
albani.jpg

Cheeko

Allah puts forth a Parable a man belonging to many partners at variance with each other, and a man belonging entirely to one master: are those two equal in comparison? Praise be to Allah. but most of them have no knowledge. [az-Zumar 39:29]

Truly thou wilt die (one day), and truly they (too) will die (one day). [az-Zumar 39:30]

As mentioned in (Verse number 29) the condition of two persons to be different, similarly the death of Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) is not same like other deaths. There is great difference between the conditions and the levels of both. This example was given because of this reason that equality to the respect of Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) (Shan-e-Nabuwah) should be condemned completely.

[FONT=verdana,geneva]It is said that Ahlus-Sunnah wa al-Jama’ah actually believes that the Prophet Muhammad (صلى الله عليه وسلم) did not die!! What a gross accusation!! The true belief of the Ahlus-Sunnah wa al-Jama’ah is that the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم), did indeed "TASTE" death, but then he is made alive in his grave. (Note: All the proofs misused by certain people do prove that prophets including Huzoor (صلى الله عليه وسلم) had tasted death. We do believe in all those verses and Ahadith, so there is no two opinions about that point but the point to be discussed here is not the occurrence of death but the true concept of the death of a Prophet) It is in the grave that the Prophet Muhammad (صلى الله عليه وسلم) is presented with our deeds, and makes supplication on behalf of the Ummah. There are also instances where the Prophet (صلى الله عليه وسلم) will appear in our dreams and comfort us with good news and glad tidings. [/FONT]

And say not of those who are slain (martyred) in the way of Allah, “they are dead”, nay, they are living, though you perceive it not” [Surah al-Baqarah, 154]

Of course, it goes without saying that the position of the Prophets (عليه السلام) is above and beyond the status of those who are martyred in Allah's way. This proves that he (صلى الله عليه وسلم) is alive too.

Cheeko

Anas b. malik reported

Allah's Messenger (صلى الله عليه وسلم) as saying: I came. And in the narration transmitted on the authority of Haddib (the words are): I happened to pass by Moses (عليه السلام) on the occasion of the Night journey near the red mound (and found him) saying his prayer in his Grave. [Sahih Muslim]

babadeena

Gengis Khan came to Baghdad and he destroyed it to its ruins. The remaining part
was filled by Bush Senior and Bush Junior plus Tony Blair & Company. The pure soil
is the resting place of so many personalities. A blessed land. Did they hear anything?
Only insane can think that "Dead listen", At the Day of Judgement, when
Allah will ask Rasools what answer was given to you by mankind, they will
say we have no knowledge, Only You know. So If they keep on listening
then the scene should have been different.

Status
Not open for further replies.